We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible Service”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our stay at the villa was incredible. Despite stays at wonderful hotels over the years, this was the first to make us feel that we were guests at a villa. Despite being fully booked, the hotel never seemed crowded. Despite only staying 3 days, the staff made a point of learning our names and preferences. When we once missed the very convenient shuttle to the sister hotel in town because we were busy taking photos as we walked up the drive, they kindly called a car and had us up to Taormina in time for our dinner.

It is the perfect mix of stunning oceanfront time and access to Taormina. We were able to eat at the Grand Hotel in the evening which was beautiful.

Our rooms were just the right size with stunning views of the inlet. Our teenage kids loved exploring in the rock pools all day. Just when it seemed too hot lazing under the beach umbrellas, staff showed up with frozen grapes and chilled mini Evian mist bottles. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Anything with an unobstructed water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripAdvisor following your stay with us and I am delighted to hear that you could not have been more pleased with your stay.

I am truly glad you enjoyed the location, the room, and of course the staff who take great pride in the level of service they provide for our guests.

We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    71
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
105
301
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Last month we had the very good fortune to be staying at the Grand Hotel Timeo in Taormina, Sicily, Italy - a truly exceptional hotel. The Sant' Andrea is a so called 'sister' facility of the Grand and it too is owned and operated by Orient Express; and this is about where the comparisons between the two hotels start and end.
If one's looking for a truly enchanting beach-front hotel there are countless others across the planet that would rate higher on most any reasonable scale or basis of evaluation. This particular hotel is nestled into a cove at the base of the hillside upon which Toarmina sits; as such it is not exactly well positioned to catch the sun at its best at certain times of the day.
We dined one evening at the Sant'Andrea and much of what I recall was the over-powering and omnipresent stench of the citronella that couldn't be avoided out of doors. It being a lovely summer's evening, we dined on the terrace and what could and should have been a delightful evening was... overwhelmed with the stench of the citronella. Though the dinner presentation appeared rather lovely, I can't really comment on it - because my olfactory senses were rendered utterly useless by the stench of the citronella. Obviously, the hotel has... issues with annoying insects due to its location and, therefore, renders their out of doors facilities effectively unpleasant at dawn, dusk and well into the evening hours. If you're considering a stay at the Sant' Andrea, I'd suggest you look to do so out of season - when nature's ting creatures may lessen the over-reaction of the hotel with so much citronella as to effectively declare victory by the insects, the consequences of which render the facility's out of doors essentially unfit for humans. Seriously, it was THAT bad; I do not exaggerate.

Room Tip: Thankfully, we weren't spending the overnight there, or we would have to have tightly secured ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SavyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Villa Sant'Andrea.

Over the years, we have delighted guests with our combination of Orient-Express luxury and beachfront appeal. I cannot stress enough how many guests we welcome back each year who come to stay with us, returning for the secluded beach and our Sicilian charm.

As a precautionary action, we put measures in place to ward off mosquitoes in our restaurant area, and as I am sure our guests will appreciate due to our close proximity to the sea and to a unique sub-tropical garden and with it being high-summer there could be some mosquitoes around this area. This is why we have used citronella around the terrace areas of the hotel, past guests might not enjoy our fine cuisine and captivating view in the knowledge that a mosquito may be close by.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and if you had have made your thoughts clear to the maitre'd that night, we would have relocated your table immediately to limit your discomfort. As you will see from previous reviews, no other diners mention that citronella as it’s common in Italy in the summer months.

It disappoints me that you were not able to appreciate the true Villa Sant’Andrea experience. However, I am pleased you enjoyed your time at our sister property the Grand Hotel Timeo so much, and I hope you return to Taormina in the future so I can personally guarantee all your needs are met here in the Mazzarò Bay.

Yours sincerely,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Sadly...We didn't stay in this hotel but have used the bar (on more than 1 occasion) with lively & great entertainer piaonist and dine in their wonderful garden restaurant.
Food was delicious
Absolutely fantastic in every way, impeccable service,staff were friendly, knowledgable and very attentive!
Pay attention to even simple details
( provide table clips for lady handbags)
I wish we had stay there..will definitely return to stay for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CatherinePJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you also for your kind words about the service provided while enjoying some Sicilian evenings at our Oliviero restaurant and at our terrace bar.

We look forward to seeing you again whether you would like to stay with us or just to indulge in a quenching drink!

Warm regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our family is here now! What a fabulous hotel! The rooms are very large and decor nice but the views are outstanding. Being told to stay in Taormina and not on the coast, I was a bit hesitant. We are so glad we stayed on the water! I highly recommend it. The staff here is wonderful as well! Although quite pricey, it is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaFourgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found that the staff to be very attentive.

I do hope you will consider staying with us when you next visit Taormina and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Villa Sant'Andrea is truly a stunning property. Located right on the water, the view couldn't get any better. The hotels interior is mostly marble with lavish decorations and rich furniture. Our hotel room was small, but still very elegant. One of my favourite things was the selection of fruit we had in our room, and also around the hotel -- the fresh coconut was divine. There is a rocky/pebbly beach with very good service, with food, drinks (and even jellyfish stings!) My daughter was swimming out pretty far, only to be stung by a jellyfish; nevertheless the staff was very attentive to caring for her sting, putting on ointment and giving her an advil. The restaurants were both excellent, we enjoyed traditional Sicilian cuisine many times there. The breakfast buffet was amazing, they had a huge, fresh and delicious selection, but again the best part was the view! The service overall in the hotel was perfect; room service was fast, the staff was pleasant and welcoming and the juice in the lobby was appreciated. We also enjoyed many meals at the sister hotel, The Grand Hotel Timeo, located in the towns center. While it was also very lovely, we much better enjoyed being right on the water for swimming, (it was also more of a family hotel). There was also a pool at the Villa Sant'Andrea, but it was a bit tiny, (not that we cared, because we spent our time in the ocean). In conclusion we will definitely be back, for there was not a flaw in our perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write us your feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea and will share your delightful comments with all our colleagues, whose goal it is to make each day of our guests memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Taormina.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Perfect anniversary break. The staff could not have been more friendly & attentive (without appearing to try too hard as in the sister hotel in Taormina. We are so pleased we chose this hotel & not the other one). It was a delight to open the shutters of our spacious & comfortable room each morning to the most wonderful view across the bay. I've never known a week to go so fast!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guests,

I thank you for your words of praise regarding Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea.

We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and I am truly pleased to hear that you have loved to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We come from Canada and went on Holiday to Sicily a stunning place and stayed at the Hotel Villa S. Andrea in Taormina.We stayed for a week in this fantastic Hotel overlooking a magnificient bay where to describe it very beautiful would be a mere understatement.
The Hotel provided fresh breakfast every morning, the room was immaculately clean and staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Food was outstanding.
Every evening we were greatly entertained by the great entertainer CARMELLO, who played the piano outstandingly and being a very friendly and very professional pianist made everybody very comfortable by his fabulous entertaining . He had a fresh and colourful look every evening.
We are definitely planning to come back next year
Laurie

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190LAURI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Laurie,

I am really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea!

Carmelo and I were thrilled to read your feedback regarding the "fabulous entertaining" and we all look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
821 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#27 of 88 in Taormina
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Property: Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exclusive location on the Bay of Mazzarò, considered one of the most beautiful in all of Italy, the elegant Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea nestles on its own private beach with new luxurious cabanas, facing the dazzling aquamarine sea. Built by an aristocratic family in 1830, surrounded by lush, subtropical gardens, the hotel retains all the charm of a private residence, enriched by paintings and antiques. The décor of the 64 rooms and suites reflects the nautical character and marine location of the hotel, with ample use of local stone and Sicilian materials and fabrics, creating a light, relaxed and serene atmosphere. The Oliviero Restaurant, on a panoramic terrace overlooking the gorgeous sea, is known for its fish and seafood specialties and traditional Mediterranean cuisine. The Bar, located on the outdoor terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a drink, a snack or a light lunch by the beach. A Beach Bar and a Pool Bar in the new pool area are also available for a refreshing drink after a swim. Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the centre of Taormina, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The wellness centre offers a range of exclusive treatments for the ultimate of relax, while the fitness centre is fully equipped with the latest technology. The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. Guests at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea can enjoy all the facilities of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, its sister property located in the centre of Taormina next to the Greek Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Destinology, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing