We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens and friendly service”
Review of Hotel Dar Zitoune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Dar Zitoune as the last leg of our tour of Morocco and it turned out to be an ideal spot for relaxing. The gardens were not only beautiful, which they were, but also interesting with exotic fruits and plants and the odd tortoise wandering about.

The Bungalows are comfortable and well-equipped and the pool is inviting and not over-crowded.

Service was friendly and helpful without being over-bearing

Our one slight quibble is that we would have liked a wider choice than three dishes in the dinner menu, especially as the lunch menu was far more expansive. Having said that, however, there was always something we liked so it didn't really matter.

All-in-all an excellent hotel which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter_and_Pat_Bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

It's one of the better hotels I've ever visited in Taroudant , quiet location , good service and friendly people there ! I spent 2 night there and it's was near perfect !
I look forward to get there on my next holidays vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect ... It may only depends on what view do you prefer :) !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel made our expectations and beyond. Truly amazing atmosphere. This is a great place just to relax and wind up. The staff and owner was always welcoming and helpful if we needed tips on places to see around Tarroudant. They also happily answered about marrocan traditions and which plants and fruits to be found around the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thilde82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were very fortunate to stay in several wonderful hotels and riads as we toured around southern Morocco, but this was our absolute favourite. The staff were superb with just the correct balance of friendliness and attentiveness, the setting is wonderful; so lush and green, even when the temperature is 52 degrees! The food was varied and tasty, but still had strong moroccan influences... it was a refreshing change to have choices other than tagine! The accommodation was fabulous; we were very fortunate to stay in the 'clementine suite' which was so spacious, light and luxurious, that I was lost for words when shown around! We stayed for two nights, but I wish it had been longer, I would recommend this to any of my friends or relatives as I know it would suit everyone...I just hope too many people don't read these positive reviews as I want there to be enough space for me to stay again another year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in the Bedouin tent style rooms which were set around a pool used only by the five tented rooms. Staff were excellent as was the food - both breakfast and dinner. The children loved the main pool and the well stocked ice cream freezer at the pool bar. The staff helped us negotiate a caleche trip around the old town which is probably the best way to see Taroudant. Highly recommended - don't hesitate booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gevaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
4833
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Room Tip: Just enjoy a beautiful place, and such friendly staff it would be hard to better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I will assume you are in/going to Morocco because you like the culture, because this hotel is a perfect way to spend your free time from sight seeing. The rooms have a beautiful Moroccan feel, from the deep round bath tub to the decor and large round sperical ceilings. Very clean, as is the whole hotel and grounds.The grounds and pool are beautiful and rich with flowers, trees and ornaments. The bed was really comfortable, and the air con a bliss. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. And (because I am ignorant english gent), all the staff have a basic english and most a good grasp.
The only negative is the choice of food. I am diabetic, (so not toally the fault of the hotel), but there was only a choice of 2 dishes per course. This is where you have to enjoy Moroccan culture. There are no burgers, spag bol, steaks, or anything you would associate with English restaurants. I had the fish dish every night, and it was delicious. But bored of it by the 4th night. There is also a choice of continental breakfast and/or scambled eggs. I did get offered bacon once. I have no idea about value, because I was employed in the local area and had the hotel paid for .... .... there are worse things in life :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engineer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
1.4 mi away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 16 in Taroudant
233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 16 in Taroudant
487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 16 in Taroudant
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#14 of 16 in Taroudant
290 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 16 in Taroudant
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Fatima
Dar Fatima
#6 of 16 in Taroudant
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Zitoune

Address: Boutarialt El Barrania, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Zitoune 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zitoune is located just a few miles from Taroudant. It was created in Berber style using local materials and consists of 14 bungalows and 8 suites, set in 4 acres of landscaped grounds with olive, papaya and citrus trees. The restaurant prepares an excellent choice of Moroccan and European meals including vegetarian options. Amenities: a spa with Hammam, massage, sauna and other beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure...Only half an hour from Agadir airport, Dar Zitoune is ideal for clients seeking peace, calm, comfort and luxury. We made one heated swiming pool as well a jacuzzi. We are so pleased to announce the extension of our hotel of a deluxe Berber village. It's located in the back of the existing garden and composed of 10 tented rooms all equipped with a separate WC and a shower, air-conditioning, TV, satellite wireless, safe and wifi. All the tented room are surrounded by palm trees, roses and olive trees. There is a private heated swimming pool with a Moroccan restaurant. Tented rooms are built using local materials in Berber style to make you feel as if you are living in a traditional Moroccan setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudant
Riad Dar Zitoune Taroudannt
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudannt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing