We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and cozy”
Review of Riad Jnane Ines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Jnane Ines
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and cozy”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This riad is one of the best we stayed in Morocco. All rooms are different (but with all amenities you may need). The food was excellent and the service beyond expectations. We couldn't ask for more.

Lucie
Canada

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bude cornwall england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Turning from the main road into a long dusty and winding street I was ready to jump ship but then, in the distance, tall, soft coloured walls brimming over with luxuriant greenery and. the riad tower rising in the middle. A rose and bougainvillia filled courtyard greeted us, then into the cool dark interior with ancient wooden posts, tall ceilings and a fountain playing. If that wasnt enough, the pool was a magnificent site viewed from the dark reception. This was just what we were looking for, sun, beauty and peace. Lemon trees surrounded the pool and behind these, the many beautiful suites and private terraces. We were looked after so well by Hassan, the girls in the hammam and Mustapha. Our food was fabulous and we wanted for nothing. My favourite memory is waking up at 5ish on my last morning and hearing the call to prayer. I went out onto the terrace to sit and listen as the imam sang . It was beautiful, the sound echoing around that lovely space and no one else around. We were driven in to Taroudant to the souk which I thoroughly enjoyed. Thankyou Mustapha and your staff.

Room Tip: lalia was a beautiful suite with arched stone ceiling, and its own very private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BOSIEJET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Mustapha is one of those special people that are in short supply he built this hotel with love and pride and it shows in the detail though I can not speak French we managed somehow to communicate and I so wish I had paid more attention to my French teacher in school as I would have given anything to be able to have a really good conversation with Mustapha to learn more about the history of the doors and ceilings here they are fascinating. The beds are oh so comfortable and the bed linen is the best ever it is pure luxury. When we arrived Mustapha's son in law was there and he spoke perfect English and even though he was rushing to an appointment he gave us a whirlwind tour of the property. I felt like a princess staying in a palace as we were the only guests the first day and had the pool and gardens to ourselves. The lunch was really good and the dinner her must be excellent as a lot of business people came to dine. While the hotel is outside Taroudant this makes it more special the villagers are so proud of it they will willingly guide you there and it was one of the few places we were not asked for money for directions. I really do hope this hotel does well if Mustapha son in law happens to read this review I hope he contacts.I would have loved to try the Hamman but it was not possible while we were there as I probably left it too late to book.This hotel needs to feature in the likes of Lonely Planet as it is such a special place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cairnsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
326 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A family run riad. Warm & friendly oasis well outside of the grim town of Taroudant. The riad, rooms & grounds were all very nice & a pleasure to relax in. Berber craftsman were employed for the wonderful woodwork around the hotel. Meals were all good as well. The staff were very attentive & I should give special kudos to Mustapha – the jovial owner. He told us that we were their first Canadian visitors.

Above & beyond the call of duty: He drove us to another riad for dinner one night & picked us up after. A true gentleman.

Note: The riad is dry - no wine available for dinner & the suite seems to have a bit of a hot water issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

with my wife and our small dog, a Chihuahua, have stayed from 29th April to the 2nd of May. We stayed at the Suite Lalla that is in our opinion the nicest. Everything is perfect in this hotel that is run like a private home. It is a jewel of the Berbere Tradition with beautifule antique pieces. It is built with all the modern conforts using authentic pieces salvaged from an old Coranic School. It is only 10 minutes from Taroudant that is called the Small Marrakech as it was founded at the same time by the same dinasty of the bigger Sister. Food at Jnane Ines is the best Berbere food in Marocco, it is just so different from the touristic restaurants, this is the real Maroccan food of the real Maroccan homes.
A particolar mention of the beautiful garden full of mature fruit trees and flowers, locally Jnane means "Garden". The swimming pool is beautiful and full of sunshine, this is really the best hotel in this region, so when you come plan for at least 2 days without leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giampiero t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Clearly a labor of love, this beautiful riad was the only place we stayed owned by Moroccans. Mustafa explained he had tried to recreate his childhood home inside Taroudant, and it's a pretty spectacular place in a little town outside of Taroudant. Although we didn't have a car, they arranged for taxi transport in and out of Taroudant and for an expedition to Tafraoute, which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Others have mentioned that the wifi doesn't work in the rooms--it's because of the thickness of the walls, but one day Fatime reset it so it worked by the pool. She also noted that they don't have a password on it so the neighborhood can piggyback on it since they're the only ones who have it in the area, so we didn't mind walking to the reception area to check email.

The staff all say they want you to feel at home, and if you treat the riad as yours, you will be in for a treat. One evening we wandered into the kitchen and saw a big bstilla production going on, only to be offered spoonfulls of the filling--it was Naima's recipe for fish bstilla, and we immediately requested it for the following night. We had fish bstilla again in Essaouira and all agreed that Naima's had been better--she's from Safi, a port north of Essaouira and it was really superb. All the food was really excellent (and as others have mentioned, the breakfasts were the best we had in Morocco, aided in no small part by the spectacular poolside setting). This is a dry riad, but we brought our own wine and they were happy for us to bring it into the dining room to have with dinner--you will not be able to find stores that sell alcohol in Taroudant so you will need to bring it with you from Agadir or Marrakech.

Mustafa mentioned he'd spent a lot of time in the mountains and suggested that if we came back equipped he'd set us up with a guide so that is something to consider requesting if you go. French is spoken, not sure about English.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKM549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Riad Jnane Ines was stunning. It was like finding a piece of paradise when you came through the gates. It is quite a ways out of town, so you do need a car. The staff was wonderful and the girl accompanied us to the medina, showed us around, helped us bargain for better prices all at no extra charge. We had booked a suite for our family, but they upgraded us to two lovely rooms, connected by a private courtyard, out by the pool. We also had hammam. We only stayed one night, but had I planned differently several days to a week of relaxing here would be ideal. Only probelm was Wifi didn't work in the rooms and we couldn't get the wired internet to work either. Wifi did work in the main area.

Room Tip: The double rooms out by the pool have much more space than the suite in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Hotel Dar Zitoune
#1 of 16 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 16 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Fatima
Dar Fatima
#6 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#13 of 16 in Taroudant
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jnane Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jnane Ines

Property: Riad Jnane Ines
Address: Ain Al Mdiour, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jnane Ines 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JNANE INES Riad exceptional It is built according to traditional 90%. For 3 years, craftsmen of the Berber region have given the best of themselves in order to provide a single place, a work of art, a masterpiece of subtlety, originality, brilliance. In JNANE INES, you will find comfort, tranquility, beauty, tranquility, warm welcome to the Moroccan by Moroccan very attentive to the care of the home JNANE INES an exceptional place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Jnane Ines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing