We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Its a good family destination. .good food, clean hotel,rooms,pool n good services. .I mean with food ..u get ur food on time n drinks..thats a big deal when u have hungry young kids..
Liked the morning aerobics n afternoon water polo for adults in the pool.it was great fun..
They give u a dinner menu in advance n u can add whatever u need...especially for vegetarians...
Now the bad part is..
The kids club??didn't seem like it even existed..a lady would come throw items in the pool n ask kids to pick it n within 10 to 15 minutes..she would just leave..if u asked her if she would assist in checking up on kids as u take a walk on the beach..she would completely refused..
Another thing..I found it abit squashy as well..especially the dinning area n the rooms..thy have so many tables(its a good thing that thy have many guests) but the space between the tables doesn't seem enough..
But overall spent quality time with my family. .but this shouldn't discourage u for trying to get a different experience in Serena mombasa

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Davinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Since booking our 'once in a lifetime' two-part holiday to Kenya, there have been reports of numerous terrorist activities in the area, so we subscribed to Kenyan travel advice from our government website. As we arrived at the hotel we checked our e-mail, to receive a warning that the previous day British tourists had had a hand grenade thrown into their vehicle in Mombasa. Neither our Kuoni holiday rep nor the hotel staff admitted to awareness of this, and we were told everything was perfectly safe! We were not convinced, and chose not to wander out of the hotel complex for the next five days, which was a real shame, as I was so looking forward to discovering the old part of the city and port.

The hotel was adequate enough, although I was very surprised that there was no air conditioning in any of the public rooms, and as the weather was especially hot and humid, we found this somewhat oppressive. We did have air conditioning in our room though, which worked wonderfully, until there was a power outage, which I'm afraid are frequent, and then our air con re-set itself to 24 degrees!

The design and layout of our rooms, was ideal for a family, it was two adjacent rooms, both with en-suite bathrooms, accessed by one main door.

The dining room looked very attractive, with a choice of indoor or outdoor seating, and I was very pleased to be told by Martha, our Kuoni rep that the water was treated and 'everything was safe to eat, including the salad'! Not so, all three of us suffered with upset tummies.

The beach looked idyllic, and the sea was beautifully warm, clean and inviting. But the second you stepped onto the beach, we were harangued by locals trying to sell us all manner of things, which whilst providing some sort of entertainment whilst trapped in this hotel, it did become a little wearing after a few days.

In short, I hope very much never to come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I visited this place whilst attending a seminar.The hotel is about 20 km from Mombasa town at Shanzu.The road is all weather tarmarc.Checking in was first though there was no welcome drink.Found this rather odd for a pricey 4 star not to have a welcome drink.Room was clean and neat though the mosquito net was slightly torn.(room 78).The way the net was hanging over the bed was not neat as there bed posts should be high on all fours or alternatively provide a rectangular net instead of a circular net which then touches the legs defeating the whole logic of having a mosquito net. Luckily there were no mosquitoes.A/C functional with a TV in room.Not the flat screen.Otherwise food was excellent,delicious and had variety.Not much evening entertainment activity though.All in all ,I would stay again at the Serena Shanzu.

Room Tip: I stayed at room 78 but the 80 series has better sea view from room balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Mombasa , Kenya has some of the most beautiful beaches and hotels in the world and one reason it is so is because it is still not as commercialized as other beautiful beaches in South Africa and the Caribbean . The sand is powder soft and the water clean ,warm and clear. What makes Kenyan and Tanzanian beaches so great is the warm hospitality offered by the mostly Arab culture on the east coast of Africa. Although the word "Arab" brings not so warm feelings , thanks to the Western Media nowadays but go and see for yourself the unstinting welcome you will experience there.
The resort itself is like a dream, small elegantly furnished cottages, surrounded by exotic trees and bushes and the extravagantly lavish food and service offered there.
One can venture into the "old town" in Mombasa and see the narrow cobbled streets and old buildings that have existed for hundreds of years and you will be transported into another more innocent and unspoiled time that we all long for in our Western countries.
One note however is that Kenya is not inexpensive but what you get for your money is so very well worth the journey there.
Jamil Lone, New York.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeelaylone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I chose to relax at this resort, Mombasa Serena Beach. The Serena Beach was a lovely hotel, our room was great, as was the service and the food. We had an extremely relaxing time, its just a shame we couldn't have spent more time there, maybe in the near future!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cairnsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great ambience, lovely beach and fantastic service. It was a great experience. Different from most hotels along the Kenyan coast in terms of property set up, distance to the beach, fantastic gardens. I must definitely go back for longer as a couple. Would have loved to try out the spa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkinyiOtega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a great experience! Stayed for 8 days on a business trip and took a rest the last day to sunbath and relax. Awesome experience! Friendly and helpful staff - genuinely friendly- great resort with all of its facilities: the food, the rooms, the beach, the pool, and everything else. Just 2 notes as I think this place can be a perfect place going the extra mile: the internet connection is generally unstable. This can be very annoying for someone traveling on business and the A/C didn't work very well. Seems there was a problem with it - room 92. I really enjoyed this hotel and will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YousefOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
0.2 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
1,000 reviews
1.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
85 reviews
5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 60 in Mombasa
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 90352, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range: £146 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Serena Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Beach Hotel Shanzu
Serena Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotel Serena Beach
Serena Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Shanzu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing