We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very warm welcome!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jonic Hotel Mazzaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Northampton UK
2 reviews
“A very warm welcome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Beautful building, breathtaking view of the Ionian Sea from a room with a balcony. Brilliant staff who were so accomodating and most welcoming. We would definitely return! My daughter Greta would agree!

Room Tip: Grab a sea-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    80
    58
    14
    15
See reviews for
35
141
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at the Jonic Hotel Mazzaro for 2 nights 18-20 October. I simply cannot find fault with this property--my husband and I loved it. I struggled for days with the decision to stay actually in Taormina proper or choose one of the areas with immediate beach access (read that as "good views, close to the water"), and I am happy that I chose well for us!

We arrived after dark, unfortunately, but the hotel was still very easy to find. While not late into the evening (it was only about 7:30pm), we blame the arrival (about 1.5 hours later than we anticipated) on our GPS, which INSISTED on sending us directly through the center of every small town within 50km on the way to Mazzaro/Taormina. Had to re-program the thing, so that was our own fault.

Signora Mariella greeted us on check-in and was kind, cheerful, friendly, and professional. Throughout our stay she gave us local information, advice on taking a boat tour of the Bay of Taormina, and was just a sweetheart all the way around. She also let us know that we had been upgraded from our reserved balcony room to a terrace room on the 4th floor.

The room was spacious with plenty of storage and a comfortable bed, the bathroom probably the largest of any we have enjoyed anywhere in Italy (with excellent water pressure and even temperature in the shower, plenty of storage space, a hair dryer and a magnifying mirror for shaving, etc.). The terrace (maybe 10 x 10) was awesome with a small table and chairs, plus 2 additional chairs for sunning yourself. Although this was a streetfront room we had exceedingly little traffic noise--probably the result of being on the 4th floor and the combination of the glass door plus the wooden shutters closing off the terrace. And the drapes/door/shutters combination also kept the room dark and made it very easy to sleep well past sunrise.

The hotel's location right on the beachside road makes beach access quite easy, and it is maybe a 1-2 minute walk to the funicular to take you up the hill into Taormina proper. Even at this late date in October, some souls heartier than I am were enjoying the beach--umbrellas and chairs were still available for rent and people were in the water. If we were beach-resort, summer vacation types, I would love to stay here in the summer time and enjoy the beaches, but alas, we pretty much refuse to deal with summertime heat and peak season pricing.

Of course, we couldn't fully appreciate the terrace and the views until the next morning, but suffice it to say they were more than we hoped for. We had a lovely view of Isola Bella, as well as Mazzaro Beach itself, and mainland Italy in the distance. Since views were a priority for us on this, our first trip to Sicily, we were extremely pleased. We used that terrace for breakfast and the afternoon riposo (siesta) and enjoyed every minute of it!

Speaking of breafast: my husband inquired about room service for breakfast on our terrace to enjoy the lovely views and within 15 minutes it was brought up to us. Room service breakfast was typically Italian: croissants, rolls, butter & jam, coffee, juice. The next morning we decided to take breakfast in the breakfast room just for a change of pace and enjoyed the croissants and breads, along with boiled eggs, salami, and cakes. Very nice!

Would definitely, gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddyrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Location was great. Close to beach and close to lift into Taormina. Rooms are very clean.
The service made the experience even better.
Mariella, Filippo and Michele were just outstanding. The night of our anniversary, upon our arrival from dinner, Filippo had a bottle of champagne and 2 glasses for us to enjoy in our room. We were so touched by their hospitality it felt like we were with family, truly !!!

Guaranteed to book Jonic upon our return to Taormina.

Robin and Rob

Room Tip: room with sea view balcony was outstanding !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

good position
friendly reception
to small rooms
no fridge in room
expensive for quality service


buona posizione
accettazione amichevole
stanze troppo piccole
no frigor in camer
costoso rapporo qualita preezzo

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toniopride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mazzaro hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hotel Jonic Mazzaro is directly across from Mazzaro Beach and a two minute walk from Isola Bella Beach, so if you want to be near the beaches it is a very good location. The view from our room was gorgeous! Room was spacious, very clean and had a huge bathroom, but our room decor was stark and uninviting. Just a few little touches would make it much more inviting and warm. And prettier/newer bed covers would help. But as I said, it was spotless and also a good value.

Breakfast was very good! A nice dining area with a selection of cereals, yogurts
pastries, salami, cheese. A panini maker was a plus...I made breakfast paninis with the salami and cheese! A friendly waitress served cappuccino, coffees and teas. Great!
Unfortunately, there is no internet available.
Staff was friendly and the woman (I forget her name) was very helpful.
FYI, there is not much to do in Mazzaro, I found only two restaurants within walking distance at night. You will have to take the Funivia (cable car) up into Taormina town.
This hotel is within steps of the Funivia.

Room Tip: Email ahead and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here and got given a tiny room that was pretty average, although we did have a nice view of the beach. It was very noisy from all the street noise and the pillows were hard so we didn't sleep that well. The shower was also tiny. however, the breakfast was ok and the hotel overall is fine - it is well located right next to the beach so can't complain about that. However, the staff were not that friendly or helpful and didn't seem to take any initiatve when they knew that there was something wrong with our bill. They left it to the last minute to fix it up. it was very stressful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventuregirl986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We found this hotel very easily, we were driving from Mont Etna. There is a cable car that takes you into Taormina, you can shop or eat. There is also a cable car that thats you to a small island called Isola Bella which is a little walk up the hill from the hotel. The rooms were clean and very basic, the breakfast was very good, and in a nice area.
There is a elevator to take you up to your room, and the staff were very friendly.
I would stay here again, and I'm a Travel Agent!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#32 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonic Hotel Mazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonic Hotel Mazzaro

Property: Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Address: Via Nazionale N 224, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jonic Hotel Mazzaro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jonic, a small and romantic residence in Liberty style is incorporated in an old villa dating back from the early 1900s. It is situated at the Mazzarò Bay, formerly an fishing harbour called Taormina mare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jonic Hotel Mazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonic Hotel Mazzarò
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing