We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tiwi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Island Beach Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Two times, the first time in October 2013 and now for the second time (for our honeymoon), we have stayed at Sand Island Beach Cottages. What an amazingly beautiful place this is! Truly paradise, beautiful beaches, delicious fresh fish every day from the ocean, very nice cottages, the most friendly people and staff and best of all: the peace! This place truly makes you forget about the daily life, internet, emails, etc....from the moment you arrive, you're just there and only there, so much relaxing it's great! Arty and Cheryl are the most lovely people running the place and good company for a glass of wine and chat in the evening as well. Arty is a great chef also. Our favorite cook is Ali. He is very friendly and a wonderful cook, his fish curry's are amazing. This is one of our favorite bonuses of the place: you can hire a cook, who will come in the morning and prepare you breakfast, lunch and dinner. Everything made with fresh ingredients and fresh fish from the sea. All there is left for you to do is chill, relax and enjoy this beautiful and peaceful beach and the most amazing place! We will be back soon and we can definitely recommend to stay at Sand Beach Cottages in Tiwi! Yvon & Tony

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Our honeymoon couple - thank you so much for such a super review. We were thrilled when you chose to come back to Sand Island for your honeymoon and no better place, we think, to celebrate the start to your wedded life together - quality time to spend together! Always great to have a cook to prepare all your meals from the fresh produce available and then have the opportunity to swim, snorkel, tan, read books, relax and just eat the wonderful meals prepared for you. Come back soon and perhaps next time with all the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    32
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
65
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is a truly wonderful resort: small, friendly, intimate, beautiful and genuinely hassle-free. The position is idyllic, with a small but lovely coral reef and a small area that has an amazing proliferation of star fish. The urchins are plentiful so bring appropriate foot wear.

It is 'self catering' but you can ask to hire a local cook at a very reasonable cost, who will advise on which type and how much fish to ask the local fisherman to bring for you the next morning. The office has a small selection of provisions, but seemed to have everything we need.

This is not the place for you if you like pristine bland 'Hilton-esque' hotel holidays. But if, like us, you love small, beautiful, peaceful, fun, and full of local character, then I can think of absolutely nowhere better.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank twvd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
A super review and thank you so much for taking the time to write about us. Peaceful and unique it definitely is - away from the hustle and bustle of busy beaches and tourist attractions found in other locations. Fresh fish daily, cooked immediately - nothing can beat that taste and always in plentiful supply from the friendly fishermen. Star fish trips and even snorkeling on your own after the trip is very satisfying and exciting as every day something new to discover. We hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a perfect getaway. I am not into sandy beaches (prefer to jump into the sea from a cliff :-), but this place is lovely. Managed by lovely friendly people, cottages are simple and very tastefully done, view from the veranda is gorgeous, you can sit there for hours and just stare at the ocean. I didn't do any of the activities, like snorkeling etc, as I was too lazy, but there are options. Local cooks are available to prepare the freshest fish and sea food possible as very cheap rates. You can bring your supplies from the supermarkets in Mombasa or Diani, but it you are not too fussy, you can get all you need on the beach and from the little shop at the office.
And there is fresh coconut, which for me is the best drink in the world.
I will be back as soon as I get a chance.

For the fussy types, there is no A/C but there are fans in the rooms and the breeze from the sea is amazing. March is the hottest, so if you don't like the heat, come during other months.

The managers arranged for a pick up from Mombasa town.

Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It was lovely to have you and your brother to stay and thank you so much for taking the time to review us. The 'no beach boy' factor is wonderful for a truly relaxing and enjoyable beach experience and the fishermen have learnt that if you wait quietly the guests will come to you when they are ready and be happy to part with their shillings. We had a single 'Ground Hornbill' come to visit yesterday - this was a first and we are hoping he found his mates to join up with. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I brought my family to Sand Island Beach Cottages and couldn't have been happier. The kids freely came and went to the beach all day without our supervision. The cottages were very comfortable. We hired a cook who knew how to make great seafood that was always available. Not once were we hassled by a beach boy. There was plenty of snorkeling and things to do. We will go back again and again.

Room Tip: Bring snacks and hire a cook for the seafood. Hire a tour guide to take you to the African pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN-NBOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Sand Island is a great place for children - safe swimming, great rock pools, snorkeling and the beach so close that parents can relax on the patio of their cottage whilst the kids enjoy the sand and the sea. It was wonderful meeting your whole family and thank you for embracing all the we have to offer - short trips to the starfish colony and Africa Pool with the fishermen, great fish and seafood daily from the fishermen and cooked by the great cooks and of course lots of R&R. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you all to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Super-relaxing holiday, cottage was 20 metres from the beach, a simple place to stay, great place to get away and chill out. Great snorkelling, beautiful rockpools, and saw a giant turtle! You can buy fresh seafood and prawns on the beach and have them cooked in your cottage by a cook - heaven!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker19102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Wonderful having you to stay and so pleased that you had a good time here in our little bit of unspoilt paradise on the Kenya South Coast. Seeing the turtle was so exciting - she (or another) came back last week, again got caught by the low tide and this time we had to shade her all morning to wait for high tide. Fishermen and staff built a great teepee for her but sadly, even though she came back again the next day, still no eggs laid. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for some more snorkeling to the wonderful coral gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My fourth time in Sandisland Beach Cottages was absolutely paradise like as the last three times and even better. The self contained makuti roofed cottages, with inbuilt natural air conditioning, are as close to the beach as possible. The sea with a coral garden in swimming distance provides easy access to snorkeling, and provides the fresh seafood as one wishes...

Wireless network allows to stay in touch with the rest of the world. The little shop, daily cleaning service and passing by fishermen make self catering as easy as it gets.

The managers are great hosts and very helpful, if anything is needed or a trip to be organized.

The three dogs are as laid back as the place itself. Life there, is turning into bliss: swimming, watching the colors of the water change with tides coming and going, and musing - undisturbed Kenyan peponi. One wishes time would stand still for a bit longer than a week.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
A true 'Sand Islander' and we couldn't have written it better ourselves. It is very special for us, and I am sure for all the previous Managers, that this was now your fourth visit and you enjoyed it as much or perhaps even more as all the others. Our aim is to always make it clean and comfortable and upgrade where necessary without losing the special charm of a place that is truly still a bit of the 'old' Kenya. Welcome back soon - thank you for lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Sand island is great if you are looking for a beautiful spot to unwind and relax. The beach is not quite the soft sand of Diani, but it is still a lovely setting.The cottages are simply furnished, clean and comfortable. Each has a sea view and terrace. Perhaps the biggest draw is the peace and quiet compared to other parts of the coast, although the seclusion limits beach walks a bit, which is something we enjoy. There is great snorkelling at the reef where we saw some very colourful fish. Certainly worth a look if you are looking for a peace and quiet in a stunning setting at a good price.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us; certainly seclusion is something we promote and our geography helps as at high tide we’re cut off from beaches to the north and south rendering us ‘private’. Diani does, indeed, offer the chance to walk a long white beach but the vendors can intrude a little on privacy. We rather encourage our guests to explore the area within Sand Island. To the north, on the coast, there is Swallow Pool and to the south, ONLY with a fisherman, Africa Pool, which makes for a long walk as does the reef at low tide. We’re also really happy for guests to venture inland as we boast a large acreage of indigenous forest as well as a casuarina plantation to the rear of the property. It’s especially nice to walk up there late evening and enjoy slightly different views and occasionally small game. We’re really pleased you enjoyed the snorkeling and in the office is a super book which helps to identify all the different species.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiwi
1.3 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
20.5 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hillpark Tiwi
Hillpark Tiwi
#2 of 2 in Tiwi
59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#10 of 66 in Diani Beach
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Beachalets
Diani Beachalets
#6 of 66 in Diani Beach
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Island Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Island Beach Cottages

Property: Sand Island Beach Cottages
Address: Tiwi Beach, Tiwi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tiwi
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tiwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Island Beach is comprised of ten fully self contained cottages - which sleep between 2 and eight depending on which one you take - on a pristine piece of Kenya's south coast. It's geography offers guests something unique: a private beach within easy proximity of shops and restaurants. Set in acres of orchard and indigenous coastal forest and just meters from the beach, there is a real sense of space and peace. We will arrange airport transfers, assist with shopping and offer advice on local attractions and adventures. We pride ourselves on our hosting and our extraordinary location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sand Island Beach Cottages Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing