We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“motel quality rooms”
Review of Hammerstein Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maltahohe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hammerstein Lodge
Reviewed 8 January 2010

the rooms were very basic and very US motel 6 style (the type you'd end up in driving on a long road trip but probably would pay only US$40-50 a night. this place has tamed cheetahs and caracals so getting to see and pet the cats is the main attraction. there's also a young friendly resident springbok and a duck that hang out with you in the pleasantly shaded garden and small swimming pool. dinner and breakfast were decent so if you want to see cheetahs close up and don't mind the fact that they are no longer "wild", this is the place to come to for one night

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

Hammerstein is a mixed bag. As mentionned, this is a simple lodge with a lot less flair as others on my trip to Namibia. It seems to have evolved without a master plan. My room was on the second floor of a central building. It had everything one would expect, everything was clean and almost everything worked (the light in the bathroom didn't), but just wasn't in the same leage as the other rooms I had. The food was ok, the dining room and lobby were well decorated, the entertainment provided by the staff after dinner was a nice touch, the captive animals are an added bonus for several visitors, but some of the staff seemed to simply go through the motions, showing less enthousiasm than at other places.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Hammerstein was the most simple of the lodges I stayed at during my tour of Southern Namibia. Room was clean but cold (this was Namibian winter in August), with no decorations or local touches.

Buffet dinner was okay, typical what you get in the ordinary lodges.

The lodge has cats (cheetah, leopard and caracal) in large fenced areas where you can join a guided walk (extra cost).

This is the choice if you wish to stay in an inexpensive place, see cats and have a reasonable distance to Sossuvlei to arrive there after sunrise.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed at Hammerstein in January as part of a comprehensive tour of Namibia. It was not up to the 3/4 * standard of the other lodges we stayed at and seemed grubby and rather 'down at heel'. Our main gripe with it was that the captive leopard, cheetahs and caracals seemed to be there as a lure to get guests in. Most of us who travel thro Africa are there to apreciate the wild beauty of the large cats in their natural habitat, and not to stroke captive cheetahs or walk into the pens of caracals who have been trapped by local farmers.
If you are into tacky tourist then this is the place for you.
We don't have a problem by the way with centres who have large cats for research and breeding purposes.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisonwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed there for 2 nights. Hannah & Matthew are very nice. We get very close to the animals like their caracals and the Leopard. We saw a lot of animals at the game-drive. Some Caracals, you can play with and get them onto your arms. We had an large "braai" at the evening and good relaxing with an cold beer. The rooms were large and clean. The shower was clean too. No A/C, but we was there at the end of the Dry-Season. We didn´t had trouble with the temperature. The personal was nice and helpful. Wonderful surrounding there and the day after it was easy to get to Sesriem. If we get back to namibia some time, we will stay there anymore.

  • Stayed: September 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank I_like_big_Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We stayed at the Hammerstein Lodge for 2 nights in October 2007. The Accommodation was simple but clean and spacey. We had a room with a fantastic view of the surrounding area.

The food was OK, although I am not a vegetarian, I do usually enjoy the vegetarian options; unfortunately this lodge did not provide any main dishes without meat. They did have a nice salad bar though.

The after dinner entertainment was the same both nights which involved the staff singing a few local songs and the Namibian National Anthem.

On the first night, which was our first night in Namibia, we left our small bag of valuables under the dinner table and went to bed! Fortunately the lodge staff kept everything safe behind reception for us to collect the next morning. Such honesty should be applauded.

The lodge has some large cats in very spacious fenced areas, which you can pay a small amount to enter with one of the staff. The cats you will be able to see up close are: 2 Cheetahs in one pen (male and female around 3-5 years old), 3 Cheetahs in another pen (2 cubs around 15 months and 1 cub around 2 years), 1 Leopard (Lisa, around 5 years old) and finally 3 Caracals (male and female and their kitten/cub). A small group of us were escorted into the Cheetah & Caracal pens, where we viewed the cats from a respectable distance. We viewed the Leopard from outside the pen, as Leopards can be unpredictable around people they do not know. The best experience was saved until last, when we went into the Cheetah cub’s pen. They all immediately came up to us and starting licking our legs and arms! They like to lick the salt from our skin. We were able to touch the Cheetahs and take our own photos; this experience will stay with us forever!

The lodge also has a Zebra called Hans; we were warned that he likes to bite. I spent around ten minutes talking to him (in my best horse whispering style) before I attempted to touch him and he allowed me to fuss him just like you would a horse!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, even though the lodge was located a little far (around an hour’s drive) from the dunes of Sossusvlei.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

simple room, clean, everything works, no a/c, no fan, no heating - in namibian winter in august we had 10 degrees celsius in room in the morning !
young gepard roaming the lodge area, you can play with him, his parents nearby , kept in an area surrounded by a fence, walking tour into that area with guide, get very close to gepards, and then there is hans, a zebra, that attracts the attention of the guest - beware he bites

5  Thank fluglehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maltahohe
56.6 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
110 reviews
167.5 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#12 of 17 in Windhoek
273 reviews
322.7 mi away
Damara Mopane Lodge
Damara Mopane Lodge
#1 of 5 in Khorixas
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
329.9 mi away
Etotongwe Lodge
Etotongwe Lodge
#1 of 3 in Outjo
162 reviews
368.3 mi away
Toshari Lodge
Toshari Lodge
#15 of 37 in Etosha National Park
249 reviews
0 mi away
Namseb Lodge
Namseb Lodge
#4 of 9 in Maltahohe
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammerstein Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammerstein Lodge

Address: PO Box 250 | Maltahöhe, 65 km from Sossusvlei, Maltahohe, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Maltahohe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Maltahohe
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Hammerstein Lodge And Camp Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Hammerstein Lodge Namibia/Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing