We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation”
Review of Hammerstein Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maltahohe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hammerstein Lodge
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed at Hammerstein in room 38 as part of an overland tour. The room was very basic however the bathroom was a decent size with solar hot water. The showers were hot throughout the day. There were some broken tiles on the floor which we had to avoid stepping on.

There was no fridge or kettle in the room but free tea/coffee is provided in reception. Laundry costs around N140. The main drawing card of the lodge is the big cat tour. I really enjoyed seeing the leopard, caracal and cheetahs. The tour costs around N60.

Hammerstein is ok for overland trips but I wouldnt stay here longer than two days.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_v_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
29
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
387 reviews
378 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

the rooms were very basic and very US motel 6 style (the type you'd end up in driving on a long road trip but probably would pay only US$40-50 a night. this place has tamed cheetahs and caracals so getting to see and pet the cats is the main attraction. there's also a young friendly resident springbok and a duck that hang out with you in the pleasantly shaded garden and small swimming pool. dinner and breakfast were decent so if you want to see cheetahs close up and don't mind the fact that they are no longer "wild", this is the place to come to for one night

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Hammerstein is a mixed bag. As mentionned, this is a simple lodge with a lot less flair as others on my trip to Namibia. It seems to have evolved without a master plan. My room was on the second floor of a central building. It had everything one would expect, everything was clean and almost everything worked (the light in the bathroom didn't), but just wasn't in the same leage as the other rooms I had. The food was ok, the dining room and lobby were well decorated, the entertainment provided by the staff after dinner was a nice touch, the captive animals are an added bonus for several visitors, but some of the staff seemed to simply go through the motions, showing less enthousiasm than at other places.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Hammerstein was the most simple of the lodges I stayed at during my tour of Southern Namibia. Room was clean but cold (this was Namibian winter in August), with no decorations or local touches.

Buffet dinner was okay, typical what you get in the ordinary lodges.

The lodge has cats (cheetah, leopard and caracal) in large fenced areas where you can join a guided walk (extra cost).

This is the choice if you wish to stay in an inexpensive place, see cats and have a reasonable distance to Sossuvlei to arrive there after sunrise.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed at Hammerstein in January as part of a comprehensive tour of Namibia. It was not up to the 3/4 * standard of the other lodges we stayed at and seemed grubby and rather 'down at heel'. Our main gripe with it was that the captive leopard, cheetahs and caracals seemed to be there as a lure to get guests in. Most of us who travel thro Africa are there to apreciate the wild beauty of the large cats in their natural habitat, and not to stroke captive cheetahs or walk into the pens of caracals who have been trapped by local farmers.
If you are into tacky tourist then this is the place for you.
We don't have a problem by the way with centres who have large cats for research and breeding purposes.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisonwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maltahohe hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed there for 2 nights. Hannah & Matthew are very nice. We get very close to the animals like their caracals and the Leopard. We saw a lot of animals at the game-drive. Some Caracals, you can play with and get them onto your arms. We had an large "braai" at the evening and good relaxing with an cold beer. The rooms were large and clean. The shower was clean too. No A/C, but we was there at the end of the Dry-Season. We didn´t had trouble with the temperature. The personal was nice and helpful. Wonderful surrounding there and the day after it was easy to get to Sesriem. If we get back to namibia some time, we will stay there anymore.

  • Liked — Everything. The room, the meal, the persons, the animals, the cold beer...
  • Disliked — The politics in the wolrd...
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank I_like_big_Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We stayed at the Hammerstein Lodge for 2 nights in October 2007. The Accommodation was simple but clean and spacey. We had a room with a fantastic view of the surrounding area.

The food was OK, although I am not a vegetarian, I do usually enjoy the vegetarian options; unfortunately this lodge did not provide any main dishes without meat. They did have a nice salad bar though.

The after dinner entertainment was the same both nights which involved the staff singing a few local songs and the Namibian National Anthem.

On the first night, which was our first night in Namibia, we left our small bag of valuables under the dinner table and went to bed! Fortunately the lodge staff kept everything safe behind reception for us to collect the next morning. Such honesty should be applauded.

The lodge has some large cats in very spacious fenced areas, which you can pay a small amount to enter with one of the staff. The cats you will be able to see up close are: 2 Cheetahs in one pen (male and female around 3-5 years old), 3 Cheetahs in another pen (2 cubs around 15 months and 1 cub around 2 years), 1 Leopard (Lisa, around 5 years old) and finally 3 Caracals (male and female and their kitten/cub). A small group of us were escorted into the Cheetah & Caracal pens, where we viewed the cats from a respectable distance. We viewed the Leopard from outside the pen, as Leopards can be unpredictable around people they do not know. The best experience was saved until last, when we went into the Cheetah cub’s pen. They all immediately came up to us and starting licking our legs and arms! They like to lick the salt from our skin. We were able to touch the Cheetahs and take our own photos; this experience will stay with us forever!

The lodge also has a Zebra called Hans; we were warned that he likes to bite. I spent around ten minutes talking to him (in my best horse whispering style) before I attempted to touch him and he allowed me to fuss him just like you would a horse!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, even though the lodge was located a little far (around an hour’s drive) from the dunes of Sossusvlei.

  • Liked — Getting close to Big Cats
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maltahohe
0.0 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
#1 of 8 in Mariental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Capricorn Rest Camp
Capricorn Rest Camp
#12 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damara Mopane Lodge
Damara Mopane Lodge
#1 of 5 in Khorixas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammerstein Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammerstein Lodge

Property: Hammerstein Lodge
Address: PO Box 250 | Maltahöhe, 65 km from Sossusvlei, Maltahohe, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Maltahohe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Maltahohe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Hammerstein Lodge And Camp Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Hammerstein Lodge Namibia/Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing