We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, exceptional service”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I spent two fabulous nights at the Villa Sant Andrea. We had an amazing suite with a private balcony, which added to our experience. The food was fabulous - in the restaurant and in-room dining, with wonderful attention to detail and service. The staff at the hotel were amazing - nothing was too much trouble. We even had help with a emergency shopping trip and the recovery of our luggage (which Alitalia managed to lose for a day and a half - shocking, shocking service!). Despite our lack of luggage we thorougly enjoyed our stay and this is one hotel we would like to return to.

Room Tip: The suite with a private outdoor area is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    73
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
313
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

our experience was similar to recent reviews - we were not told at booking that rooms not ready until after 2 pm; we arrived at midday and told room would be ready'soon'.
We sat on terrace for an hour checking twice if room was ready yet;we eventually ordered coffee and after another went back to wait in reception;
we were disappointed with the room as 'garden view' was a terrace looking into a high wall.
we asked reception if we could change but the hotel was full but they offered to try to find another room if possible but we did not hear about this again.
We felt the room was small and cramped with very little wardrobe space - certainly not 5 star rating and not worth the cost.
After this rather disappointing start we enjoyed our stay;the hotel is in a beautiful position on private shingle beach which is well-staffed and kept very clean; the staff at the hotel were approachable and helpful;breakfasts were excellent including cooked breakfast to order.
We took advantage of the complimentary boat excursion around the bay and regularly used the free shuttle bus[which leaves every 30mins] upto sister hotel grand timeo- the views from here were a nice contrast to those at villa sant'andrea as there are fabulous views to Mt.Etna and the bay of naxos from the terrace -it is a great place to have a drink and enjoy the views but beware very pricey and we did not initally notice that 10% VAT was still to be added to the prices.
I would recommend staying her especially if you prefer sea bathing to sitting around a pool but prob need to ask for renovated sea view room to avoid being disappointed

Room Tip: request sea view and renovated - I think some rooms are still waiting to be up-dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minerva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here for four nights on the 1st leg of our honeymoon. We had superior sea view room (recommended) which gave us an amazing view from our balcony. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating and the room had a great feeling to it. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit and juices on offer. The beach, although pebbly had very clear water but be careful of jelly fish! They also provide a very useful shuttle service to Grand Hotel Timeo in Taormina town, which saved us a lot on taxis. Overall we had a great time and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanik86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed in June 2012 for 10 nights.

The Room
Booked a classic garden view room.
When we checked in at 2.30pm our room wasn’t ready so we went for a quick bite to eat at the beach bar. At 3.30pm we went to see our room, it was very small with no view at all, just a little outside table surrounded by concrete walls. We rang the concierge and explained our disappointment the hotel agreed to move us to a new room as soon as there was one free (in two days’ time). Our new room was in a separate building over the gym (which I believe may have been an upgrade) it was also very small but had a large outdoor balcony with partial sea view, it was not refurbished but it was a welcome change.

The Staff
The staff at the hotel are really great. The housekeeping staff are excellent and our room was always spotless. The team that run the beach area are very helpful and kind. The beach is always very clean and they even row out on a boat twice a day to check the water and remove any jellyfish.

The Food
The selection at breakfast was great, good choice of fresh fruit, Italian meats, yoghurts, cereal etc.
There is also an extensive hot menu to order from. The wait for breakfast can be quite long and I found it to be inconsistent. My French toast on day 2 was the best I have ever eaten, but when I ordered it anytime after that it was totally different and not very nice I’m sorry I didn’t take pictures.
Lunch at the beach club in the hotel was average, it costs about €60-€70 for two people. There is a nice buffet style lunch option. I ordered a club sandwich on my second last day which was really soggy, and I was disappointed.
We tried dinner at the hotel once, it was extremely expensive and very average. I wasn’t particularly hungry so I just had a main course with a green salad. My husband ordered a starter and a small main course and we had a glass of prosecco each. Our bill was €160.

The Beach
The beach is really clean, there are always beds available and the water is crystal clear.
The beach itself is made up of pebbles as opposed to sand, so watch your feet as they are tough to walk on. The staff hand out chilled fresh fruit and evian water sprays when it gets really hot.
It surprised me to find there was no complementary chilled water/ ice tea or sun cream at the beach. Drinks at the beach a diet coke is €7, a large water is €7, cocktails are €14 a further tax is also added.

The Extra’s
Upon arrival we were asked to choose the newspapers we wanted to read during our stay, we were told we could both choose one. You can imagine my surprise to see the cost of my newspaper added to my bill at the end of our stay, especially when the newspaper was delivered a day late each day and we were charged for two days that we didn’t receive it.
The selection of English channels on the TV is really limited so we decided to avail of the hotels selection of DVD’s , again we were charged for every DVD we rented.

In Summary
Overall this is a beautiful property in a lovely location. I had high expectations but unfortunately they were not met. It is always a gamble when you are allocated a room in an older property and it’s a gamble we lost. For the standard of hotel and cache of the Orient Express brand the hotel just didn’t deliver.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miami2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, General Manager at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank You so much for Your invaluable and detailed feedback about your recent stay at Villa Sant’Andrea.

We are delighted to learn that You enjoyed our staff, appreciated our housekeeping service, the selection at breakfast and our private beach .

We are sorry to learn that in some respects your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We can confirm You that normally our check-in time is at 2 pm, we apologize if in this particular day there were some delays. The large majority of the rooms in our hotel come with sea view. The only room category without sea view is the Classic Double: these rooms feature a windows or balcony overlooking our gardens or a small terrace in a courtyard.

Our restaurant is famous for it fresh seafood specialities and our regional dishes. Our Chef only use the freshest seasonal produce provided by the best local suppliers and Our prices are in line with the market, with the produce used and with the standard of service provided.

We offer to our guests a choice among two complimentary international newspapers, but we have a selection of other newspapers that are delivered to the rooms in the morning at a charge. There is an extra charge for some of our services, such as DVDs but we also provide many other complimentary services really appreciated by our guests like a shuttle bus connection to the centre of Taormina, a boat tour on a luxury powerboat, wifi connection.

Many thanks for Your precious comments, that will definitely help us in improving the quality of services provided to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming You back in our Villa and we remain at your full disposal for any additional assistance You may need.

Best Regards from Taormina

Giovanni Nastasi

General Manager
Hotel Villa Sant'Andrea, Taormina Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Don't get me wrong this was a nice hotel but having been to many 5 star hotels in Europe and North America this one is average in comparison. We didn't get off to a great start either as having arrived at the hotel just after midday we were told that our room would not be available until 2pm which was fine. We went to the beach bar to have lunch which was not great and then returned to reception to see if our room was ready. After to and froing to reception we were finally shown to what we were told was our room at nearly 4pm. We realised during a tour of the room that there were bags belonging to someone else in the room. We were asked to wait and when the receptionist returned she told us this was not our room after all and took us to another room 1/2 the size of the one that we were previously taken to. We realised later in the week that we had been charged for food items in our room that we had never touched. After discussion the charges were dropped. Maybe we were just unlucky!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank You so much for taking Your time to write us Your feedback.

We are sorry to learn You did not enjoy to the fullest your stay in our hotel.

We can confirm You that our check-in time is at 2 pm and our housekeeping staff does always his best to have the rooms ready even earlier whenever is possible. We are sorry that in this case You were not informed as soon as the room was ready and we are also sorry about the mistake of showing a different room than the one assigned to you. We confirm that in our hotel we have different room categories and a nice selection of Junior suites and suites, that are larger than double rooms.

In Our Snack Bar we propose a light lunch, with a choice of sandwiches, pizza, some main courses and a salad bar. Our guests looking for a wider choice can always have lunch in our à la carte restaurant Oliviero.

We would like to thank You once again for your invaluable feedback: our guests’ comments are important to keep on improving the level of service.

We look forward to welcoming You back in our Villa and we remain at your full disposal for any additional assistance You may need.

Best Regards from Taormina

Giovanni Nastasi

General Manager
Hotel Villa Sant'Andrea, Taormina Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We checked in to the Sant Andrea May 12 intending to check out on May 17. However, we really enjoyed ourselves and ended up extending our stay unil May 19. The setting was perfect and th scenes breathtaking. We tried many restaurants surrounding the area but found the formal dining room hard to beat for dinner. Breakfast was very good with extra charges for omlets etc. The snack bar was excellent choice for informal beach dining and the wait staff, Anneliese, Alfio and Salvo so very nice offering great service and care.
No doubt we will be returning one day for a rerun and we thank Mr. Giovanni Nastasi for being a gracious host. Also special thank you to the housekeeping staff who made our stay very comfortable.
Last we say Caio to our lovely friends in the front office who went out of their way to extend our stay and making us so very wwelcome- Vanessa, Daniela, Angela, Delia, Monica, Antonio, Silivia and Thomas.
Love from Cathie & George

Room Tip: Choose sea view Jr suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I haved stayed at this hotel few times in the past. I have witnessed the great change that new owner Orient Express brought to this property. This is now one of the best hotels in Italy!

My recent stay in Sant Andrea in May 2012 was somewhat unexpected, as I was supposed to stay at Hotel Metropole. You can read my Metropole story under a seperate review but what is important here is that I have arrived at Villa Sant Andrea with no reservation and in rather low mood.

What a good decision it was to head to Sant Andrea!

The hotel staff was very helpful in trying to accomodate our request for a room for a 6 day stay. The hotel was almost fully booked but they managed to find an excellent room for me and my girfriend. Once they have heard about my bad Metropole experience, the manager Ms. Giovanni Nastasi offered us a very attractive rate to at least partially compensate us for the money we have lost at Metropole! That is what I call a customer service! Thank you Mr. Nastasi and thank you Vanessa!
This is one of the best or perhaps the best hotel in Taormina. We have not stayed at the sister hotel Grand Hotel Timeo following the refurbishement so we can not comment on that property. Judging by the high quality of Villa Sant Andrea under Orient Express management I would assume Timeo must also be excellent. Over the past 10 years we did stay in all other Taormina 5 star hotels.
The rooms are newly refurbished, fresh, sunny and spacious. There is a private beach and swimming pool, which perhaps is not very big, but it is heated, which was appreciated in May!
The hotel staff is polite and attentive. Any requests are handled quickly and professionally. The restaurant is one of the best in Taormina. Try local fish baked in salt. It is fabulous! The restaurant has great selection of wines and excellent desserts. The breakfast was also very good! There is usually some live entertainment in the evening in hotel gardens. That was quite fun - thanks to Carmelo!
To sum it up: excellent hotel, great management and staff that cares!
We will be back there in August!
In June we are going for a short stay at Hotel Splendido in Portofino (also owned by Orient Express) - we hope the stay there will be as pleasant as at Villa Sant Andrea!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WojtekLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#34 of 87 in Taormina
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,809 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Property: Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exclusive location on the Bay of Mazzarò, considered one of the most beautiful in all of Italy, the elegant Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea nestles on its own private beach with new luxurious cabanas, facing the dazzling aquamarine sea. Built by an aristocratic family in 1830, surrounded by lush, subtropical gardens, the hotel retains all the charm of a private residence, enriched by paintings and antiques. The décor of the 64 rooms and suites reflects the nautical character and marine location of the hotel, with ample use of local stone and Sicilian materials and fabrics, creating a light, relaxed and serene atmosphere. The Oliviero Restaurant, on a panoramic terrace overlooking the gorgeous sea, is known for its fish and seafood specialties and traditional Mediterranean cuisine. The Bar, located on the outdoor terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a drink, a snack or a light lunch by the beach. A Beach Bar and a Pool Bar in the new pool area are also available for a refreshing drink after a swim. Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the centre of Taormina, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The wellness centre offers a range of exclusive treatments for the ultimate of relax, while the fitness centre is fully equipped with the latest technology. The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. Guests at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea can enjoy all the facilities of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, its sister property located in the centre of Taormina next to the Greek Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing