We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel by Taormina beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel by Taormina beach”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Excellent location just a few minutes walk from the cable car up to Taormina town. Metres from the beach and with beautiful views from the sea facing rooms. Staff were lovely and incredibly helpful with respect to everything we needed. Breakfast was typical continental with cappucios available on request! Great value for money and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    89
    62
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
157
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay here one night, it would have been many more had they not been sold out do to a large conference in town. Our room window opened up to the sea and took our breathe away. The room itself was immaculate. The shower small but not unusual for this area. Internet worked just fine in the room. Breakfast which was included, was more than sufficient. We literally walked across the street to the beach, paid 5 euros per person for beach chairs,etc. Several restaurants were within walking distance along with the cable car up to the
top of Taormina where there are a multitude of shops and restaurants. Since we are beach people, we were happy exactly where we were. We were hoping for a cancellation so we could stay longer however unfortunately for us, that was not the case. We were allowed to store our luggage for the day and Mariella even called around to help find us another hotel. That brings me to the staff. They are fabulous, they care, they assist. Two women traveling alone, we felt very safe here. They even offered us beach towels to take to the beach. I hope I can return someday and stay for days and days.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. If you are going to the beach, ask early in the day for beach towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvettetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Excellent value! Staff was wonderful, especially Mariella. Hotel is just around the corner from the lift up to Taormina and only a couple minute walk to Isola Bella. Great view over the water.Very clean and had a good breakfast. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the water,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excelent location,staff is ok,room is medium ,bathroom is large after italian standards, breakfast it could be better,but is decent.
take the room with see view ,it makes all the money.
you may go to the beach in the morning, and in the evening you take the cable car and go to taormina center where yo have and excellent views and great panorama of the coast.

Room Tip: take the see view ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at Jonic for 7 days.We loved the location and setting.Very near a beautiful cove and the cable car which goes to the main centre in Taormina. The hotel was good VFM .The staff were excellent; very friendly, hospitable and went out of their way to make it an enjoyable experience.Would highly recommend this hotel and 'family run' friendly and professional staff to anyone. The hotel does not having a restaurant .So its expensive to eat outside although one could find reasonable food at lower cost at the American/Sicilian bar very close to the hotel.

Sabino and Mary from UK

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony as this overlooks the sea and the beautiful scenery .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMiranda1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Our main purpose was to visit Taormina and the neighboring villages. Mazzaro bay is beautiful, however transport from Mazzaro bay up to Taormina can become a bit expensive using the cable car, which seemed to be the only option other than using a taxi each time we had to travel to catch a bus or a train. The room of the hotel was between normal and small, and the shower was micro. Also, breakfast can be improved a lot...even for a three star hotel and the night receptionist didn't care about anything.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mazzaro hotels

Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Jonic Hotel Mazzaro for 4 nights for our first wedding anniversary. Going through the different reviews helped to be prepared on what the hotel had to offer so let me go into the different things.

The price is good given that the hotels in Taormina are quite expensive. One has to consider though and factor in, that if you are going to visit Taormina several times, its 6 euros two way.

Location is spot on - just 3 minutes from the Funivia and 5 minutes from a very nice Lido. There are many good restaurants nearby as well.

Rooms are average. We had a room with seaview which, in our opinion, was quite nice. The size was comfortable enough and the room itself was clean. Yes the furniture is out of date and might need replacement but then again, if prices need to stay low, there's not much management can do. It's true that the walls are very thin and you can hear every movement of your neighbours but it was not much of a problem for us as they were quiet. It's true there is a busy road but, with closed windows, the noise was minimal.

The bathrooms might be a matter of concern for some as the showers are very small. We have travelled to a lot of places, including South East Asia and the India sub-continent, and this must be either one of the smallest, or actually the smallest shower we ever saw. For us it was fine, so if you are relatively thin or average it's ok. But whoever is on the large sizes will experience problems for sure.

Breakfast was ok, nothing impressive. There was 'packet' orange juice, coffee and tea on request, water, two types of cereals, plain yoghurt, eggs, 3 or 4 types of cakes, 'packet' croissants, butter and jam, slice bread and buns, ham and cheese. So if one wants to make a fill in in the morning it's possible. From my end I would suggest eliminating a cake or two and substitute with some fruit (we heard it's quite cheap in Sicily).

The service was very nice and cordial. One particular receptionist (the one who was most for the night duty - the more mature one), remembered our room number from the first time he saw us which I really liked. We were also given a room where to store our luggage on check out given our flight was in the evening.

On the whole - a very good experience.

Room Tip: If you are travelling from Catania get the Interbus from the airport. The ticket is only Euro 7.90...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fairyjany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isola Bella
Hotel Isola Bella
#49 of 87 in Taormina
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonic Hotel Mazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonic Hotel Mazzaro

Property: Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Address: Via Nazionale N 224, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jonic Hotel Mazzaro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jonic, a small and romantic residence in Liberty style is incorporated in an old villa dating back from the early 1900s. It is situated at the Mazzarò Bay, formerly an fishing harbour called Taormina mare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jonic Hotel Mazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonic Hotel Mazzarò
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing