We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for anything better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Twenty South Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Galu Beach B&B and Inns
Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for anything better!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Travel warnings.....made me laugh. We stayed at Four Twenty South, it was paradise. Beautiful cottage, excellent food, magnificent white beach and clean fantastic ocean. What does one want more in life?

Room Tip: all cottages are facing the ocean - you enjoy the sound of the waves and the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200heavenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Everything about this idyllic place was wonderful. Me, my husband and our two sons(13 and 9) flew to Ukunda from Nairobi, (with views of Kilimanjaro on the way) and were picked up from the airport. The house was extremely clean, and was cleaned everyday. A fisherman arrived every morning with freshly caught red snapper, calamari and lobster, from which Mohammad, our chef, made the most delicious meals. Everyone that works at 420 South was so friendly and looked after us perfectly, including decorating our villa for Christmas. There is an exciting trip to the nearest reef in a locally made boat. We recommend the snorkelling safari to Kisite Reef in a dhow with a lunch of crab claws and traditional Swahili food. This was a holiday made in heaven.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
420south, Owner at Four Twenty South Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. All of us at Four Twenty South are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we send you all our very best wishes and hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I spent one week here for the perfect holiday. We stayed in an intimate two bedroom cottage right on the sea. The recommendation came from a close friend who stays here every year, she couldn't have been more right. Our cottage was so clean and kept everyday by Ms. Veronica. Mohammad our chef cooked us fabulous meals everyday. He organized fresh seafood to our door daily. We swam in the sea every morning just outside our door. In the evenings we organized a taxi for some fun and dinner. Shopping was close and we enjoyed shopping for ourselves but they will shop for you if you need them too.The owners of Four Twenty South John and Hilary are the most gracious couple. I am so happy to have met them. This truly was our home away from home and was a paradise. All is reflected on them and how well they care for their guests. We will return every year now. Just a perfect beach holiday.

Room Tip: We asked for a recommendation and it was perfect. Our cottage was Tsulini. It was intimate and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have been here 4 times in the last year and a half, and it does not disappoint. Lovely cottages set in well kept grounds on a pristine beach that offer plenty of privacy. The cottages are very well managed, with the aim of making your stay as relaxing as possible; a few days before, just email a shopping list to Jane and the food is waiting for you on your arrival. Fresh fish is then brought to the cottages each day by the local fishermen. You get an appointed chef for your cottage who cooks your meals and will nip to the shop to buy extra ingredients as needed; both Michael and Mohammed cook fantastic dishes, making meal times something to really look forward to! Having tried other places at the coast, this remains our firm favourite. If you are looking for pure relaxation in stunning surroundings with amazing food and friendly staff, look no further than 420 south.......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I came here for our short honeymoon. Hilary and Jane helped us arranged for airport pick up and drop off - the driver Gabriel was great! Our entire transit went perfectly smoothly!

We stayed at the Tsulini cottage for 3 days and had a very relaxing time. Our chef and maid were very attentive and friendly, yet perfected the balance of giving us plenty of privacy. What we love the most about Four Twenty South is that it distinguishes itself from the rest of the typical resorts along the beach. It removes you from the touristy crowds and provides a tranquil and private environment just for you and your company. Additionally, each of its cottage is spaced in such a way that you rarely see your fellow guests on the compound. (We are coming from Manhattan so when we travel, privacy and "personal space" are very important to us).

I would consider another future visit next time I am in the area!

P.S. We did notice some bar/club music late at night from a distant - might be from the bar further down the beach. It didnt really keep us awake but just a note.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiViognier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a great time - arrived late at night and were welcomed by the guards and owners. The whole stay was perfect, the cottage was really comfortable and well designed. We had an excellent chef and very nice maid. The location was great on a not busy stretch of perfect sand. No faults to find and we would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Actually 4.2 degrees South of the equator, hence the name, these lovely cottages nestled on Diani beach are just a heavenly place for a holiday. We have been here 3 times now, taking a different cottage each time- there is a choice of sizes and prices depending on your needs, and it just gets better every year.
I have mixed feelings about reviewing it as it is really a secret I want to keep all to myself. It is at the quieter, more relaxed end of Diani beach but everything is within easy walk. The fisherman bring their catches in next door and can come over to the houses if you wish to buy the freshest fish and seafood you can imagine. Fresh fruit and veg also arrives this way if you ask. The cottages come with adorable staff who will cook and shop for you and keep the house clean and tidy. Even when it is very hot there is always a breeze and the rooms have lots of fans to keep you comfortable at night.
Hilary, the owner, arranged Yoga for us everyday and we kite-surfed a little further up the beach. We have also had weeks here where we have done little but read and relax and swim in the ocean at your feet. It's up to you but one thing is for certain 420 South is very special.

Room Tip: Dzumbe cottage is recently modernised and hence a little more expensive than the other cottages, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hnui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galu Beach
1.0 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#14 of 29 in Diani Beach
586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Twenty South Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Twenty South Beach Cottages

Property: Four Twenty South Beach Cottages
Address: Diani Beach Road, Galu Beach 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Galu Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Twenty South comprises six colonial cottages surrounded by three acres of beautiful tropical gardens bordered by an unspoilt dazzling white beach lapped by the aquamarine waters of the Indian Ocean. The houses are right on the sea overlooking a sandy lagoon where swimming is safe at any tide and a breeze gently cools the heat of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Four Twenty South Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
420 South Beach Cottages
Four Twenty South Beach Cottages Hotel Galu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing