We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in Sicily”
Review of Villa Esperia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Esperia
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I traveled with a group of 35 Americans to Southern Italy in search of our ancestors (and to visit a few sights). This hotel was our 4th one during the 2-week visit. The view from the hotel was spectacular! However, the bus had very little room in the adjacent street to let us off and deliver our luggage. We had to handle our luggage by ourselves. Also, had to go up many steps to the front lobby (although there was an elevator nearby if some of us needed it). The rooms were okay -- we didn't spend much time in them anyhow! The breakfasts were okay, but by this time in the trip they all seemed to offer the same food. The dinners were fine, but one night (I guess just to appease some in the group who complained of pasta every night), the hotel offered turkey --- well, it wasn't the Thanksgiving variety (not even Butterball). It tasted like canned turkey -- if there is such a thing! Not good. The wines, of course, were fine. Wifi available in the lobby only at a price! The outdoor pool was very nice and it was a welcomed gathering spot in the evening to revisit our days. In spite of some of the downsides, I'd still recommend this place because it was centrally located and offered a spectacular view of the Sea!

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the Sea!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldfinch2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

want to learn all future tourists who hide under the guise of a 4 star hotel in Sicily, Villa Esperia.
I paid vacation for 5 days in advance, a month before, and when I arrived at the hotel, we were informed that we can not be accommodated in the hotel the first night, because there were cameras! With the reservation made and paid one month before! I mention that I made the reservation GalaHotels! A couple that went with us, made reservation through Booking.com, not paid before had booked accommodation only, was staying in the hotel for them to find a room! ... GalaHotel I called to clarify the situation because they have guaranteed housing, and after talking with the reception, we were informed that we must go to another hotel for one night because there are rooms left! Amazing! We came to believe what they said! After we took the money sent us to another hotel (Bay Palas) which in any case can not be classified to 4 stars, much lower! I took pictures room there, but I'm sorry you can not see what fast for conditions were poor! ... After one day when I came back to accommodate us, we found that the services offered were far below what is presented on the site: breakfast is deplorable, no vegetables, no juice ... Paid internet service only, 4 euro for half an hour .... Façade of the hotel was fine, but had to back rooms which had a very ugly sight: garden unkempt, untidy walls ... I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Cioaca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It is "tired" and old fashion hotel. Just a few rooms have a sea view and some - partial sea view. We had a superior double room with a view directly to another hotel wall and some ruins, accompanied by the terrible noise of the air condition system (for 160 Eur per night). Room are laconic decorated.
Avoid public bathrooms, especially in the pool area - it is dirty and awful.
What is amazing at this hotel, the staff. Helpful, well informed, smart...
Our advise to the owners: destroy existing hotel, build new one and employ the same staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JolantaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel. On arrival, we were a little disappointed in the size of the room as it was smaller than the photos made it seem. Furthermore we had paid for a superior double room and we were quite surprised to find that we didn't have a sea view. Otherwise, we were very comfortable there. The service was very good. The staff were very kind and obliging. We only had bed and breakfast so we didn't dine in the hotel but the breakfast was excellent.
The pool was very clean and for the most part quiet. The one negative I should mention is the fact that the hotel is situated on a main road. It's not particularly noisy as the hotel is slightly set back. However when walking to the beach, there is no pavement so it's not ideal. Otherwise, the hotel is well-situated, 5 minutes from the beach and the cableway which leads to the old town. On the whole, this is a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJR792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Avoid this Hotel!
The service is terrible. Staff was not helpful in any way. We tried to change our room several times but were refused. Our room had mold in the ceiling and had very low standard (the room didn’t even a phone). 4 star hotel? No way!
We stayed for 7 nights but wanted to leave after the first. We would love to revisit Taormina but we would never stay at this hotel again. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our room was located in the first floor. There were ants inside athe room. Only one electric point available (inside the bathroom)
The balcony was in fact just a large window opening to a view of dry plants and locked so we could not step outside
The air conditioning was very weak so the room was pretty worm all the time. The safe got stuck and the hotel staff had to break it.
Breakfast was served 07:30-09:30 but in fact if you got there on 09:15 most of the food was already gone...
It seems like our compliants did not bother anyone. We didn't get any compensation for the problems we've exprerianced
Bottom line - not worth the price

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Nimrod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Worst two nights we spent in Sicily. Travelled across the island and stayed in lots of agriturismo s and budget hotels but this place was the worst place I have ever stayed in. I'll list the points:

1. Ants in the room
2. Ants ate holes in wife's top
3. Complained and receptionist (who were best thing of hotel) changed our room which was good
4. Asked for refund on top so suggested to knock car parking off which is 20 Euros a night - oh yeah they don't tell you this when you book
5. Manager offered us a free meal instead but had already booked somewhere else so asked for car parking to be knocked off for damage to clothes
6. Checked out early to get flight and no decision from manager as to knocking 40 Euros off total so had to pay it
7. Emailed him when got home but had a rude poorly written email back saying the ants weren't their fault and we must have left the window open!

Manager was never there. Swimming pool is dirty, air conditioning doesn't work and just stay away from this place. Seems to me that they have good staff, good location but very poor management! Don't stay here - stay anywhere else would be my recommendation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chriscicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaesperia, Direttore generale at Villa Esperia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for giving us the possibility to improve our services and reply properly.

We are very sorry for "ants problem", but as you wrote also, our hotel provided a new and good room.

About your request of car parking refund, we need to point out that this service did not cause you any problems (maybe you didn't note the supplements of hotel when booked, because on booking.com, which you used for the reservation, it is clearly written!), while you received a good and valued compensation for complained problem, but you refused it: complimentary dinner for 2 people! Then you refused also a refund of 1 night of car parking supplement!

We are awfully sorry but you had a problem and the hotel offered you a compensation for the mistake....guests have no a role to decide the kind of compensation. Sorry!

We are very sorry for not having been able to meet you because of your time on holiday is more important for us. The very moment you were available, the hotel staff, in particular our receptionists, spoke and explained to you our reasons, after they discussed with the manager. So it is as if you had met with the manager having received the same answers.

At last, we do apologize about your complaints of air conditioning or swimming pool, but we are being informed about them only now: in fact we changed the room as for "ants problem" as per your request and then your satisfaction was good, as written also in your review.

We hope to meet again as our guest, avoiding any problem during your stay, and most of all after your check-out, as in this case, where you were compelled to write mails specifying that you would have written a bad review.

p.s: my housekeeper manager has asked our "pest control company" to explain the problem you had with ants (the only real problem!) and we have received confirmation that the ants do not make holes in the clothes, normally in nature!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Palace Hotel
Bay Palace Hotel
#76 of 87 in Taormina
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,858 reviews
1.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#20 of 87 in Taormina
670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#50 of 87 in Taormina
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Esperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esperia

Address: Via Nazionale 244, 98030 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range: £62 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Esperia 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Esperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Esperia Hotel Mazzaro
Esperia Hotel Mazzarò
Villa Esperia Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing