We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Town lodge”
Review of iGowati Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Khorixas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
iGowati Lodge
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Pleasant enough but the bathroom was dark and the door to it doubled as a door to the wardrobe which was a bit weird.

The staff were very friendly and the food was very acceptable.

Convenient location and although on a busy road and opposite a fuel station it was reasonably quiet.

Perfect for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for iGowati Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed in a selfcatering unit at iGowati for 3 nights. The unit was spacious and everything we needed was there. We used the braai every evening, so didn't have dinner at the restaurant. There were a lot of groups at iGowati and some local boys were singing for them every night. It was nice to sit at the bar after our braai. The location is perfect to visit Twyfelfontein etc. It will take 1 day to do the round of Twyfelfontein, Burn Mountain, Organ Pipes and Petrified Forest. The other day we enjoyed relaxing at the pool and bought some food for the rest of our trip, their is a supermarket across the street, not very big, but you can get the most important things. Staff at iGowati was always friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had booked a family room but when we arrive at the lodge the room was not ready so they put us in 2 rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was ok. What bothered us the most is the noise coming from outside the lodge. We stayed the on a Sunday, and the music and noise went on till about 2am when I finally fell asleep. Dramaland is a must see and despite the noise we will stay here again.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Abri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It wasn't my first time staying at iGowathi, but things are not like it was before. The rooms are still the same, spacious and clean. The food quality went down. We didn't enjoyed the dinners. Breakfast was OK, but dinner was very poor. It was the worst food experience of our trip in Namibia. The dessert (dumplings) from the previous evening was recycled in the Kudu stew from the second evening...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

The bungalows are attractive, gardens are nice, pleasant, efficient staff, secure parking, good place to refuel and restock.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gypsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Unlike most lodges in Namibia, Igowati is located in the town of Khorixas. The lodge can be used as a base for tours to e.g. Twyfelfontein, Petrified forest, Organ Pipes and Klipvinger.

The rooms are quite ordinary lodge rooms, comparabable to many in Namibia. Clean rooms. Tee and coffee maker privided.

Bathroom okay, nothing luxurios.

Dinner is a buffet, also comparable to other ordinary lodges in Namibia, not better nor worse. The cook gave a little presentation on the food before the buffet was opened.

One thing we didn't like, the stray dogs of the town barked until early hours and when they stopped, the roosters started. So we didn't get very much sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Buma42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khorixas
14.5 mi away
Damara Mopane Lodge
Damara Mopane Lodge
#1 of 5 in Khorixas
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 38 in Swakopmund
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bitterwasser Lodge
Bitterwasser Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hoachanas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iGowati Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iGowati Lodge

Address: Justus Garoeb Avenue, Khorixas, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Kunene Region > Khorixas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Khorixas
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — iGowati Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing