We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise & paradise village one & the same!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neptune Paradise Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Galu Beach
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This hotel Should be wonderful, it has a beautiful setting, the beach is stunning but that is were it ends. They can't decide if they are one hotel or two. We were booked into Paradise Village but ended up in Paradise, I must say I was glad about this as it was quieter. All the entertainment was done in Paradise Village. My husband booked a surprise meal for me for valentines night at The cave restaurant which was excellent & he booked it through reception at Paradise. We then tried to book a meal at another restaurant & were told we had to go to the other hotel to do it, Paradise village. We wanted to go to Dianni Shopping centre & tried to book the shuttle at Paradise reception & were told we had to go to the other hotel to book it, Paradise village!
This is our 4th visit to Kenya & having stayed in 4 different hotels, I am sad to say this is the worst. I can only tell you about room 142. The great majority of the time we had no hot water, in order to tell anybody we had to walk up to reception as the phone in the room did not work. Eventually I found out where the emersion heater was but the maintenance man & reception could not believe that we would want hot water all the time. The towels are disgusting & they stink, that is if you get any. There were days where we did not get towels at all but they took away the dirty ones & there was one night where we did not get towels until 7pm. Our bed sheets only got changed once until we complained to the rep, so in two weeks our sheets were changed twice. They also don't seem to have any double sheets.
The floors in our room were not washed once while we were there& most of the time the bathroom was not cleaned.
We were in a ground floor room as requested & am I glad as when my husband lent on the fencing out on the terrace, it was broken.
To try & get a drink at the bar was a nightmare as they never seemed to have any staff, we even know of guests that just helped themselves as they got so fed up waiting. There were never enough glasses, so we always had to wait for them.
The food in the restaurant is definitely not up to standard, it was not hot enough & there was very little choice. We ended going over to Paradise village as their restaurant did keep the food hotter but still there was hardly any choices. I did not know that you could cut a leg of lamb so thinly, in fact given a gust of wind & it would have gone flying. My husband said he felt like Oliver Twist asking for more. We also suffered with stomach upsets, in fact I have never taken imodium so often. One day we were left with no toilet rolls.
If you want a sunbed you have to be up at about 6am or you have no hope of getting any, especially with shade. As a previous reviewer said the hotel is full of our European firends.
The safe in our room was broken when we hired it so we got somebody to come & look at it, they fiddled with it & then said O.K now. My husband put in a code & it would not work & the head of housekeeping said it is because number 1 & 2 don't work.
There were broken bits of sunbed lying around from the time of our arrival until we left & in the wind quite a few coconut tree branches came down narrowly missing guests.They did go around putting up signs warning of falling coconuts!!
Every time we asked to see a manager, they all seemed to vanish, the rest of the time they were sat in the bar watching sport.
The animation team were very good, they put on loads of things for guests who want to be involved but if you want to left alone, they don't hassle you.
The staff are generally very friendly & always greet you with "Jambo"
Generally this hotel could be really lovely but the management need a good kick up the bottom, it needs a lot of T.L.C & brand new towels & lots of them!
To be fair to them after we had made our complaint to the holiday rep,the management did treat us to a free lobster dinner at The Palms, which really was lovely.
My husband & I say there is nothing like a 4 star hotel & believe me, this is nothing like a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landlady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2011

We spent our two week honeymoon at Neptune Paradise Village, we booked via Thomas cook so when we got there we had a lovely garland of flowers around our door and we had flowers on the bed most days. We also got a free lobster Meal at the next door hotel. Which was nice, but I would not pay for it. We were not told about this and had to chase it up at reception. I eco what others say about staff at reception, not the most helpful and don’t really know what going on.

The Standard rooms are very basic and could hear everything from the room next door as well, we had some very loud neighbours for a couple of nights that nearly drove me made. We were close to the bar to so could hear the music, but it was turned off by 12 so this did not bother us too much. The Air con keep our room lovely and cool and it was good having a fridge in the room and a nice big bed.

The room, bedding and towels all smelt musty, we never had any problems with getting new towels but they all smelt the same. You also get pool towels.

The food is fine, it does get a little boring at the end of the holiday and a few meals out are needed, but there is always plenty to eat. Breakfast was good, with lovely bacon and fresh eggs however you wanted, including pancakes. The chefs did an amazing job of cooking a fresh fish that was brought back from a fishing trip my husband went on. Ali babe cave and 40 Thieves bar are worth a visit, you can book from the reception.

The Glass situation is a bit annoying, you would get your drinks in all kind of glasses, what ever they had free and often you had to wait for glasses. The waiters were always going round collecting them, even if you had drink still in them. But I don’t have a bad word to say about the staff, all very friendly. As people from all three hotels gather at the one bar on the night, it just seems like its not big enough, it was hard to get seats and drinks some nights.

The pool’s, the beach, the ground are all lovely. Don’t be put off by the beach boys, sometimes they just want to chat and will leave you alone it you ask. Take some extra clothing and totalities you don’t want, they really appreciate it and all so friendly, they are just trying to make a living. If you are shopping, haggle, if you don’t you will get ripped off, if you pay half of what they start at your still being ripped off.

The snorkelling trip from the hotel is a nice few hours out, we did it twice and the entertainment during the day will keep you busy if you don’t fancy relaxing round the pool all day.

We had a three day Safari, which was amazing. It made our holiday and the lodges we stayed at in Tasvo leave this hotel lagging way behind them. We booked with JT Safaris who have a base over the road from the hotel. Would highly recommend them. Our Thomas cook rep really does not like them and will try and put you off – don’t be. Plus we did not have to check in and out our room and it was still cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joey044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

this wednesday morning we arrived home from neptune village

this was the 3rd time for us being here.

we've the same impressions : the location is awesome fantastic with the white sand beach and big cocus palm trees.

there'e e-thing ok with the staff : they are very friendly, kindly, but a little bit pole-pole, but hakuna matata - this is africa and you relax here !

on the other hand it have to say that the rooms' appointments are a little bit old, and the cleanliness in this year was not the best - maybe the reason of this problem was that about 600 people were there in the same time in paradise, village and palm.

the cleaners came to our room in he afternoon, and for two days we had only one towel in the bathroom - they forgot to give us two:(

the food at the restaurant was good, especially the fantastic fruits : ananas and mango - we liked that very much.

we went to safari with julius nzumbi's office, jt tours?

they have their office opposite the neptune hotels.

the safari with them was fantastic again : first year we were with them in the tsavo east, last year to the masai mara, and now to the tsavo west.

it was spectacular too, with the fantastic landscapes in the center of mt kilimanjaro, and we saw four from the big 5, because unfortunately we didn't met the rhino.

our lodge was the kilaguni serena, which is the best choice.

we were only two, so julius organized for us a private safari, and i have to tell you, that was more then enough, without sharing the car with other people,

rua the driver was kindly and polite.

so i have to recommend julius-safaris.com and the neptune village hotel to all.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Kenya which we enjoyed despite the fact that the rooms at the Sentido Neptune Village Resort are very tired and the resort is poorly managed.
We booked a 3 day safari with the travel agent when we booked the holiday, so had to vacate our room after 2 nights and put our bags in storage. The tour operator saves money for these nights which means it is slightly cheaper than if you arranged a safari with the tour company when you are out there.
The problems really started when we returned to the complex hot and sweaty in the afternoon after a 2 hour flight back from the Masia Mara. All we wanted to do was to settle into a new room and have a much needed shower.
The front door on the first room we were given would not close properly unless you slammed it plus you could not lock it from inside and the phone didn’t work. We went back to the reception and we were moved to another room but in the second room we found that the air conditioning only worked for about 2 minutes and shut off and when it was working it was extremely noisy plus the phone didn’t work.
We were starting to despair and decided to take the third room they gave us even though the plug in the hand basin was broken and was stuck in the down position and the plug for a table lamp was faulty. However after a night in the room we found that the drain in the shower stank after water was run and the air conditioning unit in the loft above our room made a terrible noise when anyone in the 4 rooms of the chalet block turned their air conditioning on. The final straw came during the second night when the toilet would not refill.
With the help of the rep we eventually ended up in a forth room which was fine. Why couldn’t they have sorted out a decent room for us in the first place instead on giving us a day and a half of stress?
The village resort is quite lively and the animation team are very enthusiastic, putting in a lot of work on activities during the day and shows at night, although the downside is that it is quite noisy until late with the disco booming out.
Other problems were: That the reception staff were incapable of understanding and sorting out any problems at all, so you invariably had to ask to see a manager. There was a drastic shortage of glasses both in the restaurant and more importantly the bar. Quite often the bar would be totally surrounded by thirsty guests and there would only be one person serving, as the other staff would be going around collecting glasses. This could of course be a deliberate ploy by the management as this is an ‘All Inclusive resort.
If you put out your bath towels for wash, the maid would take them away in the morning, but you would end up having to get into a shouting match at the reception that afternoon before you eventually got clean towels and when we asked the maid on one occasion she gave us course beach towels. Again we felt this was probably due to a shortage of bath towels at the resort.
The restaurant and snack bar staff were polite and helpful and there was a good selection of well cooked food.
Another thing that we thought was rather unsavoury was that there were a number of older male guest who were accompanied by young local girls. The hotel had allowed the girls to become resident at the hotel.
We like Kenya and also understand that this is Africa so you are not going to get the same level of quality as in Europe but we will not be going back to a Sentido resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_mcentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Firstly, having been to Kenya 5 times, i feel we have some knowledge of what to expect and have got to say, this hotel is not 4* compared to others we have stayed. It is a lovely hotel, set on a beautiful beach, but as previously said, everything seems to be done on the cheap.
Bars often understaffed/no glasses/wrong drinks and no bar service, even around pool, the restaurant often disorganised ( also avoid BBQ on Thursdays, food cold/undercooked), coffee served out of urns, oftened stewed.As for the rooms, we had superior, but what 4* does not give bottled water in rooms/room service /phones that work/ clean towels without going to reception every day/ fridge that works .There is also no gym, the A la Carte restaurant is in other hotel.We also were annoyed about being charged 200 shilling , cash, for reception to phone and make a local restaurant booking.
But i have saved best for last. The BEDDING had previously been slept in , as it smelt and was stained and in took two days before we realised.Check bedding when you arrive, my skin still crawls from experience.Also prepare to get up early, as sun beds in prime spots i.e some shade, are often all reserved by 7.30 am and not used until afternoon , it is, after all, a hotel with a lot of continental visitors
A lot of moans i know, but i expect more from a 4*. If you want a cheap holiday, wonderful weather,on a beautiful beach, go, but in truth only a good 2*

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Its a strange experience, on one hand the setting is great if you need a place to relax, unwind or go out and explore. The staff are very friendly Elisebeth, Verajoy and Denis in the dining room all chatted like they had known you for ever. Pool was great, beach great, dont be put off by the sellers on the beach they are not a problem. So overall it should have been a good holiday, but it wasn't.
The service is in the dining room is hit and miss you might find a table fully set up you may decide to just set it up your self,you might get a drink served,you may as well get it your self. There is no service plan for the staff to follow, who appear to want to clear as many tables as quickly as possible, food didn't exactly rock either
Next door the snack bar did it serve snacks? I have no idea occasionally it was staffed more often not, almost as if the resort didn't want guests to use it.
I did get that feeling the pricing was wrong and the place was struggling financially and so was tightening the belt,so to speak.
All the same other all inclusive breaks we have been on with great food, service and facilities have cost in the region of £500 plus more for two, so IMHO if you decide serice isn't a big deal its a great place

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mal333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Realy enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were a little disipionted with the selecion of food, could have been more choice. First time we have gone all inclusive and lost weight. Kenya is an amazing country and found the local people very friendly. The beach was fantastic, very safe for swimming. The beach sellers are a pain but they will leave you alone if you tell them your not interested. We would go to this resort again. We went on Safari to the Masi Mara which was fantastic and enjoyed seeing the Dolfins on a boat trip. Both of these we booked outside of the hotel through Beach Airtours. It saved us a fortune and was a great experiance. Marco Polo is situated just outside the hotel.
email macopolloh@yahoo.com mobile +254722696533 www.beachairtours.com
A big thank you to Elizabeth in the food hall for looking after us at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockwood10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galu Beach
0.1 mi away
Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
446 reviews
4.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,011 reviews
2.0 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Paradise Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Paradise Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Galu-Kinondo Beach, Galu Beach, Kenya (Formerly SENTIDO Neptune Paradise Village & Spa)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Galu Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galu Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Galu Beach
Price Range: £109 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptune Paradise Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neptune Paradise Beach Resort & Spa is set in a beautiful tropical garden. The 92 rooms are in makuti roofed cottages bungalows with only 4 rooms per unit. This gives you a relaxing and quiet holiday. Restaurants and bars form a perfect match between hotel and nature and offer a real African atmosphere. The Resort is located at the South Coast at the famous Diani Beach. Mombasa town at ca. 40 km, Moi International Airport at ca. 45 km and the nearby Ukunda Airstrip is only ca. 8 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Neptune Paradise Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Neptune Paradise Hotel Diani
Neptune Paradise Village Hotel
Neptune Paradise Village Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing