We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hammerstein Lodge "Look there's a Leopard"”
Review of Hammerstein Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maltahohe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hammerstein Lodge
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I just loved this place. It is family run and the girl who took us on a tour of the facilities was really bright and friendly. She had been living around these animal all her life. The lounge room and bar were also great, tea, coffee and cake available 24x7. Even the young nephews of the owner were about doing chores and answering questions about what it's like to be them living in such a great place. We loved this place and these people. You will to if you are ever lucky enough to visit this place.

Room Tip: All rooms were similar but well appointed and again 5 Star showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian7992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

It was clear this is a hunting lodge. Dead animals everywhere and a number of people on their way to go shoot animals. The whole ambiance was a bit offputting for me. Reminded me of a "men's only" hunting club. Staff weren't that helpful and my room was dirty (I think they forgot to clean it when the last guest left) Food was good though. Liked Daisy the Springbok.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank Where_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had 2 nights at Hammerstein Lodge and found it to be clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and assisted us with our requirements promptly.
The grounds were pleasant to walk in and we did a walk toward the small mountain to stretch our legs The visit to the cat enclosure was extremely informative and rather exiting as we were in the enormous enclosures with these beautiful creatures.
Daisy the Springbok roamed freely and loved a pat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne004500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

For us, this was a great camptype accomodation. We did enjoy the buffet and dining
area immensely and found that having space inside with TV and heaters were very welcoming.
The rooms were very spacious and clean.....so very happy to give the thumbs up for
a good value stopover.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australiangroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

The Good:
The buffet was fantastic for R 145.00/pp and the kitchen staff (Namibian) were friendly and very service oriented.
The swimming pool is very pleasant with the duck and pet-springbok permanent fixtures.

The Bad:
Front of house staff reminded me of "teenagers", unwilling to help, and lazing around the bar and communal guest lounge. The "management" were also glued to there bar-stools smoking and drinking beer...

Probably the worst part was the fact that they have no air-con in the rooms (Remember: this is the NAMIB DESERT) There aren't even ceiling fans...

We stayed 2 nights.... hours "rested" = 0

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at Hammerstein in room 38 as part of an overland tour. The room was very basic however the bathroom was a decent size with solar hot water. The showers were hot throughout the day. There were some broken tiles on the floor which we had to avoid stepping on.

There was no fridge or kettle in the room but free tea/coffee is provided in reception. Laundry costs around N140. The main drawing card of the lodge is the big cat tour. I really enjoyed seeing the leopard, caracal and cheetahs. The tour costs around N60.

Hammerstein is ok for overland trips but I wouldnt stay here longer than two days.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_v_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

the rooms were very basic and very US motel 6 style (the type you'd end up in driving on a long road trip but probably would pay only US$40-50 a night. this place has tamed cheetahs and caracals so getting to see and pet the cats is the main attraction. there's also a young friendly resident springbok and a duck that hang out with you in the pleasantly shaded garden and small swimming pool. dinner and breakfast were decent so if you want to see cheetahs close up and don't mind the fact that they are no longer "wild", this is the place to come to for one night

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maltahohe
0 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
112 reviews
50.2 mi away
No photo provided
Maltahohe Hotel
#5 of 9 in Maltahohe
15 reviews
0 mi away
Namseb Lodge
Namseb Lodge
#4 of 9 in Maltahohe
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 mi away
Greenfire Desert Lodge
Greenfire Desert Lodge
#2 of 9 in Maltahohe
58 reviews
34.7 mi away
Duwisib Guestfarm
Duwisib Guestfarm
#1 of 5 in Maltahohe
64 reviews
0 mi away
Betta Campsite & Chalets
Betta Campsite & Chalets
#3 of 9 in Maltahohe
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammerstein Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammerstein Lodge

Address: PO Box 250 | Maltahöhe, 65 km from Sossusvlei, Maltahohe, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Maltahohe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Maltahohe
Price Range: £59 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Hammerstein Lodge And Camp Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Hammerstein Lodge Namibia/Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing