We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillin' at the Sugar Cane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2009

First of all I am sad to see a couple of reviews recently that are not favourable about this hotel, they were staying at the same time as us so they either have very different ideas of a good hotel or they are being economical with the truth.

I was just going to put "BOOK IT !" as my review but feel I should elaborate as I wouldn't want anyone to be put off going to stay with Rod and his excellent staff in this beautiful, boutique hotel.

This is without doubt the best holiday we have had and I have travelled to many parts of the globe. My husband and I aged 41 and 33 chose the Sugar Cane based on the good reviews on this site and also the fact it had recently been refurbished, as alot of the other hotels in Barbados were reviewed as slightly tatty.

We were greeted at the airport in Barbados by Virgin staff with a bottle of water and welcome pack and we were then shown to our transfer van that took us to our hotel (about 45 mins). On arrival a very friendly Michelle welcomed us with rum punch and answered any questions. We were then shown to our room which was amazing, as described in other reviews - lounge with flat screen tv, fully equipped kitchen, spacious bedroom and bathroom with a shower that could knock you over with it's force ! They had also provided after sun lotion, body lotion etc alongside your usual shower gel and shampoos so you sould just take your toothbrush rather than a whole wash bag ! The rooms are spotless and are cleaned every day with towels ( they provide beach/pool ones aswell) changed every other day.

The setting for the hotel is stunning, it is set in beautiful, lush, landscaped gardens with a lovely pool area and as there is a forest down to the coastline plenty of wild life. You have to be up early to catch the green mokeys scampering about and the tree frogs and humming birds were often popping by our balcony which was lovely. A couple of days we had the pool to ourselves as other guests were on trips and at the beach ! You could swim lengths of the pool to keep fit and we used the gym most mornings which was well equipped. As we had booked through Virgin the first Spa treatment was free and the spa was very good and we ended up having extra treatments as they were so relaxing !

The food in the restaurant was superb and all from an a la carte menu with plenty of variety so you could sample local dishes aswell as steaks, seafood etc. The staff were fantastic, really friendly especially Sasha in the restaurant and there was certainly no wait for food as previous reviews have stated. And of course I must make a special mention to Grantley, Roy and Ryan who served at the bar. This is Barbados and you are on holiday so if the drinks service was a litlle relaxed there was more time to chat to these lovely people who made us feel very welcome. They even took us out to their local bar in Speightstown one night ! Rod please pass our best wishes and huge thanks to Roy and Grantley - we were so busy saying our good byes to the other guests that we missed saying goodbye to these wonderful chaps and felt awful when we realised we hadn't said goodbye and thank you to them both personally - hope they are enjoying the cricket !

The charm of this hotel made us feel that we were staying in a family villa, not a hotel. Rod is cerytainly not "fake" and took time to chat to us all individually and make sure that we were enjoying our stay, the Caribbean bar b q and drinks night was a good chance to chat with other guests. To be honest the atmosphere created by the bar/restaurant layout meant that we got to chat with other guests at meal times and we met some wonderful people and a had a lot of laughs. However, you could quite easily enjoy your own company if you didn't wish to mingle.

The shuttle bus runs 4 times a day to Speightstown and the beach and if you plan a day at the beach then the hotel provide sandwiches. General works at the house there to keep you topped up with drinks and also takes you out to a great snorkelling spot on the free glass bottom boat on a Friday. We swam with turtles and hundreds of fish. The beach is stunning and hardly anyone on it - just a few local kids splashing about. If you want to go round the Island the reggae (yellow) buses are good fun and only 1,50 to go anywhere.

We hired a car for one day to see the whole Island and enjoyed the following:

Oistins fish fry on a Friday night
Harrison Caves
Plantation House
Drive down the rugged east coast (Bathsheba)
Naniki restaurant in the hills
Fishermans pub on a Sunday night ( I think it was sunday, check with Grantley !)
Bridgetown shopping and waterside cafe for a drink

All in all this was a wonderful holiday made more special by the great acommodation and friendly staff, we would not hesitate to recommend this to friends and family and will be back one day soon.

If you are looking a for a big, faceless hotel with constant activity, being elbowed at the buffet and karaoke this is not for you !

If you want peace, tranquility and lots of laughs BOOK IT !

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Pippa/David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2009

The Sugar Cane Club is a small and friendly family run hotel located a couple of miles away from the west coast of Barbados. It is perfect if you want a peaceful and restful time. The rooms are newly renovated, with a separate lounge, bedroom, kitchen and large balcony overlooking tropical gardens. The pool area is not large but clean and pleasant, the hotel also lease a house on beautiful Gibbs Beach and operate a shuttle bus service there during the day. Drinks, sun beds, parasols etc. are all provided and there is a free glass bottom boat trip once a week which is great fun. The hotel spa is modern and well run and there is also a shop, art gallery, a squash court, shop and a gym with all the latest equipment.
When we arrived breakfast was served as a buffet, lunch and dinner were a la carte, but after 10 days breakfast was changed to full waiter service. The meals were first class - equal to restaurant standard. The bar and dining room are quite small and it is easy to chat and meet with other guests. During our stay we were fortunate to meet a great bunch of people, which helped to make our holiday even more enjoyable. We found all the staff to be helpful and polite. OK, not every thing ran like clockwork all the time, but a friendly word was all it took to resolve any problem that occurred.
After reading the Trip Advisor reports from guests who stayed over Xmas/New Year we were a little worried about what to expect and contacted Virgin to register our concerns, we even considered switching to a different hotel. Thank goodness we didn’t ! We had a fabulous time. We will certainly return in the future and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone who is looking for a laid back and relaxing break.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Bishamptontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful experience at the Sugar Cane Club in Maynard, St. Peter's Barbados.

This newly renovated hotel is an absolute treasure! The renovations have elevated this hotel to a new standard. The staff are extremely customer service oriented, ensuring that your stay is enjoyable.

The view from this location is spectacular . . the daily shuttle into the nearby town and to the private Hotel beach is a wonderful feature.

This hotel is the perfect place for a quiet, relaxing vacation . . .a complete change from the large resorts that we have previously stayed in.

We highly recommend this hotel, and hope that you will have as enjoyable a vacation as we did!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Jay046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I stayed at Sugar Cane Club mainly on a business trip but some how it felt like I was on holiday. The hotel is superb and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, also well equipped for a late night 'cup of tea'.

I enjoyed the food at the restaurant thoroughly and my 'compliments goes out to the Chef', who made us feel at home.

I am seriously thinking of returning to Sugar CaneClub very soon and I hope some of you would take the opportunity to experience what I would describe as "A vacation to remember".

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Zwinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

You may have read some bad reviews about this hotel from before last year . FORGET them . My wife and i stayed here the end of September 2008 not knowing what to expect from some of the reviews . We were not disapointed the hotel has been completly referbished . The hotel lies at the top of the island and is not on the beach . It has shuttle bus which takes you there . The hotels set in lovley gardens surounded by forest . I advise you hire a car if you want to get out and about . But if you want a holidy to just chill just stay put . The staff are great . Roddy the manager and owner bends over backwards to help you and advise you on local attractions some of which you are not far away from . All rooms are big & have there own fully equipt kitchin theres a shop on site also a super market in the town near by . If you are a scuba diver like me Reefs &Reckers dive shop is 5min Drve away and and i would recommend them . If your thinking of somewhere to go this year go here you wont be disapointed .

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Gaza42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We choose this hotel as we had previously stayed at Sandridge (now closed) and had visited the hotel while it was being renovated in 2007/08.
The hotel is situated on a ridge with views over woods at back and front of hotel; the sea can be seen from the upper floors but the views are limited. This said the scenery is beautiful, as are the gardens of the hotel. The hotel is very tranquil with only a few villas close to the hotel.
The beach and local town are 5-10 minutes away by minibus (free service every 2 hours operated by hotel).
The majority of the accommodation is in suites - bedroom, bathroom, lounge, kitchenette and balcony/patio. The suites are well finished with the bedrooms being air-conditioned. The suites were serviced very efficiently every day.
There is a good-sized swimming pool which varies from 3 foot to 5 foot 6 inches in depth. The "second" pool is just a 2 foot deep annex to the main pool, which doesn't appear to be used as this is an adults-only hotel.
There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and spread throughout the gardens.
The restaurant and bar are situated on the first floor of the main building and benefit from a breeze that blows through the open sides of the hotel.
There is a lounge on the ground floor with changing and toilet facilities as well as a computer (with internet connection), a piano and a library of books and games. This has air-conditioning but this was turned off on most days.
There is a Spa where we had a lovely massage and there is a gym and a squash court (for some reason we didn't use!).
The hotel is generally well run with the exception of the restaurant and bars.
Several other reviews have catalogued the woes of the restaurant which were caused by a lack of staff. At one stage there were only two working in the kitchens trying to provide food for around 30 guests. With only two waitresses and one bar person, it was inevitable that service was extremely slow and disorganised.
This was a shame, as the food served a la carte for breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good. The lack of management in the restaurant was also evident from various items on the menus being out of stock for days at a time.
Because of the problems, the management withdrew the a la carte menus for breakfast and lunch, substituting buffet style meals. However, the hotel was not equipped to provide buffet style meals as the cold food was neither refrigerated nor covered properly; the flies fed as well as the guests! A variety of hot dishes was missing from the buffet and was not kept hot.
The same lack of staff was seen in the bar where only one barman was the norm. As regard the pool bar, this was never opened during our first week and thereafter only occasionally.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel but were disappointed that the problems with the restaurant and bar stopped it being a brilliant one.

We would love to return to the hotel, but only if the understaffing in the restaurant and bar is remedied.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank BobHilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Having spent more than 2 weeks at the Sugar Cane, we were very disappointed that it wasn't the same standards and service that the management and staff gave at Sandridge, which has sadly closed at the end of last year.

Where should I start? Upon ordering off of the menu for breakfast, croissants, we were given after a 20 minute wait, the stale croissants which you could not even break in two arrived. Upon complaining to the waitress she took these back to the kitchen and confirmed that these croissants were infact 4 days old!

In addition, both the lunch and dinner a la carte menu could not be maintained, through both choice and especially service, as it took more than two hours to enjoy a meal. Upon arrival at the restaurant dinner was booked for 7.30pm and at 10.00pm, we were still waiting to order dessert which we gave up on. Breakfast and lunch after complaints to the manager and virgin were changed to buffet style which was cold and had flies upon the bread, muffins, cheese and ham, although i noticed that the person who didn't have a problem with waiting two hours for lunch didn't waste any time in getting to the buffet asap.

Having visited Barbados on many occasions over many years, the so called service was a disappointment and as for the comment "if you want fast food, go to MacDonalds", this was obviously not from a well-seasoned traveller to Barbados who is familiar with both service and standards of Sandridge.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BringBackSandridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,093 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
14.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
12.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range: £114 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing