We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!!”
Review of Maltahoehe Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maltahohe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maltahoehe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Maltahohe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We drove through Maltahohe on our way to our next destination and stopped over at the Hotel for a lunchtime meal. We got the feeling that the owners / managers did us a HUGE favour to serve us. The lady was very abrupt and unfriendly and made us feel extremely unwelcome. If it was not that we were very hungry we would have walked out but we endured the bad service and unfriendliness. Hospitality??? Nothing whatsoever, the food was not at all up to the standards we had experienced at other establishments, slop at it's best. Should we ever pass through Maltahohe again, we will be sure to have eaten en-route

Room Tip: Did not see the rooms but judging on the "hospitality" or the lack thereof I would definit...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Contessafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Maltahoehe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

had a trip around the south of Namibia and this was the worst stop.the owners are extremely rude. luckily we just stopped for something to drink and had a look around the beer garden. don't waste your time , there are amazing lodges in the region.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelakambri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Smoker´s bar where you can frankly speak to the owners and learn about every day´s life in Namibia. A very nice bar with lot´s of stickers and jokes on the walls, most left there by tourists. A really traditional bar. Not fancy but true.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

historic establishment, pleasant host, excellent service, tranquil space, culinary delight, southern haven, best bar, just what you need after or during a hectic cross country trip, great interior decor and interesting spirits and beer collection dating back forty years. Its is your true home away from home. Kudos to the host and hostess. Keep it up!

Room Tip: All rooms are situated to promote tranquility.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaumpho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Bearing in mind this is the only hotel within 120kms of civilisation. I had the misfortune of being recomended it. I requested single accomodation, NOT BACKPACKERS?. I am 6'3", and was given a bed the size I had not slept in since I was placed in a cot. The bathroom was tired and discustingly dirty.
Namibia is experiencing extreme cold weather at this time, and as such the accomodation had absolutely NO form of heating whatsoever, had only very flimsy bedding quilt, and a cigarette burnt blanket which was found in a cupboard. Froze overnight, little sleep.
On arrival at 4pm I was asked to shower early as the hotel had no geyser just solar water heating, priceless, at 4pm the water was lute warm, and by 5pm it was stone cold.
The bar was invaded at aprox 6pm by a seven person Belguim film and camera crew, who without permission of anyone present started to film all and sundry. bright lights and shouting..
I unfortunately ordered breakfast for 7am. Was woken at 5.30am by the film crew loading and reving engines due to the bitter cold weather.
Tried to obtain my ordered breakfast at 7am main hotel locked. Tried to pay my bill but after 15 minutes of continual knocking decided to leave and get warm. The night bell for residence was smashed.
The ONLY reason I have had to unfortunately pay the bill for this DUMP is due to the room being booked by a Namibian friend, I would have loved the proprieter to have sued me.
I have now rearanged my many Namibian trips and my touring quests to miss this establishment completely.

Room Tip: LOOK at the room BEFORE you agree to stay should you have too. Make sure you have the room checked f...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ukhaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Circumstances dictated that we spend the night in Maltahohe. In Maltahohe itself the choice of accommodation is the hotel or the hotel. It is obvious that Maltahohe and the hotel have seen better days. So much to our delight our stay was very pleasant. The proprietor and his wife were welcoming and helpful. The old bar is full of atmosphere and the beer was ice cold and delicious.
The rooms are spotless and everything worked.
The menu for dinner is limited, but the food was excellent. I had one of the biggest Wiener Schnitzel ever.
Breakfast is included in the price and entailed every thing from cereal, fruit, yoghurt to eggs and bacon.
Should our travels bring us back into the region we will stay in the Maltahohe Hotel by choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adelheid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chili1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maltahohe
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
0.0 mi away
Duwisib Guestfarm
Duwisib Guestfarm
#1 of 4 in Maltahohe
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#13 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Etosha Village
Etosha Village
#4 of 36 in Etosha National Park
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Maltahohe Hotel
#5 of 9 in Maltahohe
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
C'est Si Bon Hotel
C'est Si Bon Hotel
#3 of 12 in Otjiwarongo
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltahoehe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltahoehe Hotel

Address: Main Street, Maltahohe, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Maltahohe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Maltahohe
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Maltahoehe Hotel Namibia/Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing