We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Galu Beach location, nicely done”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galu Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani
Reviewed 5 December 2013

These are some cottages that are nicely placed and nicely built, right on the beach. I have now stayed in 3 of the houses and they are all equally well finished and comfortable. There is plenty of space for outdoor eating and sleeping and still remain private. Colobus monkeys visit daily and the pool by the grass by the beach is great. It's also close to Kenyaways and a good kitesurf spot.

Room Tip: There are two buildings that are facing the beach area, which of course are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peetkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We - a family of 3 adults and a 2 years old - had a wonderful stay at galu Sea Lodge. The location is stunningly beautiful: white sand beach, swimming pool, quietness, beautiful ocean, caring and attentionate staff. Thehouses are decorated with taste and very functional, We really did feel at home for the whole week. A cook and a housekeper are designated for each house. We could arrange a menu of fresh seafood every day and really felt pampered. The management is very atentionate and makes sure your needs are taken care of: Stephanie helped us arrange a wonderful, - though agitated- sea trip, and although we decided not to visit the nearby Shamba hills national Park, all options were presented to us.
We will certainely return to Galu Sea Lodge, a nice break from our busy lives, but still a home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikaloga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Galu Sea Lodge was nothing short of glorious. We were warmly welecomed by the staff and served like royalty. The chef Lebon was five star andwe feasted on the best the Indian Ocean offered - fresh lobster,seabass, snapper, prawns, etc. Our househelp Emma felt like family and stayed late with the kids to allow my wife and I to experience some Diani nightlife. We didn't want to leave and will definately go back. (planned on 5 days stayed for 8!!) the property is beautiful with green grasses, aloe vera growing right out the ground, hugeboabab trees, palms and bright colors everywhere. Monkeys play in the trees above. The pool is clean and cool with views of Ocean and section for children. The beach is sandy and clean. Security is top notch. James always walks the grounds all night. The beach houses are swahili style with african decor and balconies viewing the ocean only feet away.We had a fountain courtyard in the middle of our house! Camel rides, Snorkeling, fishing and boating are easily arranged from lodge. All beds had new mosquito nets and sleeping was great. Stephanie the property manager was an angel and helped so much with everything. We miss Galu Sea Lodge and would recommend this option above any hotel in the area.

Also recommend flying into Diani FYI.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have been In Galu Sea lodge for the first time in 2009 and we went back there each time that we wanted to chill out and relax. We always had wonderful time and HUGH was always great with us, giving us advice and sharing with us his experiences around. Since the first time they rehabilitated the swimming pool, creating a part for kids... Fantastic. It's just an amazing retreat and I wish all the best to the Management team.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage near the sea....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We had a wonderful holiday at Galu Sea Lodge this Easter! It is a stunning location south of Diani, on a wide white sandy beach, the best sea to swim in and out towards the reef, a great pool for children and refreshing in (short lengths), a good cook and fresh sea food at the door every morning. The management team were great and we enjoyed chatting with Hugh, who is warmly welcoming and only too pleased to share his local and national expertise on all sorts. Beach house 3 is really stunning, unbeatable sea panoramas from the 2 very large front double bedrooms, all bedrooms are above average and en suite. The Mediterranean type decor is stylish and practical, great for our 2 families with 4 kids from 6 to 16 years old. From the verandah you overlook the ocean, the wide beach, the beautiful gardens and tall palms, monkeys and the pool. Highly recommended, book early, we hope to return before too long. The only concern we might have is the risk of noisy neighbours as all houses are in close proximity. It was only an issue for one night for us (a v noisy and large crowd next door), but if peace and quiet is a priority you could be unlucky.

Room Tip: The 4 beach houses (sea views) get the sea breeze, the stunning, magical views, proximity to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NairobiAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

For the last many years we have stayed at Galu. We have always had excellent service and wonderful times. The staff has been great! This has been a great place for our family and friends. Over the last few years we have had yearly leadership meetings at Galu. It has been a time of refreshment from very busy and stressful roles as well as a great place to meet and do long term planning. Of course our schedule is determined by the high tides. I would recommend Galu for that family get away or for the small leadership training / planning meeting! We have been going to Diani for the last 50 + years! We have lived in East Africa all of our lives and even had our honeymoon on along Galu Beach - 30 years ago! We look forward to many more great years now making Galu Sea Lodge our place of choice!

Room Tip: The beach front cottages are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have stayed at Galu many times over the years and each time has been an amazing retreat from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. The cottages and apartments are stunning, with the swahili chic design, African artifacts, and ocean views making Galu my first choice whenever I want to relax for a few days. Over the years I have brought friends from Kenya, Australia, UK, USA and NZ all to Galu and they have all loved their stay. Galu have been able to accommodate a group of 16 and at other times I have gone by myself, such is the appeal of Galu.

The staff at Galu are brilliant, top quality chef's and the management very friendly and relaxed which makes it the perfect place for a holiday.

Room Tip: Cottage # 1 is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebarefootnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galu Beach
1.7 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
PrideInn Express Diani
PrideInn Express Diani
#20 of 29 in Diani Beach
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenyaways Beach Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Lantana Galu Beach
Lantana Galu Beach
#3 of 5 in Galu Beach
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani

Address: Diani Beach Road, Galu Beach 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Galu Beach
Price Range: £108 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TAMANI at Galu Beach is situated at the south end of Diani beach. There are 4 two-story beach houses plus 6 newly built apartments, situated within beautiful gardens that run down to the wide, sandy beach. There is an excellent, well-maintained swimming pool within the front gardens and next to the beach.The Beach Houses and Apartments take from 2-10 Persons comfortable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing