We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hohenstein Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Usakos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hohenstein Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Usakos
Certificate of Excellence
Stäfa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly and good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Unfortunately there aren't many attractions around this place. However, we stayed there on our way up to Etosha.
The staff was very friendly, funny and helpful. The rooms were clean, everything was working and also dinner and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    33
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Hohenstein purely as an overnight stop to break up a long drive between Northern Damaraland and Sossusvlei, but were really surprised by the place. The rooms are huge with enormous bathrooms - ours had a great view of the Erongo Mountains - and a lovely terrace where we watched an approaching thunderstorm over the mountains with a nice cold beer.

The main lodge is pleasant with some lovely gardens and marked walks through the surrounding countryside. The food was pretty good and the wine selection excellent.

The main reason for this review is the absolutely excellent service we received - absolutely the best we've had in Namibia, and mostly the service we've had is great.

Wish we'd had two nights here to make much more of the area.

Room Tip: Room 12 is the furthest from the main lodge and has an excellent view over towards the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the lodge, 2 would have done. The pros: Stunning location, nice sun rises and sun sets, nice walk on the premises but hardly any animals to see. The cons: This is the least looked after lodge we stayed at in Namibia and for the price the lodge doesn't provide the standard to be expected. It all seems to come down to a desinterested manager who we hardly saw during our stay. The staff is lovely but would need some more guidance. The dinner was good as well. E.g.: Used glasses aren't cleared from the tables which means you have a drink before going on the sunset drive and when you come back the glasses etc are still sitting where you left them. On arrival we had to clear many dead animals out of the mosquito net ourselves. Our room wasn't made on the second day and when I asked the manager late in the afternoon, if someone could please collect our rubbish, he just said, ok, do you want your room to be made now? Well, for that price I would have thought you don't need to ask for your room to be cleaned... The breakfast buffet offers a nice variety of food but in the sugar jars aunts have their breakfast. Yes, this is Africa, so why not just go for sugar sachets as do all the other lodges? When we asked if there was a map or a little description of the walks on the premises, the manager just told us that the walks are marked and we can't get lost. No word about the old trees that can be found along the walk or the nice views from the rocks you can climb. Regarding the room: no fridge, no water boiler to brew a tea during the day - by the way: this was the first accomodation not providing tea and coffee throughout the day. Even the much less expensive guest farms have tea/coffee stations. But what annoyed us most: on the second evening we wanted to find out how far it is to the Spitzkoppe or what else could be done in the area, we were told by the staff, that the manager had felt tired and had already gone home?! It was 8 o'clock in the evening. The staff apologised that they didn't have any info because they hadn't been to the nearby attractions and couldn't tell. To sum it up: desinterested management, lovely staff. We wouldn't come back as the lodge is too expensive for what it offers. It's a shame as the location is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay_Z_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

This lodge has a stunning location. we had a fascinating early morning drive guided by the manager who was very knowledgable about the flora and fauna.The guided walk into the mountain to see the miners at work was very enjoyable.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
We would happily recommend and revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mille-isles, qc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

This was our absolute favourite place to stay during our six week long sojourn in Namibia. The setting is out of this world, the staff wonderful, the food exquisite and the manager could not have been more accommodating. We were originally booked for 2 nights and decided we just had to stay another one! There is so much to do around the area - hiking trails, game drives, mountains to climb, Spitzkoppe to explore - we could have spent a whole week there. The view of the mountains is incredible and it was wonderful to spend relaxing time on our private patio just drinking in the views. As birders, the special birding trail, bird hide and the pond at the restaurant just added to our delight.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a fantastic view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank athelas59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

The Manager and the whole Staff has made the stay unforgetable. Settled near some "mountains" you can visit small minors at work, very impressive. The Lodge has everything you need to relax for some days ... and enjoy good food. We had a great time ... thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camenzinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This was a very expensive place and the website didnt let us know that the generator is turned off nightly at 9 pm. This means no lights to go to the bathroom and no fan! Since this is in the wilderness i sure wasnt going to leave a window or door open because of local wildlife - so this means very hot at night. The rooms were very clean and the dining area and rooms have a fantastic view of the eronog mountain. This place would be extremely nice if they would provide power all night or at least nightlights and some means of cooling the room down prior to shutting the generator off. This was the most expensive place i stayed at and the generator trick was an unpleasant surprise.

Room Tip: bring a flashlight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usakos
21.0 mi away
Spitzkoppe Mountain Tented Camp
0.0 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#7 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
#6 of 33 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstein Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstein Lodge

Property: Hohenstein Lodge
Address: | P.O. Box 72, Usakos, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Usakos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Usakos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstein Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hohenstein Lodge Namibia/Usakos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing