We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were in this hotel 2 years ago. When I get in our room I was disappointed, but, it was clean, and close to cablecar, beach and the view was..wow..I dont care we didnt have balcony. yes, it was loud, but after we spend first night in Taormina old town, this hotel was perfect to sleep over, have breakfast. As I said, good for this money, but if you need quiet..dont go there. Stuff was great.

Room Tip: good for this price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

The Jonic is located just above the beaches of Mazzaro and next door to the cable car to fantastical Taomina! The proprietors, Marieila and Antonio, happily respond to any guest request and go out of their way to accommodate. Rooms are clean and functional and reasonably priced. Breakfast is typical for Sicily. Parking can be a challenge as there is none on sight and you are on your own. For a great and affordable trip to Taormina give Ionic a try.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Pictures are lying. You should certainly not go there if you a dreaming of sitting at a balcony and watching the Ionian sea. Which we have booked and paid for.
You will not be able to see anything other than another hotel wall on the side of main street (with very traffic: "SS 114") and you will have a very small balcony almost in street level with lost of smog.
The room looks like something from the late 70's or start 80's & the staff is not very helpful. They just look at you as if they don't care at all.
Not a penny worth! And the parking rate is 15 € a day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CphKreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

great location very near beach and cablecar to Taormina. breakfast very poor even though we emailed to say we were wheat intolerant,requested fresh fruit there was the same bowl of soft apples for the whole week of our stay!we bought our own fruit locally every day and ate it in the breakfast room. Room had paper thin walls, we could hear our neighbours talking, every word even though they were not shouting. we complained but the solution was to move us to a smaller room at the back even though we had paid for a sea view room.we bought ear plugs in order to get some sleep. bring earplugs if you stay here!!

Room Tip: bring ear plugs if you want to sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aseret n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Jonic Hotel this week and loved it. We had 3 out of 4 legs of our flights to get there delayed, and were 13 hours late arriving, getting there at 1:30 in the morning instead of 12:30 in the afternoon. We emailed Mariella along the way with all our travel woes, and she ended up organizing a car and driver to meet us at the airport and drive us out to Mazzaro. Yes it cost $95 euro, but it sure was worth it to see someone at the airport holding up a sign with our name on it in the middle of the night after 36 hours of travel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a top floor room with a terrace, and loved sitting out there taking in breathtaking view. Yes, the walls were not soundproof but we found the other guests to be quite respectful and we had no complaints. The street traffic pretty much stopped after 10 pm and we were able to leave the shutters open and listen to the ocean waves at night in bed. It was definetly worth it for us !

Room Tip: The top floor offers a large terrace for each room with a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Jonic Hotel Mazzaro is an excellent combination of courtesy, quality,service, position & price.
it is truly one the best value hotel I've stayed in. The location is so charming & fantastic just few minutes walk to the beach & not too far from the upper side of Taormina.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We spent 5 days at Hotel Jonic, and it was genuinely the best value hotel I've ever stayed in. It is located slap bang in between at least two 5* hotels so in terms of location this is testament to how ideal it is. It's overlooking the beautiful bay, a couple of minutes walk to the beach and just far enough from Taormina to avoid the crowds but 1 minute walk from the cable car that takes you straight there. Breakfast wasn't 5* deluxe but certainly hit the spot. The room was actually beautifully quaint, with enormously high ceilings so felt very spacious - and a huge bed.
If you're not the 5* type then this is certainly the next best alternative.

Room Tip: Sea view is imperative!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#41 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isola Bella
Hotel Isola Bella
#50 of 87 in Taormina
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
579 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonic Hotel Mazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonic Hotel Mazzaro

Address: Via Nazionale N 224, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range: £45 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jonic Hotel Mazzaro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jonic, a small and romantic residence in Liberty style is incorporated in an old villa dating back from the early 1900s. It is situated at the Mazzarò Bay, formerly an fishing harbour called Taormina mare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jonic Hotel Mazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonic Hotel Mazzarò
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing