We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destroy it and build the new building”
Review of Villa Esperia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Esperia
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Vilnius
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Destroy it and build the new building”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It is "tired" and old fashion hotel. Just a few rooms have a sea view and some - partial sea view. We had a superior double room with a view directly to another hotel wall and some ruins, accompanied by the terrible noise of the air condition system (for 160 Eur per night). Room are laconic decorated.
Avoid public bathrooms, especially in the pool area - it is dirty and awful.
What is amazing at this hotel, the staff. Helpful, well informed, smart...
Our advise to the owners: destroy existing hotel, build new one and employ the same staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JolantaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    90
    75
    76
    94
See reviews for
50
184
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel. On arrival, we were a little disappointed in the size of the room as it was smaller than the photos made it seem. Furthermore we had paid for a superior double room and we were quite surprised to find that we didn't have a sea view. Otherwise, we were very comfortable there. The service was very good. The staff were very kind and obliging. We only had bed and breakfast so we didn't dine in the hotel but the breakfast was excellent.
The pool was very clean and for the most part quiet. The one negative I should mention is the fact that the hotel is situated on a main road. It's not particularly noisy as the hotel is slightly set back. However when walking to the beach, there is no pavement so it's not ideal. Otherwise, the hotel is well-situated, 5 minutes from the beach and the cableway which leads to the old town. On the whole, this is a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJR792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Avoid this Hotel!
The service is terrible. Staff was not helpful in any way. We tried to change our room several times but were refused. Our room had mold in the ceiling and had very low standard (the room didn’t even a phone). 4 star hotel? No way!
We stayed for 7 nights but wanted to leave after the first. We would love to revisit Taormina but we would never stay at this hotel again. .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mazzaro hotels

Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Our room was located in the first floor. There were ants inside athe room. Only one electric point available (inside the bathroom)
The balcony was in fact just a large window opening to a view of dry plants and locked so we could not step outside
The air conditioning was very weak so the room was pretty worm all the time. The safe got stuck and the hotel staff had to break it.
Breakfast was served 07:30-09:30 but in fact if you got there on 09:15 most of the food was already gone...
It seems like our compliants did not bother anyone. We didn't get any compensation for the problems we've exprerianced
Bottom line - not worth the price

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimrod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Worst two nights we spent in Sicily. Travelled across the island and stayed in lots of agriturismo s and budget hotels but this place was the worst place I have ever stayed in. I'll list the points:

1. Ants in the room
2. Ants ate holes in wife's top
3. Complained and receptionist (who were best thing of hotel) changed our room which was good
4. Asked for refund on top so suggested to knock car parking off which is 20 Euros a night - oh yeah they don't tell you this when you book
5. Manager offered us a free meal instead but had already booked somewhere else so asked for car parking to be knocked off for damage to clothes
6. Checked out early to get flight and no decision from manager as to knocking 40 Euros off total so had to pay it
7. Emailed him when got home but had a rude poorly written email back saying the ants weren't their fault and we must have left the window open!

Manager was never there. Swimming pool is dirty, air conditioning doesn't work and just stay away from this place. Seems to me that they have good staff, good location but very poor management! Don't stay here - stay anywhere else would be my recommendation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chriscicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaesperia, Direttore generale at Villa Esperia, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for giving us the possibility to improve our services and reply properly.

We are very sorry for "ants problem", but as you wrote also, our hotel provided a new and good room.

About your request of car parking refund, we need to point out that this service did not cause you any problems (maybe you didn't note the supplements of hotel when booked, because on booking.com, which you used for the reservation, it is clearly written!), while you received a good and valued compensation for complained problem, but you refused it: complimentary dinner for 2 people! Then you refused also a refund of 1 night of car parking supplement!

We are awfully sorry but you had a problem and the hotel offered you a compensation for the mistake....guests have no a role to decide the kind of compensation. Sorry!

We are very sorry for not having been able to meet you because of your time on holiday is more important for us. The very moment you were available, the hotel staff, in particular our receptionists, spoke and explained to you our reasons, after they discussed with the manager. So it is as if you had met with the manager having received the same answers.

At last, we do apologize about your complaints of air conditioning or swimming pool, but we are being informed about them only now: in fact we changed the room as for "ants problem" as per your request and then your satisfaction was good, as written also in your review.

We hope to meet again as our guest, avoiding any problem during your stay, and most of all after your check-out, as in this case, where you were compelled to write mails specifying that you would have written a bad review.

p.s: my housekeeper manager has asked our "pest control company" to explain the problem you had with ants (the only real problem!) and we have received confirmation that the ants do not make holes in the clothes, normally in nature!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice and clean rooms, good location (near cable car station, beach, station for bus to Letojanni - lovely village). About 4 kilometers far from railway station.
Very good cuisine, friendly personal in the restaurant. Thank you, Tino, Luana, Alessandro, and others, whose names, unfortunately, I haven't asked about :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGaregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is average, lovely balcony and view, its clean and staff helpful. Breakfast is ok. You cannot park anywhere near the hotel, and have to pay 20e to park per day in the hotel car park which is v small and parking difficult.
Take a cable car (2 mins walk from the hotel) into Taormina town. Wow, wow and wow. Gorgeous town, loads of restaurants and breathtaking views. We totally fell in love with the place and just ambled around enjoying the scenery.
Hotel has a beach area also, but we stayed by the pool.
There's a mini market also nearby so you can buy water and other drinks/snacks. The restaurant in front of the hotel is good (there are 2 and we went to the one on the right with a garden area which was lovely and reasonably priced!) All in all would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollieSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.2 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#58 of 88 in Taormina
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ipanema Hotel
Ipanema Hotel
#56 of 88 in Taormina
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Palace Hotel
Bay Palace Hotel
#73 of 88 in Taormina
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Esperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esperia

Property: Villa Esperia
Address: Via Nazionale 244, 98030 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Esperia 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Esperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Esperia Hotel Mazzaro
Esperia Hotel Mazzarò
Villa Esperia Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing