We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Victoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel(Hastings)
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$252
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claverton Country House Hotel(Battle)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Battle)
US$98
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
235
350
189
99
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
350
189
99
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontpiano barrevolving doorvictorian hotelbuffet breakfastst leonardsbit datedroom was largenight porterlovely hotelpublic areaslounge areastayed one nightfamily roomdouble bedhead waiter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a wonderfull hotel this Hotel is almost 200 years old what a lovely place to stay if you want a boring Hotel lacking atmosphere dont come here.I have read negative reports and could not believe it i thought i was staying at a different Hotel.
Parking brilliant lots of it all of the streets around the hotel have free parking.
Staff Brilliant friendly and very helpfull
Room spot on large suite with desk and chair seperate lounge chairs very comfortable bed ony critism the tele was small and as the room was large it was a stuggle to watch from a distance.
Food great no faults with it prices are reasonable
Bar reasonable for a Hotel residents can drink later than 11pm as the night porter will open up the bar.
WIFI easy to log on fast and free throughout the Hotel
If this Hotel was in Brighton instead of Hastings you would expect to pay three times as much for your room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed one night in this friendly clean and spacious hotel. The room had a seaview
And the room was immaculate with comfy bedding and every comfort. Wish I could have stayed
Much longer.:-)
The barman ,Lee on duty could not have done more to welcome us and our companions in the bar area. Told us the best places to visit etc. Very helpful.
The breakfast was a lovely fresh buffet that was constantly topped up. Even for late arrivers.
The staff very helpful and professional. I had a brilliant stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beahopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in room 204 and I would definitely recommend you also choose a sea view room. The room was huge and clean but needs a bit of tlc!! The bedroom area is massive so would benefit from a king or queen size bed and carpet has seen better days . Bathroom was down a few stairs and was big and also included a study area next to it. The hotel staircase is amazing. In it's heyday it would have been a very grand building. It still is but just a bit faded in certain areas. We ate one night in the restaurant overlooking the sea. Food was great but menu very limited with only four choices. The azure restaurant a few yards down from the hotel is a beautiful place to eat. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful and we had no parking problem. I would recommend this hotel and was slightly put off by some negative reviews but our room was fine. It looked like it had been refurbished recently.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view. Room 204 is big with amazing view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valirvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just retuned from our second stay at this once great hotel. Our first stay was great in all aspects but this time not so. The room 203 was not the best with patches in the carpet holes in the bathroom flooring windows that are painted shut a bed that was stuffed with the noisiest of potatoes and no biscuits on the tea tray. Breakfast was good as long as you timed it so that the eggs were freshly cooked so they were soft. Do not go for the evening meal, overrated and over priced. Parking is a joke. There are only six parking bays the rest is street parking, a bit of a problem when you are disabled. The first night parked on the street and was completely blocked in by a member of staff who could not be found so unable to get electric scooter from car or get car out. The following day given cones to reserve space. Went out for the day and on return cones had bean removed and staff cars in the parking bay so had to park streets away. The next day the parking bays were occupied with staff again and with people working in the hotel. So all I can say is if you are going to Hastings do not stop here as it is going from good to absolutely terrible.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've stayed here a few times & ever the latest visit ended with mixed feelings but overall it's very good value for the money. Pro's - plenty of free parking in the adjacent roads if you can't get right outside, pleasant staff & a good sized room. Con's - the slowest lift in the world, poor TV reception & a shower fitting that makes getting wet very difficult as it points towards the wall!

Overall though, I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews