We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spa but poor service at entry” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Spa but poor service at entry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was at the spa this Saturday and had a lovely treatment thanks to Douglas and company. The spa was clean and very soothing, i really enjoyed myself.
However when i arrived at the gate, the gate/watchman/security guard was very rude to me and made me enter through the staff entry to access the spa. I was staying at a nearby hotel and therefore came on foot, either way, i found this discriminatory and quite rude! My take is even your juniour staff should undergo some form of customer care training and realise that domestic tourism is of great importance to the hotel industry in Kenya.
Feel free to contact me incase further clarification is needed.
Thanks
Ms. Kimani

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    151
    49
    18
    9
See reviews for
126
200
39
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Clean and spacious rooms, serene environment, I liked.. the staff were quite hospitable.
Nice location and quite secure. Nice place for a family get out, best for couples.. The food was quite good I would recommend it anytime..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Second time here and was highly impressed by how the staff have maintained their hospitality. Food quality and variety was great along with live bands on selected dinner days. Private beach with a variety of activities. Rooms were clean and spacious. Maisha Spa - pure bliss!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShyxTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Clean, serene, nature filled, cool, and enchanting. Lovely for a couple. Quiet nights.
Apartment kind of room setup's and very private. Spacious - An experience not to miss out on.
Great food, Gymn facility available for residents. highly secure. They have an amazing spa and wellness center.

Room Tip: Dont forget all you holiday clothes - it's hot in Mombasa, scarfs, beach shorts, swim suits, sno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeueAngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for a week and i thoroughly enjoyed the experience I had there along with my family. The food was great and view was fantastic, It was all spotless and, to top it all off, the staff were delightfully welcoming.

Room Tip: Avoid traveling there on Aprils, its the rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks last October. We found the staff - especially Phoebe on the front desk - to be extremely helpful and polite with nothing too much trouble. When we arrived we found the room we were given to be a little dark with no view of the ocean, but a few words to Phoebe and we were soon in a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the palm trees and ocean. The food is reasonable in the main restaurant, but the Jahazi Grill Seafood Restaurant on the beach is really wonderful. We also visited the spa which I found to be top notch with facilities, ambience and treatments well up to international standards. The gym was well equipped and I pretty much had it to myself each day. The only downside - and something over which the hotel has no control - is the hawkers on the beach. They pester people quite agressively and spoilt what was otherwise a stunning beach. We travelled up to Tsavo National Park for a few days and also aranged a car to drive us to Malindi and the Ghedi Ruins for the day. We found the hotel cars to be very good and they always wait and bring you back to the hotel for a nominal fee. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed at Serena many times and yes there are a few problems with WiFi connection which can be frustrating as sometimes during a long stay we have to work,but we are told that hopefully this is going to be addressed. As for the beach boys a very firm no thank you is mostly all that is required. The rooms at Serena are slowly being refurbished and those already done are spacious ,clean and very comfortable.
The food in the restaurants is always fresh and beautifully cooked and the choices amazing,it would be a very fussy eater who could not find anything they liked at any meal, also Chef and his staff are always willing to cater for special diets if required .
During the 17 visits we have made to Serena we have not met one member of staff who would not bend over backwards to make our stay as welcoming and enjoyable as possible.
Kenya is a wonderful country with wonderful people and it is a shame that more tourists do not visit,we hire a car (my husband will drive anywhere ) and get out and about,he takes his golf clubs and goes off in the morning while I lay on the sun bed over looking the ocean and relax.
The location of Serena is perfect with many amenities only a short taxi ride away(the hotel also has it's own transport mini buses).
We would recommend Serena to everyone and have in fact taken a good few friends and family with us over the years,they have enjoyed their stays as much as we do.
We will be returning to Serena at Christmas again for nearly four weeks,and then again next March with family for three weeks .
Yes there are newer more modern hotels on the south coast but they do not have the ambience or the heritage of Serena,neither do they have the beach front that Serena has.
If anybody is fearful of traveling to Kenya,look at the statistics.Kenya is still far safer than most other countries for tourists,despite what the press would have you believe . Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: We like the refurbished rooms with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
1.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#17 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bahari Beach Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 90352, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Serena Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Beach Hotel Shanzu
Serena Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotel Serena Beach
Serena Beach Resort & Spa Kenya/Shanzu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing