We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Riad Hida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Hida
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Reviewed 28 October 2009

this is such a lovely concept!
it's a hotel, and gardens, with peacocks everywhere!
it has orange trees growing in the back, fountains, a lovely pool area!!
lovely place to have authentic moroccan berber food. may i suggest the tagine?? sublime!
as you are having your meal, the peacocks come to watch you and start walking around. it's just so charming!
the pool area is lovely! very calm, very relaxing!
the only glitch is that it is so far from taroudant...about 45 mins away. about more than an hour away from agadir.
i highly suggest coming here for lunch though. it definitely is an experience!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RiriDada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed here just one night in march. The property is nice a big garden with a big pool. The food was also very good really genuine well cocked Moroccan food. The staff was ok.

The only downside was the room that was a little run down and not that clean either.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

We stayed at Riad Palais Hida on three seperate occasions,November and Christmas 2007 and again at Easter 2008. It was quiet for the first two stays,ourselves,some Californian girls and two lovely German couples and we had a great time. There were also some touring visitors for lunch or dinner as the Riad has a well deserved reputation for good food at reasonable prices. And the locals come in to the Bar of an evening. At Easter is was busier with several French and English families with their children, and all seemed to be having a great time. The grounds and pool area are extensive so you can be as communal or as exclusive as you prefer. We opted for a bit of both.

The rooms are up to date and comfortable, some are from the original palace and very comfortable, and others are more recently built in perfect harmony, but bordering on luxurious.
The meals are served outside, except Dinner served in an absolutely astonishing (there's no other decription) Salon. These public rooms are part of the original and if you have any feel at all for Morocco you will be moved to feel part of and behold what was their cultural high.


So what' to say, the stop was supremely comfortable, the weather flawless, the gardens and pool most inviting, every
staff member and management a friend. The price was right and the lunch and dinner great with plenty to drink if you like. The village of Berhill lies outside the walls. Very African but also
in ways very up to date with satellite TV. Banks with helpful friendly staff, ATMs, barbers ,grand taxis, eye boggling fruits and vegetables, workshops with fine crafted furniture, lots to see and occupy.


The Riad Hida was Top Trip Advisor hotel in Taroudant,recently overtaken by Dar Zitoune. But they are very different Hida being completely Moroccan and specifically Souss valley, and Dar Zitoune has been described as Californian or Spanish which happens to be in Traoudant and the Moroccan connection somewhat contrived. We know where our heart lies.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Winters_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

Like the first reviewer, I wish I could have stayed (much) longer. Fantastic large tropical gardens and superb large swimming pool. The decor in the dining hall must be seen to be believed. Don't be put off by the approach road - once inside the walls you won't want to leave!

Stayed: October 2007
11  Thank MTLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Riad Hida (or Hotel Palais Riad Hida, to give it its full title) was an absolute gem of a place to stay. It's about 40kms from Taroudannt at Ouled Berhil (often shortened to Berhil). We spent two nights here and were sorry it wasn't longer. Berhil is a shabby looking town and we wondered what we'd let ourselves in for, especially as the signpost directed us up an local, unmade road in the middle of the town, which felt as though it went on forever with no sign of anything other than local houses. In reality we probably drove for about 5 mins up the road. However, once we got there, we couldn't have been more surprised. Riad Hida was the most fantastic oasis; peaceful, quiet and tranquil place to stay. The staff were wonderful, friendly and made us feel very welcome during our stay. We ate at the restaurant both evenings (breakfast was included) and the food was good local fayre. We were surprised to be offered beer and wine at very a reasonable price. Their olive oil is the best we've tasted - we were told it's produced on their own estate.
They were flexible and accommodating enough that we were able to tell them in the afternoon what we would like for dinner that evening and they prepared it for us.
There is a large, modern swimming pool set in amongst the delightful gardens with peacocks roaming around. There are several places to sit and relax, read, play cards etc. We believe the riad was orginally a mansion for a rich man and were initially offered a room in the old mansion but it didn't have air con so we asked to move, which wasn't a problem. In fact nothing was too much trouble.
[--]
Hotel Palais Riad Hida, Ouled Berhil, Taroudannt, Morocco
t/f: [--]

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Smoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank silebile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank eeppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
27.3 mi away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 16 in Taroudant
235 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Hotel Dar Zitoune
#1 of 16 in Taroudant
883 reviews
27 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 16 in Taroudant
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 16 in Taroudant
84 reviews
26.7 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#14 of 16 in Taroudant
291 reviews
30.5 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 16 in Taroudant
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hida

Address: Riad HidaOuled Berhil.Province Taroudant, Taroudant 83300, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Price Range: £57 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Hida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Hida Taroudannt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing