We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$220
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$213
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$211
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
US$228
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PrideInn Express Diani(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
575
120
34
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
575
120
34
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspersonal chefweaver birdsour honeymoonmongolian nighthalf boardmain restaurantday safariprivate chefwater sportsupgraded to a suitedouble showerhead cheffishdifferent themeeach eveningevery member of staffnothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2007

After a fantastic 7 day safari from Samburu to the Mara booked through Madukha Tours we thought our holiday could not get better but the amazing experience continued during our stay at Pinewood. Quiet peaceful understaded excellence. We booked the all-inclusive option and ate well-prepared fresh food, chose from an extensive lunch menu, and spent many evening hours listening to the sea and kenyan birdsong at the beach bar. The evening entertainment of traditional dancing reflected the warmth of the climate. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Days were spent walking miles along the safe white sandy beaches collecting shells or in the sea; snorkelling & scuba diving with the ajoining aqualand team. We even had the opportunity of a lifetime swimming with whale sharks. thank you julia and the boat crew.
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank matureadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2007

Just returned from a two week stay at Pinewood Village. The hotel, gardens and pool have an elegant design. The rooms are cool, clean and comfortable. The grounds contain many birds and small mammals. The highlight was the family of colobus monkeys (endangered species) who fed on trees just outside our suite, every morning and evening. There were also bushbabies who appeared after dark. One of the colobus monkeys was unwell during our stay and they arranged for a vet to visit.

The beach is beautiful with white sand and turquoise warm sea. Not suitable for snorkelling but there are short boat trips available for this. The diving at aqualand watersports centre was very good with only small groups. The nearby reef is well preserved and we saw turtles on 7 out of 9 dives.

The staff were friendly and attentive and the choice and quality of food from our chef was excellent.

There is a family of 7 kittens staying in the grounds. Ronnie, the manager (young, approachable and forward-thinking) is arranging to have them neutered by the KSPCA. They plan to create feeding stations for them away from the main building. Apparently some hotels on the coast poison unwanted cats. This just woud not happen at Pinewood, it really is a hotel with a conscience.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Mongoose22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

We stayed in Pinewood for two weeks, in mid-February 2007 (wedding and honeymoon), half-board. The hotel is perfect, with three key factors putting it miles ahead of other places south of Ukunda:

1) a perfect beach - we walked miles up and down the beach from Pinewood and it is clear that they have by far the most attractive part. Picture-perfect white sand, beautiful aquamarine ocean, well-suited to swimming, snorkeling and also one of the best kite-surfing spots on the coast! Also, what is important in Kenya, no hordes of beach boys, the couple of guys who are there (Markus and his brother, the odd Masai) are friendly and will not hassle you. This means you can actually use the beach and swim in the ocean, rather than just looking at it for fearing of being hassled!

2) the hotel itself - it is beautifully designed, oozing style, peace and relaxation (the photos on the current Web site do not do it justice, but the hotel said a new site is being prepared). This is definitely a boutique resort, with about 60 rooms (very spacious, clean and comfortable, even if you take a regular room) in elegant villa-like units sets among beautiful gardens. They have an excellent and well-maintained swimming pool with a nice bar in part of the pool (so good, we observed some guests barely left it :), a wonderful beach area with a romantic evening bar. They also have the Aqualand diving, jet ski and water sport centre that is considered one of the best on the coast. Ronnie, the Manager, said they are planning to add a Spa this year. Perhaps not the spot for party-craving singles, but definitely an idyllic and sensual romantic hideaway;

3) staff and food - because it is a boutique and rather exclusive resort, and not a mass-market budget destination, the attention and friendliness of the staff is amazing. After staying in Pinewood we went on a safari to some exclusive lodges (Kilanguli in Tsavo West, Ol Tukai in Amboseli) but actually ended up missing the friendly staff of Pinewood. This was also reflected in the quality of the food and drink you were served. Pinewood is proud of the fact that if you book a suite you get your own chef, but we got a regular room and used the restaurant, which we ended up being very happy with. The buffet menus were varied, with different theme nights (e.g. curry, Swahili) all served in a very posh dining room that gave our stay a definite feeling of high class; it was also a nice way to meet fellow travelers. Breakfasts were yummy and lunch at the pool or beach bar was reasonably priced (as we mentioned, we had half-board). Only one comment - we thought the beer and water was overpriced, higher than in some of the better hotels in Mombassa!

We highly recommend Pinewood for couples, honeymooners and also those thinking of marrying in Kenya. Changawa was the perfect organizer, and we had a beautiful wedding in a lovely spot, with terrific local singers and dancers (we would recommend them over the Masai). Just beware of the registrar - he has a tendency to be late :)

We are actually planning to go back to celebrate our anniversary next February. Our positive experience was confirmed by other guests at the hotel, who were seasoned Kenya visitors and having stayed in many places, rated Pinewood as one of the best.

Go and enjoy, you'll love it (and if you're there in February 2008, maybe we'll see you there)!

Ola and Michal

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ola&michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

We visited the Pinewood Village Beach Resort from Febr. 27th to March 14th 2007.
We had a very relaxing, preasurable and wonderful experience. The hotel is wonderful and the employees-from the general manager Ronnie Bhasin, the reservation manager Miriam up to our private cook Nancy-all are friendly and very obliging.
We employed the harmony and the calmness of the resoert and can recommend The Pinewood Village Beach Resort very heartly to all stressed people.
In natur, the Pinewood Village Beach Resort, is mjch more impressing than you can find it on the internet presentation.

Karl und Martha Heinen-Kerkel

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marthaheinen-kerkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews