We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing”
Review of Hotel Dar Zitoune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Monaime and his staff achieve what is very rare these days, a totally relaxing experience for guests with unobtrusive but brilliantly efficient service. We stayed in a bungalow in the hotel's very well tended, and interesting garden. Even though the pool isn't heated, we managed to swim in it in February, and warm up afterwards in the heated jacuzzi. I think the highlight was a delicious breakfast each morning brought to our private terrace. The rooms were clean, everything worked, a dud light bulb was replaced within a few minutes. All in all it was a perfect place for our escape from the cold of a UK February. We shall be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dar Zitoune
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

A very confortable hotel with a wide garden and swimming Pool,near the medina of Taroudant(a
taxi is necessary to go to the city)
NO USE TO HAVE A sUITE , the deluxe room are perfect,and the rate including one dinner may look expensive but the services of the hotel are easily a 4 or 5 stars ones
Restaurant and breakfast are delicious, wine available but not cheap
Only avoid the service of the limousine of the hotel ,except you are 3 or 4 ,you can have the old
Mercedes Taxi easily available for nearly half price
Taroudant is a Gem,only for the connoisseur

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

While on business (4 weeks) this hotel was a great refuge from the hot and sticky work I was involved with in industry.
The food, drink, chalet and everything else was a great relief after a hard days work. As I only had a few opportunities to use the pool during my stay the only comment I can make is that the pool is a little too close to the road (out of sight behind a wall), some - and I stress, some - road noise gets through but there is no junction or hill on the road so it really is just a bit of passing traffic.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All are of Moroccan design and at first seem a little 'dark' but you soon appreciate the coo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTMEXC450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

An excellent family hotel for unwinding. Taroudant is an interesting town, but as we've visited it a few times , we were just happy to chill out! & chilly it was too for the first couple of days!
The Swiss patron & his team were exceedingly helpful & gave us superb service. We had a delightful large rustic suite with a sitting room with open fire which we needed in the evening. We were also given additional heating for the bathroom, as quite understandably there is no central heating! The gardens altho small are full of birdsong, roses & orange & olives trees which all adds to the charm of this riad. A lovely pool, but too cold for January, but the sauna & fitness room was available. A small spa too.
The food was well prepared,local & fresh, sometimes too much! We can recommend the local Meknes wines too!
A perfect spot for some winter R&R

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorset2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We just spent one week at Dar Zitoune with my husband. We needed to relax and rest and we must say that it was the perfect place to stay. From the outside you wouldn't imagine what a wonderful Riad is inside but once you enter the gardens, the rooms (we had a lovely junior Suite), you are instantly happy. The team is very professional and attentive, adorable staff and management. The food is very good and the evening menu changes everyday with a great variety.
We highly recommend Riad Dar Zitoune to anyone looking for a peaceful, high quality and professional hotel in Taroudant. Bravo!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in December. Dar Zitoune is a small hotel with accommodation spread around lovely gardens. Good food, very attentive service and relaxation in a sunny environment by the pool. The owner is Swiss and was likewise very attentive and friendly. Going on 11 Dec we missed the Christmas rush and were one of the only guests for the first few days which was an added bonus. We enjoyed the sauna and hamman as well as a couple of massages. We would recommend the Dar Zitoune as a winter break and may well go back again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This Riad is on the main road leading out of Taroudant and from the outside is not very impressive BUT once you walk into the lobby the feel is completely different. The staff is very accommodating and sat us down in a lovely side room off the main lobby with drinks/tea and cookies to relax before checking in. Our room was a little villa that adjoined our friends' villa with a cozy living room with fireplace separating the rooms. The staff came in both nights we were there to light a fire in the fireplace to take off the chill of the evening. The furnishings in the common areas and the rooms was attractive and appropriate for a Moroccan Riad. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool area one afternoon after shopping in Taroundant in the a.m. It was completely relaxing. The breakfast and dinners at the Riad were wonderful and the wait staff was attentive and friendly. They went the extra mile to place us next to the fireplace in the dining room when they heard me exclaim that I was chilly. The food was delicious and prepared in the gourmet style - they were some of the best meals we enjoyed in Morocco. Our friends and we agreed that we could tolerate another day or two in this wonderful Riad!!! We highly recommend this property, even as a destination. Other people at the Riad had done this and did day trips around the area. What a great idea!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConnecticutGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
1.4 mi away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 16 in Taroudant
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 16 in Taroudant
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 16 in Taroudant
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#13 of 16 in Taroudant
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Fatima
Dar Fatima
#6 of 16 in Taroudant
91 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#4 of 16 in Taroudant
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Zitoune

Address: Boutarialt El Barrania, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range: £79 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Zitoune 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zitoune is located just a few miles from Taroudant. It was created in Berber style using local materials and consists of 14 bungalows and 8 suites, set in 4 acres of landscaped grounds with olive, papaya and citrus trees. The restaurant prepares an excellent choice of Moroccan and European meals including vegetarian options. Amenities: a spa with Hammam, massage, sauna and other beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure...Only half an hour from Agadir airport, Dar Zitoune is ideal for clients seeking peace, calm, comfort and luxury. We made one heated swiming pool as well a jacuzzi. We are so pleased to announce the extension of our hotel of a deluxe Berber village. It's located in the back of the existing garden and composed of 10 tented rooms all equipped with a separate WC and a shower, air-conditioning, TV, satellite wireless, safe and wifi. All the tented room are surrounded by palm trees, roses and olive trees. There is a private heated swimming pool with a Moroccan restaurant. Tented rooms are built using local materials in Berber style to make you feel as if you are living in a traditional Moroccan setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudant
Riad Dar Zitoune Taroudannt
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudannt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing