We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hammerstein Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
HUDUP Guesthouse(Maltahohe)
Booking.com
View Deal
Maltahohe Hotel(Maltahohe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Namseb Lodge(Maltahohe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
We-Kebi Safari Lodge(NamibRand Nature Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
9
26
32
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
26
32
15
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had 2 nights at Hammerstein Lodge and found it to be clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and assisted us with our requirements promptly.
The grounds were pleasant to walk in and we did a walk toward the small mountain to stretch our legs The visit to the cat enclosure was extremely informative and rather exiting as we were in the enormous enclosures with these beautiful creatures.
Daisy the Springbok roamed freely and loved a pat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne004500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

For us, this was a great camptype accomodation. We did enjoy the buffet and dining
area immensely and found that having space inside with TV and heaters were very welcoming.
The rooms were very spacious and clean.....so very happy to give the thumbs up for
a good value stopover.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australiangroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

The Good:
The buffet was fantastic for R 145.00/pp and the kitchen staff (Namibian) were friendly and very service oriented.
The swimming pool is very pleasant with the duck and pet-springbok permanent fixtures.

The Bad:
Front of house staff reminded me of "teenagers", unwilling to help, and lazing around the bar and communal guest lounge. The "management" were also glued to there bar-stools smoking and drinking beer...

Probably the worst part was the fact that they have no air-con in the rooms (Remember: this is the NAMIB DESERT) There aren't even ceiling fans...

We stayed 2 nights.... hours "rested" = 0

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at Hammerstein in room 38 as part of an overland tour. The room was very basic however the bathroom was a decent size with solar hot water. The showers were hot throughout the day. There were some broken tiles on the floor which we had to avoid stepping on.

There was no fridge or kettle in the room but free tea/coffee is provided in reception. Laundry costs around N140. The main drawing card of the lodge is the big cat tour. I really enjoyed seeing the leopard, caracal and cheetahs. The tour costs around N60.

Hammerstein is ok for overland trips but I wouldnt stay here longer than two days.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_v_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

the rooms were very basic and very US motel 6 style (the type you'd end up in driving on a long road trip but probably would pay only US$40-50 a night. this place has tamed cheetahs and caracals so getting to see and pet the cats is the main attraction. there's also a young friendly resident springbok and a duck that hang out with you in the pleasantly shaded garden and small swimming pool. dinner and breakfast were decent so if you want to see cheetahs close up and don't mind the fact that they are no longer "wild", this is the place to come to for one night

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews