We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful landscaped gardens”
Review of Hotel Dar Zitoune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Taroudant
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscaped gardens”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a great little place. Outside of town but great gardens and pool area. Food and service was good. The bungalow was well thought out - even had satellite TV. I only had one night but would liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    109
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
172
407
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The service here is truly exceptional. Nothing seems like too much trouble and you really get the feeling that they are there to make your stay perfect. The manager speaks fluent English and is extremely helpful.
The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool area clean and efficiently staffed.
The restaurant is excellent although there is no kids menu.
We had fun searching the grounds for tortoises of which there are a number.
The hotel is tastefully styled.
The rooms are clean and spacious.
I would love to go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Clementine, no.15 and it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunworshipper1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is my favorite hotel in the eastern south of Morocco. Beautiful garden, big swimming pool and a stunning jacuzzi in the middle of the orange trees.
It's very Romantic and intimate with the rooms (bungalows) that are very far from each other with their private terraces where you can enjoy the soft breeze and the garden smells.. I leave my bedroom window open all night, just to listen to the toads

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima Zahra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is the forth year in a row that we have spent our holiday here. So what is our reason for returning each year?
Taroudant is about 50km inland from the international airport at Agadir along a built highway, so it is easy to get to.
The hotel is situated just outside the old walled town which is an interesting place to visit. Set in its own beautiful garden Dar Zitoune is a haven of peace away from the noise and pace of life outside. In June the trees were full of oranges, lemons, and a host of other fruits. Flowers abound throughout the garden, the gardeners working almost unseen. The poolman is up early in the morning getting the pool ready, it is so clean it is a joy to swim in. As an added bonus towels are laid on our sunbeds under our favourite lemon tree.
Meals are very good, a great choice for breakfast, an extensive lunch menu, and for dinner six courses await the guests. We were here 12 nights and some dishes were repeated on the menu but with three choices of main course one always finds something new. The menu is in French so a basic knowledge helps but is not vital as the staff are always eager to help and explain. The restaurant is well run under the eye of "Le Patron" and draws diners from outside as well as guests.
This year Gatwick Airport/EasyJet managed to lose my luggage on the outward flight and during the six days that it took to reach me I was given fantastic support from Mustafa on the front desk. He was making phone calls to airport every day to track down my bag - without his persistence I doubt I would ever have got it back. He advised me the best place to buy emergency clothes and also arranged for the hotel car to take me to the airport to pick up the case when it did arrive. Service over and above what one would normally expect.
The rooms are placed amongst the trees and flowers in such a way to give the feeling of privacy. They are cleaned to a very high standard by the maids who you hardly see but you certainly know that they have been there.
We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_johnson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had the most wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. The grounds were quiet and peaceful with flowers and birds singing all day. I especially loved the option of sleeping in these big elaborate tents that really weren't tents at all but looked that way. The food was phenomenal, period. Truly amazing! If you are looking for a relaxing getaway with a beautiful pool and great food, must stay at the Dar Zitoune!

Room Tip: Loved the tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely hotel, comfortable, easy walk to Medina, very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely meals - some 6 courses! Helps if you know some French, but some of staff have good tourist English. Excursions available. We were only there 3 days, so visited the Medina one day and had a half day trip to Tihoute (lovely 7 villages round an oasis). Led round by local villager on (optional) Berber taxis (donkeys). Rest of the time relaxed by the large pool + separate jacuzzi pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I am just came back from a nice stay in Dar zitoune, it's been my first time and of course I will come again in the near future. Continental breakfast is served in the main terraces or by the pool, dinner is a blend of Moroccan and European food. I recommend highly this hotel for clients seeking peace and conform. I wish I could stay longer . Staff are fabulous and friendly and the Swiss owner is charming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
1.6 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 16 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dar Fatima
Dar Fatima
#6 of 16 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 16 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#12 of 16 in Taroudant
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Zitoune

Property: Hotel Dar Zitoune
Address: Boutarialt El Barrania, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Family Hotel in Taroudant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Zitoune 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zitoune is located just a few miles from Taroudant. It was created in Berber style using local materials and consists of 14 bungalows and 8 suites, set in 4 acres of landscaped grounds with olive, papaya and citrus trees. The restaurant prepares an excellent choice of Moroccan and European meals including vegetarian options. Amenities: a spa with Hammam, massage, sauna and other beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure...Only half an hour from Agadir airport, Dar Zitoune is ideal for clients seeking peace, calm, comfort and luxury. We made one heated swiming pool as well a jacuzzi. We are so pleased to announce the extension of our hotel of a deluxe Berber village. It's located in the back of the existing garden and composed of 10 tented rooms all equipped with a separate WC and a shower, air-conditioning, TV, satellite wireless, safe and wifi. All the tented room are surrounded by palm trees, roses and olive trees. There is a private swimming pool with a Moroccan restaurant. Tented rooms are built using local materials in Berber style to make you feel as if you are living in a traditional Moroccan setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudant
Riad Dar Zitoune Taroudannt
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudannt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing