We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and view”
Review of Hotel Baia Azzurra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
387 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“great location and view”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel perfectly situated near the lift to the upper town and provides a great view of Mazzaro Beach and the open sea. Isola bella is a five minute walk up the street.Our room was average but clean but the best thing about it was the french doors that led to a large terrace overlooking the sea and beach...that was the best part along with the very good help we received from the staff.

They serve a very good breakfast in their dining room with good service and excellent view. Great value for your money.

Room Tip: get a room facing the water that have a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    169
    61
    23
    7
See reviews for
80
218
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hotel is located just over the nice beach of Mazzaro and from its terraces there is great view at the Bay of Taormina with Isola Bella.Close to the hotel there is the station of cable car by which one can reach in five minutes the center of charming Taormina.The rooms are small but clean,the food simple but abundant and tasteful and staff helpful.We've spent three days in the hotel at the end of a ten days tour through Sicily and in generally are satisfied.My brother and his wife were in the same hotel one month ago and and they have similar impressions.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLRBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

When i saw a photo of a room i said not bad but when you actually go inside the room it is small. I stayed with a friend in the same room, there was no room for the luggage, when i opened the drawer there was a lot of hair so there was no way i was to put my clothes and things in there. So i had to keep them in the luggage. The bathroom was really dirty especially the bath, grey towels, my sheets had a hole in them.
The breakfast was simple orange juice or milk with cornflakes, no toast or anything.

But i liked the big balcony in front of the reception area nice view of the Isola Bella.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vivic87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We have just spent ten days touring Sicily with Titan HiTours, this was our last of four hotels on the island and unfortunately was the poorest. Our room was basic with a small 1970's colour tv with a screen size of about 12 inches. Our room was number 106 and we were just above the bar. There is s resident pianist who plays from aprox 20.30 until 24.00, it seemed like he was in our room. The food is buffet, however, the staff were not good at keeping it topped up and as seems usual in Italian hotels they only supply cold plates for hot food. The drinks are very expensive. Some friends of ours had a pot of tea for two with a small piece of cake each and the cost was 7.50 euro. Spirits and wine were also very expensive. The staff in the restaurant were not the happiest of people. The food was good, sweets were limited to cream filled cakes or icecream. Coffee at breakfast was served in open topped jugs which soon became cold. There is a swimming pool, however it was slowly being filled during our stay. The pool is detached from the hotel and is accessed by a lift, no robed are provided. There is a shuttle bus to town, but you do need to book your ride in both directions. The location is at the extreme outskirts of the town and is about a 15 minute drive. This hotel could be so much better if attention was paid to small details, hot food, cheery staff, better equiped rooms. I am sure that a better hotel could be found nearer to town.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel last 26th July. We surfed on the internet to see how it looks but it's not as seen on photos. For a 3-star hotel we thought it would be better..it looks much more like a 2-star hotel. The staff was not helpful as we expected, except the waiters. The food was terrible..only pasta as a starter ( the same pasta everyday !! ). The rooms weren't that bad except the matresses ! It is better to sleep on deckchairs then on them !!

Anyway, there are much more better hotels in Taormina !!!!

  • Liked — The roof :)
  • Disliked — Staff & Food
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mar_gauci87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

Very pleasant hotel with lovely views of the coast and weather permitting of the Italian mainland. Good facilities and pleasant room. Staff friendly and helpful especially the waiters. Food excellent in fact very little to fault the hotel but make sure you do NOT have rooms 107,108 or 109 as view is totally obstructed by a rock which is wall to wall 2 feet from balcony.

  • Liked — The general cleanliness
  • Disliked — Steep climb from road to entrance
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you do not get rooms with rock view!
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#33 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Azzurra

Property: Hotel Baia Azzurra
Address: Via Nazionale, 240, Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia Azzurra 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baia Azzurra Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing