We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation, relaxation, relaxation...!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation, relaxation, relaxation...!”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The Sugar Cane Club is a very special hotel tucked away in a secluded location in the north west of the island. We had an amazing holiday there and highly recommend its fantastic combination of intimate surroundings, modern facilities and a personal, friendly approach by all the staff.
We stayed for 14 nights in July and, despite knowing it was effectively the low season, were surprised to find ourselves being one of only three couples in the hotel. This is an adults only property so we expected it to be quiet - but not this quiet! Global recession and the dreaded credit crunch (which sounds like a breakfast cereal for bankers) have hit the tourist trade hard in Barbados and according to Suzanne, our excellent Virgin rep, occupancy rates across the island were running at the 20% mark. This took a couple of days to get used to, and became nothing short of surreal when the other two couples flew home and left us with the run of the hotel. For around four days, it felt like our own private villa: a personal barman (the unparalleled Roy and his almost psychic ability to know when and what you want to drink); a personal, well-equipped gym that I used everyday, maybe to offset all the booze Roy was bringing me; and our own a la carte, on demand kitchen. And what a kitchen... but more about this later!
Now, this from a certain point of view might not sound that great. And to be honest, at first, we were a bit perturbed. However, we'd brought plenty of books, the free wi-fi meant we could write Facebook status updates like "I've got my own private pool!", and the staff went out of their way (literally - they'll drive you most places in their little Suzuki people carriers) to ensure we were kept busy. We got used to it. And answer me this - at what other hotel would the manager, the redoubtable Roddy, an enthusiastic, energetic twenty-something from Bajan aristocracy, ensure he, his fiancee and his cousin, Vaughan (a Trinidadian IT geek), have dinner with you, not because they felt they had to, but because they wanted to? Roddy, by the way, is a wonder. If he's not setting out chairs for a wedding ceremony or straightening pool furniture or serving behind the bar or generally being an all round decent guy he's holding his weekly Manager's Cocktail Party, an ideal opportunity to meet other guests - and get drunk! No, being on our own for a while suited us just fine. And when others arrived, which many did, they came with tales of woe and despair from some of the less luxurious establishments they'd experienced, and were instantly bowled over by the Sugar Cane.
The food at the Sugar Cane is outstanding. We've been to quite a few all-inclusive hotels and most of them rely on the buffet for breakfast and lunch. But at the Sugar Cane every meal is a la carte. The breakfast menu ranges from a good selection of cereals and pastries through an essential 'fruit energiser' (a fresh fruit smoothy) to English, American and Bajan breakfasts. All of them delicious. At lunch, things get better. There is always a freshly made soup to try as well as a catch of the day (best to ask for it black) and a special (fresh lasagne, beef stew, chicken chow mein). Plus there is an amazing Club Sandwich, a fantastic Philli Cheese Steak and a variety of mountainous salads. At dinner, by which time I promise you will be hungry, the menu changes weekly and includes fish, beef, lamb, duck and a vegetarian option, all freshly cooked and prepared. Only desserts are a let down. As other reviewers have said, service is slow, but you really do get used to this after a couple of days as you wind down into the pace of life on Barbados.
Our room was excellent, well-equipped and comfortable. It was more like a self-catering apartment than a hotel room with bedroom, dressing room, en suite, living room, kitchen and balcony. The bathroom comes fully stocked with soap, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser, and after sun - all are adequate, but I would recommend you take your own shampoo and conditioner. The kitchen has a full size fridge, cooker, microwave and full tea and coffee making facilities. The fridge is a perfect place to keep a stock of Banks beer (available from the bar as part of the A/I) for your post sun bathing cool down on the balcony looking out towards the sea.
Being 15 minutes drive from the hotel's private beach house didn't bother me at all; I hate the beach with all that sand getting in everything. But there is a daily shuttle to the beach and you'll find the beach house, while a bit basic, adequately equipped with sun loungers, umbrellas and a full bar, as well as permanent staff member, The General, a Bajan sea dog anywhere between 30 and 75. On a Friday, you can request a place on the The General's glass bottomed boat trip, a two hour sojourn up the west coast where you will get to see some amazing coral, fish and turtles. Swimming and snorkelling are also available - just ask.
We travelled with Virgin and decided to sign up to a couple of their trips. The first, the Jeep Safari, is a worthwhile tour of some stunning Bajan scenery and coastline, including Bathsheba, with an informative and friendly driver. The second trip we took was to Oistins on a Friday night for the local Fish-Fry, a unique blend of disco, barbeque, dominoes and ballroom dancing. The event itself is excellent if you find yourself a picnic bench to park on and people watch for a couple of hours while downing copious bottles of Banks beer. But, the Virgin tour itself, at 100 BJD each was a bit pointless, especially since we had to leave at 10.45 just when things were warming up. Plus, setting off from the Sugar Cane meant we were the first pick up at 5.30pm and didn't arrive at Oistins until 7.45. The only advantage to this was that we got to see how rotten a lot of the other hotels were as we picked up from dives like The Escape in St Lawrence Gap. A better option would have been paying the $1.50 each on the bus down the coast and grabbing a taxi back - at a time when we wanted to leave. The Virgin price did include a meal and a drink, but these were local prices and as such quite cheap - $25 for grilled fish and rice and $3 for a Banks. You'd be better making your own way there.
There are only a small number of hotels we've been to in the world where we said we would definitely return: The Club Hotel in St Helier, Jersey; The Paradisus Rio De Oro in Cuba; and the Rixos Bodrum in Turkey. And now the Sugar Cane has been added to that list. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wickleden-Wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    196
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
94
898
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
walesUNITED KINGDOM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We found this hotel very friendly. The cleanliness second to none,Food ,staff,rooms,service,pool and the ambiance all of a high standard.We had no complaints and would return to this hotel.Would we recommend this hotel?yes !!!!yes!!Maldwyn and Andrea from wales

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank symons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

After several excellent holidays in Barbados we were lothe to try something different, but for a special anniversary we decided to try the Sugar Cane Club as reviews seemed favourable.
We couldn't have chosen better.
Stylish surroundings, first class food, staff who are prepared to go the extra mile and an excellent spa as well.
A quiet retreat, a little off the beaten track but perfect for a romantic holiday.
Most days found us taking advantage of the beach house facility, well managed by "The General", who went out of his way to provide us with everything we needed.
We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at 'The Sugar Cane club' and what a complete and utter joy it was.
Everything at this hotel is of an extremely high standard from the level of facilities and cleanliness to the friendliness and service of all its staff.
All the appartments are extremely spacious and well equipped and overlook the beautiful gardens, occasionally visited by the Green monkeys and a haven for birdlife.
Rod, the general manager is a very friendly,hospitable guy who makes a point of introducing himself to each of his guests individually and hosts a weekly managers cocktail party either on the beach or by the pool.
Don't be put off by the fact that this is not a beachside hotel, a complimentary shuttle bus will take you down there and bring you back. The hotel has its own beach house loked after by 'The General' who will provide you with drinks, sun loungers and umbrellas, kayaks, snorkelling gear etc. There is also a weekly glass bottom boat trip,which is a must.
The hotels' hilltop location makes it pleasantly breezy in the evenings and also extremely quiet and peaceful.
The food in the restaurant never failed to impress, always imagineatively presented and perfectly cooked and being al a carte, made a refreshing change from the mass buffets of larger hotels we have stayed at.
There is also an extremely large, 2 bedroomed penthouse that you will not find mentioned on the hotels' website or in the travel brochures. We upgraded to it for the last 4 nights of our stay. It is very luxurious and well equipped, easily of a 5 star standard and made a perfect end to what was probably one of our best ever holidays.

If you are looking for a peaceful, adult only holiday destination with high standards of service and accomodation, The sugar Cane Club will not disapoint.
GO THERE NOW before eveybody else finds out about it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingchippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed at the Sugar Cane Club last October. I booked the hotel again for this October the week we got back to the UK. Enough said?? This was the holiday that we desperately needed - total chill out, no kids, peace and quiet, superb service... The staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble (a management ethos!), and although the service from the kitchen was a little slow at times, we weren't concerned about it - we were on holiday, and there was no real rush. We used the spa on a couple of occasions, and found it to be top notch. Rooms were clean and well equipped. Staff were a credit to the owners. The owners and management were charming and did all they could to make our stay an enjoyable and memorable one. Can't tell you how much we are both looking forward to being there again at the end of October! Ian & Jane

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank computerbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Went with Virgin Holidays, and originally booked into Escape & Spa Hotel, which was a disaster. Horrible location on a noisy road, dilipidated hotel in need of renovation and repairs, good beach setting, but rooms average and food appalling.

Two days later after complaining or our Rep we were moved to the Sugar Can Club & Resort - which was absolute paradise - exactly what we thought we were coming to when we booked the Escape!

This is a small intimate hotel, where the staff are so friendly you feel like a member of the family. The room are spacious, well equiped, clean and well tended. The food was outstanding, we had planned to eat at some of the famous restaurants on the island, but decided that we would not get better at any of them.

The setting, we had the garden rooms, with balconies leading out into the forest were breathtaking. There is nothing quite like sitting there watching the wild monkies watch you, eat and take care of their babies!

The spa was stunning, and the treatments exquisite better than we've had anywhere in the UK. We would highly recommend the couples massaged, we thought we had died and gone to heaven and floated out of the spa centre.

If I could only have one holiday this would be it, beautiful setting, fantastic hotel, outstanding food, the friendliest people I have ever met - just brilliant!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betty-1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This was our first time in Barbados and staying at the Sugar Cane Club made it a fantastic experience. A very well presented hotel set in scenic surroundings. it is a little bit remote but the hotel provides a good shuttle service to the beach and local town. The rooms and facilities are excellent and the only crititism was the sometimes slow service from the kitchen.this is mitigated by the very friendly restuarant and bar staff. in fact the overall high level of customer service was a real plus.Food always good and well presented.

A definate on the go again list

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
319 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,065 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,384 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing