We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hotel is simple but the room was clean, beds comfortable and the bathroom was small but had a great shower. We were lucky that the weather was really good so we didn't have to spent much time in the room itself because that would have been depressing. Breakfast in the hotel is not very exciting, the bread and pastries looked and tasted old and no fresh fruit. There is no bar or nice lounge in the hotel, but the hotel next door had a nice terrace and good red wine. What makes this hotel great is the location. Within 5min your on the beach and the lift to take you to Toarmina is also 5min walking. Toarmina is a lovely city and has lots of nice bars, shops and restaurants. The people are very friendly and helpful but try to stay away from the more tourist places where they lure you in their restaurant. Better to try the smaller places in the side streets.
But regarding the hotel; If you do not expect more than the basics it's fine. But if you expect ambience you will be disappointed. On the other hand; for the price that we paid we are not complaining!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Beautful building, breathtaking view of the Ionian Sea from a room with a balcony. Brilliant staff who were so accomodating and most welcoming. We would definitely return! My daughter Greta would agree!

Room Tip: Grab a sea-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed at the Jonic Hotel Mazzaro for 2 nights 18-20 October. I simply cannot find fault with this property--my husband and I loved it. I struggled for days with the decision to stay actually in Taormina proper or choose one of the areas with immediate beach access (read that as "good views, close to the water"), and I am happy that I chose well for us!

We arrived after dark, unfortunately, but the hotel was still very easy to find. While not late into the evening (it was only about 7:30pm), we blame the arrival (about 1.5 hours later than we anticipated) on our GPS, which INSISTED on sending us directly through the center of every small town within 50km on the way to Mazzaro/Taormina. Had to re-program the thing, so that was our own fault.

Signora Mariella greeted us on check-in and was kind, cheerful, friendly, and professional. Throughout our stay she gave us local information, advice on taking a boat tour of the Bay of Taormina, and was just a sweetheart all the way around. She also let us know that we had been upgraded from our reserved balcony room to a terrace room on the 4th floor.

The room was spacious with plenty of storage and a comfortable bed, the bathroom probably the largest of any we have enjoyed anywhere in Italy (with excellent water pressure and even temperature in the shower, plenty of storage space, a hair dryer and a magnifying mirror for shaving, etc.). The terrace (maybe 10 x 10) was awesome with a small table and chairs, plus 2 additional chairs for sunning yourself. Although this was a streetfront room we had exceedingly little traffic noise--probably the result of being on the 4th floor and the combination of the glass door plus the wooden shutters closing off the terrace. And the drapes/door/shutters combination also kept the room dark and made it very easy to sleep well past sunrise.

The hotel's location right on the beachside road makes beach access quite easy, and it is maybe a 1-2 minute walk to the funicular to take you up the hill into Taormina proper. Even at this late date in October, some souls heartier than I am were enjoying the beach--umbrellas and chairs were still available for rent and people were in the water. If we were beach-resort, summer vacation types, I would love to stay here in the summer time and enjoy the beaches, but alas, we pretty much refuse to deal with summertime heat and peak season pricing.

Of course, we couldn't fully appreciate the terrace and the views until the next morning, but suffice it to say they were more than we hoped for. We had a lovely view of Isola Bella, as well as Mazzaro Beach itself, and mainland Italy in the distance. Since views were a priority for us on this, our first trip to Sicily, we were extremely pleased. We used that terrace for breakfast and the afternoon riposo (siesta) and enjoyed every minute of it!

Speaking of breafast: my husband inquired about room service for breakfast on our terrace to enjoy the lovely views and within 15 minutes it was brought up to us. Room service breakfast was typically Italian: croissants, rolls, butter & jam, coffee, juice. The next morning we decided to take breakfast in the breakfast room just for a change of pace and enjoyed the croissants and breads, along with boiled eggs, salami, and cakes. Very nice!

Would definitely, gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buddyrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Location was great. Close to beach and close to lift into Taormina. Rooms are very clean.
The service made the experience even better.
Mariella, Filippo and Michele were just outstanding. The night of our anniversary, upon our arrival from dinner, Filippo had a bottle of champagne and 2 glasses for us to enjoy in our room. We were so touched by their hospitality it felt like we were with family, truly !!!

Guaranteed to book Jonic upon our return to Taormina.

Robin and Rob

Room Tip: room with sea view balcony was outstanding !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

good position
friendly reception
to small rooms
no fridge in room
expensive for quality service


buona posizione
accettazione amichevole
stanze troppo piccole
no frigor in camer
costoso rapporo qualita preezzo

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toniopride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hotel Jonic Mazzaro is directly across from Mazzaro Beach and a two minute walk from Isola Bella Beach, so if you want to be near the beaches it is a very good location. The view from our room was gorgeous! Room was spacious, very clean and had a huge bathroom, but our room decor was stark and uninviting. Just a few little touches would make it much more inviting and warm. And prettier/newer bed covers would help. But as I said, it was spotless and also a good value.

Breakfast was very good! A nice dining area with a selection of cereals, yogurts
pastries, salami, cheese. A panini maker was a plus...I made breakfast paninis with the salami and cheese! A friendly waitress served cappuccino, coffees and teas. Great!
Unfortunately, there is no internet available.
Staff was friendly and the woman (I forget her name) was very helpful.
FYI, there is not much to do in Mazzaro, I found only two restaurants within walking distance at night. You will have to take the Funivia (cable car) up into Taormina town.
This hotel is within steps of the Funivia.

Room Tip: Email ahead and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here and got given a tiny room that was pretty average, although we did have a nice view of the beach. It was very noisy from all the street noise and the pillows were hard so we didn't sleep that well. The shower was also tiny. however, the breakfast was ok and the hotel overall is fine - it is well located right next to the beach so can't complain about that. However, the staff were not that friendly or helpful and didn't seem to take any initiatve when they knew that there was something wrong with our bill. They left it to the last minute to fix it up. it was very stressful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventuregirl986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isola Bella
Hotel Isola Bella
#49 of 87 in Taormina
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
1.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonic Hotel Mazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonic Hotel Mazzaro

Address: Via Nazionale N 224, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range: £44 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jonic Hotel Mazzaro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jonic, a small and romantic residence in Liberty style is incorporated in an old villa dating back from the early 1900s. It is situated at the Mazzarò Bay, formerly an fishing harbour called Taormina mare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jonic Hotel Mazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonic Hotel Mazzarò
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing