We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Hotel staff are very friendly but ineffective. Some of the rooms advertised as water views are water views if you go out on the balcony and turn your head right. Like being in a parking lot for some of the rooms. Dining room nice but given the prices they charge they should deliver a better product. No coordination between staff taking the order and staff delivering the order. If you want to filet your fish don't only tell the waiter but also tell the person showing you the food before they plate it. Manager in ept. Food quality good. Would not spend the money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank You so much for taking Your time to write us Your feedback.

We are sorry to learn You did not enjoy to the fullest your stay in our hotel.

The attitude and the standard of service provided by our staff are normally very much appreciated by most of our guests, we are sorry that during Your stay You didn’t have the same feeling. We apologize if during your experience in our restaurant there was some miscommunication between the Maitre d’ and the waiter.

More than 90 per cent of the rooms in our hotel have sea view; only a few rooms (double classic) have garden view and this is clearly stated in all our marketing and reservation channels.

Thanks again for your feedback: our guests’ comment are important to us and help to improve day by day the level of service delivered to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming You back in our Villa and we remain at your full disposal for any additional assistance You may need.

Best Regards from Taormina

Giovanni Nastasi

General Manager
Hotel Villa Sant'Andrea, Taormina Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    64
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
92
288
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I, with two friends, spent four nights at the hotel. We arrived fairly late in the evening to the best welcome we have ever experienced. The staff are so friendly, attentive, helpful and utterly delightful. This really made the holiday for us. The location is fantastic and we enjoyed some marvellous breakfasts and lunches (we tended to eat out in the evenings). This is an exceptional hotel with exceptional staff and we would love to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

What a great hotel and location! I couldn't initially decide between this and The Timeo but with a shuttle running between both, every 30 minutes, we had the best of both worlds. This is on the beach and as always with Orient Express Hotels, the service impeccable, the location perfect, attention to detail second to none and gardens and presentation perfect. Writing this review with a mind to being helpful, there are a lot of steps,and I mean a lot of steps, not ideal if you are elderly or with mobility problems. I was a bit disappointed at not having a room to change/shower in after check out at 1pm with our return flight at 9pm. We had to get ready in the beach toilets which wasn't ideal to say the least. Despite being the best beach toilets I have ever used, showers and lovely towels and toiletries they were still for general use and far from ideal. It did dampen the mood a bit at the end of what was a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank You so much for taking Your time to write us Your feedback. We are delighted that You enjoyed Your stay at Villa Sant’Andrea and I will share Your delightful comments with all our colleagues working in our hotel, whose goal is to make memorable every day of our guests.

Villa Sant’Andrea was built as a private mansion on the 18th century and it’s part of our national heritage: this adds a special charm to our Villa and that’s also the reason why there are some steps througout the property.

We look forward to welcoming You back soon in our Villa and in any other hotels, trains and cruises part of the Orient-Express collection.

Best Regards from Taormina

Giovanni Nastasi

General Manager
Hotel Villa Sant'Andrea, Taormina Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I spent two fabulous nights at the Villa Sant Andrea. We had an amazing suite with a private balcony, which added to our experience. The food was fabulous - in the restaurant and in-room dining, with wonderful attention to detail and service. The staff at the hotel were amazing - nothing was too much trouble. We even had help with a emergency shopping trip and the recovery of our luggage (which Alitalia managed to lose for a day and a half - shocking, shocking service!). Despite our lack of luggage we thorougly enjoyed our stay and this is one hotel we would like to return to.

Room Tip: The suite with a private outdoor area is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

our experience was similar to recent reviews - we were not told at booking that rooms not ready until after 2 pm; we arrived at midday and told room would be ready'soon'.
We sat on terrace for an hour checking twice if room was ready yet;we eventually ordered coffee and after another went back to wait in reception;
we were disappointed with the room as 'garden view' was a terrace looking into a high wall.
we asked reception if we could change but the hotel was full but they offered to try to find another room if possible but we did not hear about this again.
We felt the room was small and cramped with very little wardrobe space - certainly not 5 star rating and not worth the cost.
After this rather disappointing start we enjoyed our stay;the hotel is in a beautiful position on private shingle beach which is well-staffed and kept very clean; the staff at the hotel were approachable and helpful;breakfasts were excellent including cooked breakfast to order.
We took advantage of the complimentary boat excursion around the bay and regularly used the free shuttle bus[which leaves every 30mins] upto sister hotel grand timeo- the views from here were a nice contrast to those at villa sant'andrea as there are fabulous views to Mt.Etna and the bay of naxos from the terrace -it is a great place to have a drink and enjoy the views but beware very pricey and we did not initally notice that 10% VAT was still to be added to the prices.
I would recommend staying her especially if you prefer sea bathing to sitting around a pool but prob need to ask for renovated sea view room to avoid being disappointed

Room Tip: request sea view and renovated - I think some rooms are still waiting to be up-dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minerva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here for four nights on the 1st leg of our honeymoon. We had superior sea view room (recommended) which gave us an amazing view from our balcony. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating and the room had a great feeling to it. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit and juices on offer. The beach, although pebbly had very clear water but be careful of jelly fish! They also provide a very useful shuttle service to Grand Hotel Timeo in Taormina town, which saved us a lot on taxis. Overall we had a great time and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanik86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed in June 2012 for 10 nights.

The Room
Booked a classic garden view room.
When we checked in at 2.30pm our room wasn’t ready so we went for a quick bite to eat at the beach bar. At 3.30pm we went to see our room, it was very small with no view at all, just a little outside table surrounded by concrete walls. We rang the concierge and explained our disappointment the hotel agreed to move us to a new room as soon as there was one free (in two days’ time). Our new room was in a separate building over the gym (which I believe may have been an upgrade) it was also very small but had a large outdoor balcony with partial sea view, it was not refurbished but it was a welcome change.

The Staff
The staff at the hotel are really great. The housekeeping staff are excellent and our room was always spotless. The team that run the beach area are very helpful and kind. The beach is always very clean and they even row out on a boat twice a day to check the water and remove any jellyfish.

The Food
The selection at breakfast was great, good choice of fresh fruit, Italian meats, yoghurts, cereal etc.
There is also an extensive hot menu to order from. The wait for breakfast can be quite long and I found it to be inconsistent. My French toast on day 2 was the best I have ever eaten, but when I ordered it anytime after that it was totally different and not very nice I’m sorry I didn’t take pictures.
Lunch at the beach club in the hotel was average, it costs about €60-€70 for two people. There is a nice buffet style lunch option. I ordered a club sandwich on my second last day which was really soggy, and I was disappointed.
We tried dinner at the hotel once, it was extremely expensive and very average. I wasn’t particularly hungry so I just had a main course with a green salad. My husband ordered a starter and a small main course and we had a glass of prosecco each. Our bill was €160.

The Beach
The beach is really clean, there are always beds available and the water is crystal clear.
The beach itself is made up of pebbles as opposed to sand, so watch your feet as they are tough to walk on. The staff hand out chilled fresh fruit and evian water sprays when it gets really hot.
It surprised me to find there was no complementary chilled water/ ice tea or sun cream at the beach. Drinks at the beach a diet coke is €7, a large water is €7, cocktails are €14 a further tax is also added.

The Extra’s
Upon arrival we were asked to choose the newspapers we wanted to read during our stay, we were told we could both choose one. You can imagine my surprise to see the cost of my newspaper added to my bill at the end of our stay, especially when the newspaper was delivered a day late each day and we were charged for two days that we didn’t receive it.
The selection of English channels on the TV is really limited so we decided to avail of the hotels selection of DVD’s , again we were charged for every DVD we rented.

In Summary
Overall this is a beautiful property in a lovely location. I had high expectations but unfortunately they were not met. It is always a gamble when you are allocated a room in an older property and it’s a gamble we lost. For the standard of hotel and cache of the Orient Express brand the hotel just didn’t deliver.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miami2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, General Manager at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank You so much for Your invaluable and detailed feedback about your recent stay at Villa Sant’Andrea.

We are delighted to learn that You enjoyed our staff, appreciated our housekeeping service, the selection at breakfast and our private beach .

We are sorry to learn that in some respects your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We can confirm You that normally our check-in time is at 2 pm, we apologize if in this particular day there were some delays. The large majority of the rooms in our hotel come with sea view. The only room category without sea view is the Classic Double: these rooms feature a windows or balcony overlooking our gardens or a small terrace in a courtyard.

Our restaurant is famous for it fresh seafood specialities and our regional dishes. Our Chef only use the freshest seasonal produce provided by the best local suppliers and Our prices are in line with the market, with the produce used and with the standard of service provided.

We offer to our guests a choice among two complimentary international newspapers, but we have a selection of other newspapers that are delivered to the rooms in the morning at a charge. There is an extra charge for some of our services, such as DVDs but we also provide many other complimentary services really appreciated by our guests like a shuttle bus connection to the centre of Taormina, a boat tour on a luxury powerboat, wifi connection.

Many thanks for Your precious comments, that will definitely help us in improving the quality of services provided to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming You back in our Villa and we remain at your full disposal for any additional assistance You may need.

Best Regards from Taormina

Giovanni Nastasi

General Manager
Hotel Villa Sant'Andrea, Taormina Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#30 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Property: Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exclusive location on the Bay of Mazzarò, considered one of the most beautiful in all of Italy, the elegant Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea nestles on its own private beach with new luxurious cabanas, facing the dazzling aquamarine sea. Built by an aristocratic family in 1830, surrounded by lush, subtropical gardens, the hotel retains all the charm of a private residence, enriched by paintings and antiques. The décor of the 64 rooms and suites reflects the nautical character and marine location of the hotel, with ample use of local stone and Sicilian materials and fabrics, creating a light, relaxed and serene atmosphere. The Oliviero Restaurant, on a panoramic terrace overlooking the gorgeous sea, is known for its fish and seafood specialties and traditional Mediterranean cuisine. The Bar, located on the outdoor terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a drink, a snack or a light lunch by the beach. A Beach Bar and a Pool Bar in the new pool area are also available for a refreshing drink after a swim. Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the centre of Taormina, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The wellness centre offers a range of exclusive treatments for the ultimate of relax, while the fitness centre is fully equipped with the latest technology. The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. Guests at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea can enjoy all the facilities of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, its sister property located in the centre of Taormina next to the Greek Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Destinology, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing