We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison D'ete Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bailly France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A pleasant place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We had the address from friends, who have been to the hotel already 3 times...so we had to go to!
We were picked up at the airport, 1 h drive ( it will be faster next time, as a new highway is going to be opened in march) and the welcome was perfect. The rooms are nice, you can have a little kitchenette, or not, the restaurant is excellent, you have always a little plus, which makes the difference, and you are in a quiet place,excellent to take break. To circulate trough the island, we took the bus, very good connections, you need time,but it is fun.
The employees are very helpful, efficient,so you really should make a try....

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice 10 rooms, no notice just the sea...what else do you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOROTHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    38
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
59
243
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Münster
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Well,if you like holidays with many people arround you, you may better choose one "all inclusive "
big hotel,but if you wish to scape to a peacefull paradise (all the area is also very quite) i can really recomend this tastefull small hotel.I spent three days there and even if that was two years ago,i have a wonderfull memory of "Maison d´Ete",great people,very good food,fantastic ambiente.If once i should go to Mauritius again for sure i will return to this special place.

Room Tip: If you have questions or wishes just send an e-mail to the hotel,i am sure they will do their best t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We had this place recommended by friends and had already booked it based on the reviews on here. They are absolutely true, I find it difficult to find a single fault with this place.

We spent a relaxing trip here for 1 week initially and came back for the final week of the holiday, delighted that they had space.

The pools are marvellous and never crowded as the sets of villas each have pools. The rooms are really well designed, with comfortable bedroom / sitting room / kitchenette areas and a separate dressing room / bathroom. They are small yet feel perfectly spacious for 2 people and manage to create distinct zones for living. Each villa also has excellent secluded and private outdoor patio space where one can dine or just relax. It is particularly nice to sit there on an evening with a drink from the well stocked bar.

One of the lovely things about this place is that you can, if you like be self sufficient. As this was a 3 week holiday, eating out every night would have been tiresome but the kitchenettes were sufficiently well appointed to allow preparation of lunches / simple dinners. The only downside is that there is no close place to buy food. There is a brilliant local market in Flacq and a modern supermarket next to it however (short bus ride from outside Maison d'Ete).

The beach is not a strong point at Maison d'Ete, it is more a wild windy unspoilt beach than a manicured white sand one, but one could still easily lay a towel and relax. The snorkelling immediately outside the hotel is excellent though as there is a small living reef.

Whilst the East coast is quiet and less developed, it is still easy to get around Mauritius either by rental car, taxi or the totally brilliant public bus service (changing in Flacq to go anywhere).

Maison d'Eté also has good facilities to entertain. Well stocked library, Free wifi and computers, mountain bikes, kayaks and snorkelling equipment. All included in the price too…

The onsite restaurant is so good it is a destination restaurant for Mauritians and other tourists staying elsewhere. There is a wide range of international food, usually a recipe for disaster but it is all brilliantly executed from the pizzas to the fine fish dishes. The waiting staff are incredibly polite and well trained and learned your habits and preferences quickly.

Whilst we stayed for the 2nd week a new owner, a Parisian lady took over and I met her and had a chat to her, she was very charming and interested to hear our experiences. I told her to change nothing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtmf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

From the moment we arrived we knew this place was special an just what we wanted.

Personally I can't imagine anything worse than a huge resort style hotel filled with tourists and families and kids clubs: Maison D'ete is a ten room boutique heaven right on the beach.

Food was fabulous, staff were lovely and made such an effort - sandwiches in our room when we arrived late at night...

I don't often visit places more than once but I cannot wait to get back there!

Room Tip: they are all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
243 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

A little unassuming on driving past but do stop here if you are looking for a lunch in the area, being a hotel/bed & breakfast it doesn't look like a place that does lunch for non-residents. This was the third time my wife and I have been for lunch and it really is very good. Dining is alfresco under a thatched canopy with views of the pool and sea beyond. Service is leisurely which can sometimes be a euphemism for being slow but this is Mauritius where time is meant to be enjoyed. My wife had the sliced chicken with salad and I had noodles with stir fried beef and vegetables - very tasty. For dessert I chose the flambeed bananas in rum with vanilla ice cream and my wife had the chocolate fondant with moscavado ice cream - a good choice! With drinks and tax the bill came to a not unreasonable 1,725 rupees. If you have the time to spare the location and quality of the food makes this a good stopping off place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tricky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Graube
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have not actually stayed here but living in Mauritius, we often visit the east coast and discovered this little gem of a restaurant which while not advertised as such is open to the public for lunches. I will get the bad bit out of the way first - don't bother with the pizzas. OK, that said, the welcome, service and setting are all exceptional for such a small hotel - in most countries it would be classed as a guest house with extras due to its size. The view from the outdoor covered dining area have really good view of the sea which at this point has the reef very close so the waves can be quite dramatic at times. Freshly caught and lightly grilled Dorade is excellent and good value for the island. In fact for a 'hotel' the food prices to the public are very much below the average for tourists. The wine prices however are closer to the norm here which is expensive by most standards. Beef and chicken dishes are also good and different to a lot of the standard 'Mauritian Style' restaurant dishes.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites in the annex - quieter and away from the main pool/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrandGraubeWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

When my husband and I arrived, we were very sick with food poisoning from the night before in Cape Town. We were weak, dehydrated, but somehow managed to make the flight. We hoped that the arrangements to greet us had not been forgotten, but after a very difficult week in Cape Town -- with awful service--we were not expecting much.

From the beginning, La Maison D'ete exceeded all expectations. They were there to greet us, and the taxi driver was excellent. When we arrived--though late--we were greeted by kind and extremely competent staff, who whisked away our luggage before we could even think about it. I mentioned we were still quite ill, and asked if it was possible for us to get some white rice and water -- our first attempt at food in over 24-hours. They happily arranged for it to be delivered to our room -- and we sat and ate our few bites, and felt hopeful that we could recover.

The next day was spent convalescing. The setting is gorgeous -- the room perfect. The bed was strewn with beautiful flowers when we arrived -- reminding us of our honeymoon in Moorea 10 years prior. Our bed faced the ocean, and each room is arranged such that you have a full private view. We rested on the small beach in front...on the covered large seats by the beach, the smaller ones on the beach, the pool, and on our room's patio. We can tell you all were comfortable with spectacular views!

It was funny in that the staff seemed to monitor our recovery somewhat, in that they looked a bit concern when we didn't eat much at first, and then a bit happier as more and more of our food disappeared! Their kindness was wonderful, making us feel like we were staying at someone's home. The breakfast was great, with Patrick and the others remembering our preferences. When we awoke too early for full breakfast one morning before diving, (not being aware it didn't start for another 30-minutes), Patrick was still happy to bring me a cappuccino. So as not to impose, I did not ask for more -- and in fact, told him not to worry at all. Nonetheless, he brought out fruit salad, a crepe, and bread for me and my husband -- telling us that no one should spend a day diving without sufficient breakfast! The next morning was also to be an early departure for a day of sailing. The staff-- aware of this--brought a basket to our room with bread, yogurt, fruit and coffee for the next morning. Much appreciated!

The dinners were also excellent -- both in regards to the conversation with the staff -- who were always friendly and interesting to talk to -- but also in regards to the quality of the international cuisine. I must say the local recipes were my favorite, but all were good.

The owners were fabulous hosts, taking the time to help us make sense of maps and giving us the best route to go. The suggestions were on-target to what we were looking for, and all arrangements were made seamlessly. We also enjoyed getting massages from the onsite spa.

Part of the fun of La Maison D'ete is that they are fully outfitted for enjoying the water right there. There is snorkeling gear with good snorkeling on-site (better to the left side, as you face the ocean), and kayaks. They also have bicycles, as well.

If you are looking for night clubs, loud drinking parties, and tons of tourist shops, this is not the place for you. But if you want a slice of paradise, which makes you feel that you are a welcome guest to their home, then there is nothing better. If I return to Mauritius (long way from Vancouver, but you never know....(!), then I would certainly come back to La Maison D'ete.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 -- right at the end. Fully unobstructed view of the ocean, with minimal foot tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
2.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,244 reviews
37.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,565 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,546 reviews
6.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Poste Lafayette Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison D'ete Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison D'ete Hotel

Property: La Maison D'ete Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison D'ete Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet address along the wild coast, North-East of Mauritius, is a well kept secret only spread by word-of mouth among insiders.1 unspoilt beach, 14 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 1 restaurant, 1 lounge bar, 1 little spa...In praise of simplicity, is not true luxury ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison D'ete Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison D'Ete Hotel Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing