We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience..........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Right from the day we arrived, it was excellence par our expatiations. From the reception to the room attendant , from the kitchen staff to the beach towel boys…everyone gets 10 out of 10 !! They were all courteous and other hotels should learn a thing or two from them. Always with a smile on their face.

The food was of very high standard, everything fresh, and on no occasion ran short of anything. The chefs who kept an eye on the buffets did a wonderful job, not only cooking such wonderful dishes but also saw it that there were no shortage.

The beaches are sandy and beautiful with hardly anyone. Even the hawkers are licensed so no pestering

Serena is of very high standard and for sure we will encourage our friends to stay there if ever they go out to Mombasa. We have stayed in quite a few Mombasa hotels.....this has to be tops !!!

We do not have enough words to express our gratitude for making our stay very comfortable.
Well done and thanks once again.

Room Tip: "Rooms are spacious and clean.The far left side are quieter" "Corner suites are larg...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAQ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Serena Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having looked at other reviews I have nothing much to add but totally agree with the comments on the very friendly staff and excellent food. The fact that so many residents are repeat and long time guests speaks for itself. One point that is not mentioned is the very good medical services. They have a very experienced in house nurse, doctor on call (15 minutes) and a clinic within 4 miles. The clinic is incredibly well set up with a pharmacy, doctors, technicians to carry out all sorts of tests, nurses and very soon dentists. The service there is excellent with very little wait for whatever help you want. For instance I waited 1-5 minutes for blood tests with full results within 3 hours. These facilities are an added comfort especially to the elderly residents

Room Tip: 1-4 are very convenient and comfortable. Slightly noisy until the entertainment stops at 11pm
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillJago073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was my first trip to Kenya and my 3 week stay over the Christmas and New Year's Holiday at the Serena Hotel was excellent - from the friendly, attentive staff, great food and a super pool and beach area, and spa. The hotel could do with a facelift in some areas, but overall the room and facilities were good. I had a mosquito net and took my malarone as advised - didn't see one mosquito! No wonder my friend that I came with comes back every year - I can see why she loves it so much.... of course, the safari to Maasai Mara was one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarkaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

As frequent traveller, I do not recommend this hotel, as it is not worth it. Half board treatment here means half of the quality that you can find in a 4 stars hotel, for example in Zanzibar.
Starting from the small room: super small toilet, old and noisy air conditioner, with cables out of the machine and spreading everywhere; no internet nor TV channels in the room.

Awful food (I mean compared to my experience in other same standard hotels): they proposed a dry, hard and disgusting fish fillet for 4 days in a row and it was the ONLY fish “choice” they had, otherwise you could choose between a mini portion of cold beef and fried turkey….terrible.

Only positive rating is for staff: polite, efficient and adorable: the management (???) of this hotel does not deserve such a talented staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaritaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your comment and we are disappointed that our services did not live up to your expectations. We are surprised that you did not find TV channels or Internet in the room as we have this service in all room categories. Your comments on the food quality and offer, as our regular meal offers differ from your comments. I would be grateful if you would kindly contact the undersigned on email tmwahunga@serena.co.ke to enable us to establish your dates of stay to enable us investigate the complaint further. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Tuva Mwahunga,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Jambo!!! Habari Ghani!!?? This means Hello how are you? I know i'm running late on this review but i might as well let everyone know about my last stay at the Serena Beach Hotel & Spa in Mombasa!! If you're on a major tour of Africa or will be touring anytime down the road and you are looking for a place to unwind and relax at the end of the trip, then this is the place to do it. We stayed at this beautiful beach hotel for 9 days and soaked up all it had to offer. The beaches are beautiful the white sand and crystal clear water is just breathtaking!! The tempurature of the water is around 75-85 degrees which made more enjoyable to swim around in and or have a relaxing walk. The staff are always looking out for your needs and making you feel welcome by stopping to have a warm friendly conversation. Tuva and Ali who are two of the managers always made sure that everyone was comfortable and having a wonderful time. In the late afternoon between 5-6pm keep your video camcorder ready as the monkey come out to play and be mischievious they're a real hoot!! The food was just amazing!! a good variety catering to everyones needs, the best was the dengu fritters that they made fresh in the morning with the fresh coconut chutney!! WOW!! and the Mandazi which are the african donuts made hot and fresh golden brown goes great with a hot cup of tea!! Jahazi which is one of the restaurants on the beach is an amazing place for seafood cuisine, if you go the lobster is an amazing choice and the PeriPeri shrimps are amazing too. If you are looking to venture off the resort for dinner then go to Hashmi's bbq which is on Jomo Kenyatta Road. Just the driver I'm looking forward in going back soon!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but get a room facing the ocean!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alyd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The staff are wonderful warm and friendly, the facilities are good, especially the Maisha Spa which did a great treatment (thanks Jane K). Rooms are bright and spacious and clean and have a wonderful location with most rooms facing the sea.

The negative points would be the games area which had very tatty pool tables, darts board and table tennis. The food in the main restaurants was great for breakfast with a wide variety of fresh fruit and pastries and cooked food, however come dinner time the set menu was terrible. No taste and not much choice, lunch in Solanki Market Place was definitely not worth a additional price we paid as the service was very slow and food again was rather tasteless, such a shame as the staff, hotel grounds, butterfly house and rooms are great.

Don’t be put off using the beach because of the beach boys selling their wares. Once they know you are not interested you become invisible to them. The sea is gorgeous and warm with little tropical fishes and the sand golden soft.

Room Tip: If you are staying ask to be well away from the evening entertainment as if you are relaxing after a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Have-You-Been-Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

What can I say but a huge thank you to all the staff of the Serena Beach Hotel. I have never come across staff who were so unfailingly welcoming, polite, friendly and unobtrusively attentive as this hotel has. Everywhere we went we met smiling faces, Jambo, Welcome and we were made to feel special to them all. The hotel was in a beautiful position, with plenty of palm trees when the sun got too hot. The food was well presented and tasty and the breakfasts were outstanding. The fish restaurant at the beach had a wonderful serene atmosphere with live musicians playing instruments in an unobtrusive style. The grounds were well kept and there seemed to be constant maintenance taking place to keep the hotel up to its impeccable standard. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, it was quite simply brilliant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
1.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
72 reviews
6.0 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 90352, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range: £142 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Serena Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Beach Hotel Shanzu
Serena Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotel Serena Beach
Serena Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Shanzu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing