We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was looking for the perfect place to spend a special day and a friend suggested The Sugar Cane Hotel. I was not disappointed. The spa and hotel staff are very welcoming and friendly. Roy the bartender provided excellent service and the food was great.

As for the room, it was very spacious and cozy. My only dissappointment was that I was unable to use the pool because of the rain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 246MariaW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear 246MarieW88, we are all elated that you choose Sugar Cane Club to spend some much needed time to relax and getaway! Our awarding winning Spa continues to deliver service and treatments with amazing results. Our Staffs, food, service & facilities continues to be rated consistently highly with locals and Visitors alike. Many thanks again and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to SCC!
Best......Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a great time at the Sugar Cane Club. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was great, very tasty and high quality even though we were all inclusive. I would definitely recommend the catch of the day with rice. The breakfasts were excellent -always the sign of a good hotel l think. The hotel is not right by the beach but we got the shuttle easy enough to the sister hotel The Almond for a change of scene, have lunch and go to the beach. We might have walked but it was hot and the shuttle bus was convenient enough, it also went to the nearest town Speightstown. The wifi was erratic at times and would not work at all in our bedroom. We thoroughly enjoyed spending part of out honeymoon here and my husband has already said he would love to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erin_Mc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Erin_Mc8, Thank you for your brief and kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team are driven by results which continue to be their motivator. We appreciate your positive feedback about SCC where excellence is a standard! I have discussed the issue you were having with the WI FI with our I.T department which they are currently looking into it.
We look forward to see you back soon to enjoy hospitality!
Best regards
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked the holiday for myself and partner and my parents so a mixed age group and we all had a brilliant holiday. Since we have returned we have all bee searching the net to find a way to get back next year!

When we arrived we did wonder what we had done, as the hotel doesn't have the commercial look and feel, that is the charm of the place. The staff were fantastic, Roy, Neil, Sade, Lavell, to name just 4 of the fantastic team that Sugar Cane has.

The first night we had a little difficulty with the plumbing, we were immediately moved to another room, which was equally as lovely as the first. We were in garden view rooms, which meant we had the opportunity to watch the monkeys play in the wooded area behind. My parents were moved to a room closer to the restaurant as my Mum has some walking difficuties, which made their stay a little easier. The rooms were spacious and had everything you could want. There was no minibar, but actually we didn't need one. We bought bottles of soft drink in case and kept them in the fridge and we ended up giving them away at the airport.

Food & Drink:
The food was brilliant, it’s not just burgers and chips like some AI packages, we had lovely steaks, chicken, stew the list goes on. If you are fussy, you might find you end up repeating some meals, but if you asked, I'm sure David (the chef) would arrange for something you'd like.
From a drink point of view, we were never without one. If your glass was empty it would be refilled. If there was a particular cocktail you would like to try, Neil on the pool bar would make it for you.

Service:
Could not fault the service. Peter has a very good ethos in employing school leavers and providing training. It was like staying with family I have to say. We didn't feel at any point that the staff were working for tips (I'm sure they are appreciated though), they all seems to enjoy their jobs and it showed. It was nice to have conversations with the staff about their lives and how they live rather than stuffy service you get in some highly rated establishments.

Trips:
Glass bottom boat - this was fantastic. General knew where to find turtles for people to swim with, as well as providing informative commentary about the area.
Gully Walk - Didn't do this but the gardener, Lavelle was great. Other people said this was well worth the hour to do.
Massage/Spa - Perfect. there is a relaxation station for people to sit and read, the services were great. 3 of us had the Green Monkey massage and my mother had a pedicure.

Overall - It’s not hard to see why a large proportion of the guests we met had visited before. Barbados is a beautiful place and I'm glad we chose to stay at Sugar Cane. If we visit again (which I'm sure we will) we will definitely stay at Sugar cane. A huge thank you for a great holiday.

Only 1 tip, make sure you are prepared for sand fly and mosquitoes. Whilst there aren't lots of them, it is annoying if you get bitten. We were to to buy Cotswold Sport Expedition plus insect repellent by someone who hadn't been bitten.

Room Tip: Any Room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KerryW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you KerryW1983 for your magnificent review of your latest visit to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa! Our team without doubt is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review; Roy, Neil, Sade, Leval and David are all incredible. Barbados is still the best place in the Caribbean to enjoy fantastic food at some amazing restaurants. Our offerings at SCC give good reason never to leave as our chef and his team continue to incorporate as many local ingredience as possible to create delectable dishes! We have much in store in the upcoming Months.
We do look forward to see again very soon!
Best regards..... Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is our eighth visit to the SCC and this is for a very good reason. This is simply an honest family run hotel complex staffed by caring people many of whom have been here years and go out of their way to make your stay special. The previous review is incorrect (and a little weird!) The tap water in Barbados is the best drinking water about - all the cruise ships fill up on it! You are asked to pay for bottled water since there is no need to drink it! The beach is 5 minutes away by free shuttle. There is an excellent spa on site as well as gym facilities and squash court. Grounds are immaculately maintained and you can relax in this beautiful retreat. Great choice of food available all day. Thanks again for a lovely holiday and we will be back soon!!

Room Tip: Sea view is limited but better in the upper rooms. All the views are however good, sea or not. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you Colbrown for another of your wonderful reviews on SCC! What else can I say! You have briefly explained to Tripadvisor readers all that SCC has to offer need I say any more! Many thanks and look forward to see you at SCC for your 9th visit!
Best regards
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location is not so good, isolated, far from the sea, the room is clean but old fashion, all inclusive but not all, you pay for tap water in the room, food is ok but limited choice, and if you ask a second peace of something the staf is looking strange at you. It is great to slep at 7 pm.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Catalina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor Catalina!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 3.5 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Considered the islands Platinum West Coast. The hotel is not a beach Hotel, but located within 10 minutes walk or 3 minutes by the complimentary shuttle. Our unique location sets us apart from the others! Our staffs are truly a gem as we all share the same goal and that is total guests satisfaction. Thank you and we do look forward to see you again at SCC!
Best regards
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Can't really add much more to the previous reviews in terms of staff friendliness, efficiency, cleanliness and quality of both food, drink and accommodation.This is not for the mass holiday market in terms of lots going on day and night and is instead intimate, special and is driven by a very visible manager Peter Charles who at times seemd to do pretty much any job that he would expect his staff to perform for the guests to ensure every whim is catered for. If you want to completely chill out for a week or two this is the place to come where excellence is a standard for others to follow.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you paul C for your brief and kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our team are driven by results which continue to be their motivator. We appreciate your positive feedback about SCC where excellence is a standard!
We look forward to see you back soon to enjoy hospitality at its best!
kind regards
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Sugar Cane Club. Again they did not disappoint. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome. Reception staff provided us with a face cloth to freshen up with and was then given a Rum punch. Another member of staff took our cases to our room for us. When we arrived in the room, on the table was a bottle of bubbly and some local sweets. Thank you. Later the same evening was the Managers Rum Punch Party. When we arrived Peter Charles was there welcoming his guests, He even remembered who we were and that we had been before. To me, that says a lot. We went to bed fairly early that night as we were still tired from the travel. The following morning we got up at about 06.00am. As we went out on to our patio area we could see the green monkeys playing and chasing each other and taking the Mangos from the trees. Comical to watch. We had a relaxing day by the pool that day. The hard part of the day was deciding wether to have the delicious home made soup the catch of the day or the Chefs special, along with all the other tempting choices on the menu. We met up with our rep the same day, Rosalyn, she was great, not pushy and advised us about a couple of trips that we have not been to before. We went to St Nicholas Abbey, very informative and the rum was very good to. We bought a bottle of Rum to bring home with us. We were told that we can take the bottle back when we have finished it and they will refill for half the price. We also went to the Wildlife reserve, fantastic. After our wonderful day out, it was back to the Sugar Cane Club for a fantastic Al a Carte menu. David the chef did not disappoint with his wonderful dishes, and Yvette the chef cooked my eggs perfectly for my breakfast. As it was our first anniversary on June 22 we booked a Catamaran tour. R and R Cruising was the perfect day out. They only have a maximum of 12 people on board so it is very personal. The food they served was outstanding and I would highly recommend. Rodney who is the main gardener was on vacation for some of the time that we were there, but Lavel did not disappoint. He was very informative and gave me some good tips for some of my plants at home. Thank you Lavel. The Sugar Cane Club now has a sister hotel called The Almond, we were able to use all of their facilities and a shuttle bus was provided for the 5 min drive down the road. It is also a nice hotel as it is on the beach front, but the Sugar Cane is still my favourite by far. Thank you Sugar Cane Club, Peter Charles and Henderson for another wonderful trip. Your staff are a credit to you. See you again next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room102 301 and 304. They were all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank buffetco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Many thanks Buffetco! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the World.
We love hearing that Staffs continue to exceed expectations on every level. Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take time from their busy schedule to share their compliments. The team is super happy as this is your third visit to our home and it get better with each visit just as fine Wine get better with age!
Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you for your fourth to SCC!
Bets regards
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
14 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
362 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
12.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,810 reviews
14.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range: £116 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing