We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite hard to decide how many out of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Little Good Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quite hard to decide how many out of 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

But settled for four out of five in the end. Why? Well call me picky but 5/5 implies pretty much perfection and this had a few things that made me unable to give it 5. Don't get me wrong there is a huge amount to like about this place and most of the staff are fab. Here is the good stuff:-

Quiet area but close enough to the 'posh' restaurants that a short drive or taxi will only take 15/20 mins. 'Tides' is the best restaurant.
Good staff (apart from the grumpy old guy behind the bar) and excellent help from Graham and Trevor in the office who are quite brilliant.
Fishpot restaurant is very good - probably best for lunch where it seems to attract a great trade. Need to find somewhere else to go for dinners as the menu eventually gets repetitive.
You can virtually step out of the restaurant into the warm, safe sea. Plenty of colourful fish to be see when snorkelling on the reef.
Rooms cleaned and looked after very well
Gym small but enough in there for a holiday.

Needs attention:-
Rooms not as big as they appear on the website
Needs some refurbishment in places - e.g leaky shower
Cat's tend to use the gardens outside our terrace for a toilet
Messy round the cabanas on the beach
Pools need an update - look very tired, missing tiles etc
Spa is a waste of space, one room and a drippy receptionist
No bar and you have to get your own drinks and take to the pools

You need to remember that this is not a hotel which can be both a good and bad thing - more freedom to do what you want but some services not available (e.g. Internet only works in the office)

Overall it is very good but we felt that the investment is going into the sister hotel (Atlantis) on the East Coast and LGH was probably suffering slightly.

Room Tip: The single bedroom suites which we were in were between the 2 and 3 bedroom suites and we were not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeffBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    49
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
133
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed above the restaurant for six days, it was the best time, weather, the water couldn't have been more perfect for swimming (flat) and the staff was nice. The fish market was just down the street where we could walk to for groceries for dinner. Our only complaint we had about our rooms, was the kitchen staff stayed after closing and did some partying every night... then the breakfast staff came early and made a lot of noise. Not the rooms if your looking to sleep in.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank outadelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

A dream come true! We stayed here after 5 nights in rugged Bathsheba and it was wonderful! Our villa was spotless and so comfortable! The staff was great and gave us perfect directions for everywhere we wanted to go. You def want to have a car while you are here. We also got to the use the hotels snorkle equipment and 2 person kayak. We took the kayak out and swam with the sea turtles. We also sat at the beach each day and watched the sunset! Great location!
The beach here is kinda small and there are a lot of rocks in the water so be warned. They also have 2 pools and a great spa. Would love to vacation here again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed in from December 3-10 in a 2-bedroom/2 bath villa. We were a party of 4 adults and two children aged 4 and 1.

The room itself was very nice and comfortable. It was very clean and new with a nice kitchen and newer appliances. The bedrooms were nice and washrooms were large and nicely laid out. Also lots of cupboard/hanging space for clothes. There was also a large sitting area with a satellite TV but our favourite spot was the outdoor covered veranda where we spent most of our time given the beautiful weather. Our room was also right next to the small pool which was perfect as it was not busy and almost felt like we had our own private pool.

The fact that our room was closest to the road was not an issue at all. It is true that vehicles pass on that road from time to time but we got used to it very fast and it did not disturb us from sleep even once. In fact we always kept our veranda door open to allow for air circulation and did not even notice the road noise.

A few points that distinguished Little Good Harbour:

- Our airline lost one of our bags and Graham was kind enough to keep checking with the airline to ensure it arrived and was delivered to us
- As previously mentioned, Graham was great during our entire stay, he had very good suggestions for beaches, shopping and dining
- Little Good Habour knew we were travelling with kids and had a pack and play set up for us along with some toys and blocks which were a big hit
- We had breakfast at the Fish Pot every morning which was very good. We would have liked a little more variety in the menu on a day to day basis but we did ask for some variation and they were able to accommodate us with no complaints. The dinner we had at fish pot was excellent, great food, service and atmosphere. Being right next to the ocean while dining is great
- The beach is very nice with soft sand and great water temperature. It was a little rocky in places but our kids did have water shoes so it was not an issue for them. If you plan on doing much swimming you may want to consider buying some water shoes
- We rented a car for our week in Barbados to do some exploring. On Grahams recommendation we did visit St. Nicholas Abbey and had a great afternoon on the plantation and purchased some great rum. We also visited crane beach, Bridgetown, Oistins fish fry, Mullens Beach and Cin Cin. They were all great places to visit

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ridgesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Little Good Harbour is a wonderful find! We had the pleasure of staying here for six nights in a two bedroom garden suite at the beginning of December. The chattel style room was decorated handsomely and came complete with a large porch, Direct TV, a stove, fridge and microwave. All around the property, the lush surroundings were beautifully landscaped. My kids loved the little pool while my husband and I enjoyed the larger pool. We also enjoyed our daily breakfasts at the Fish Pot. The setting is absolutely stunning and the food is delicious.

We found the staff to be very welcoming, with the minor exception of some of the wait staff. The hotel manager, Graham, was one of the highlights of our stay. He epitomizes exemplary service. Our only complaint was the noise from the road. If you stay in a one bedroom or three bedroom room, the noise is probably a non-issue. But, since we retired to our room early every night for our kids' sake, it would have been nice for the windows to be thicker.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcapuani01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moondance2010, Owner at Little Good Harbour, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write the review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we have always intended Little Good Harbour to be a family friendly place to stay -
We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

After reading all the great reviews on tripadvisor we were really looking forward to our 1 week stay in the suite at Little Good Harbour. We were really disappointed! We were eaten alive by mosquitos and sand flies. Between the 2 of us we had over 100 bites. The accommodation is really nice and well fitted out and very comfortable but you had to keep all the doors and windows closed and the AC on full blast (very noisey) to try to keep out the insects, we were obviously not successful. We made a big mistake by taking out a meal plan to eat at the Fish Pot every night. The food was mainly good but not exceptional as others have said but the biggest fault was that the menu was the very same every night for 7 nights and not much choice. The restaurant has a fantastic setting, right on the beach and the rocks and beach are floodlit at night and it looks great. We also had breakfast in the restaurant every morning but they seem totally disorganised as the first thing the waitress tells you is what they have not got. I personally love fresh fruit and yoghurt and was delighted to see it on the menu, unfortunately they did not have any yoghurt for the full 7 days even when I questioned it on the 3rd day they made no effort to get some in. The breakfast menu is quite limited. We had been to Barbados many times over the last 30 years but on this occassion we both thought that it is going down hill with so much litter lying around, lots of holes in the roads but most of all the costs are going through the roof in comparison to most of the other Caribbean Islands. Nearly forgot to mention, watch your final bill as we had 3 items totalling more than $400 wrongly applied to our bill.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moondance2010, Owner at Little Good Harbour, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Hello,

What a shame - it is always a disappointment to us to read when we have not lived upto a guest expectation - I wonder if this guest was here during the two weeks of non-stop rain we had here in Barbados - or perhaps just after, as mosquito's tend to hatch just after the rains - anyhow we do have mosquito repelant in all our rooms along with vap mats - and yes, at times mosquito's can be worse than at other times of the year.
With regards to the meal plan included in your summer rate special - we run this amazingly affordable special in October and November - we included dinner in the room rate for all room catagories. Yes, a limited 5 starter, 5 main selection plus dessert.
Guests are welcome to choose items off our main menu - but there is an additional cost involved - we have created 7 menu's - one for each night - so I am surprised to read that this guest had the same menu each night - very strange when we have gone to much effort to ensure our guests do not have the same menu each night.
I do agree that the cost of living has increased substantially everywhere in the world - not just Barbados - unfortunately people forget that almost 100% of everything is imported into Barbados and with fuel costs as high as they are, the cost of everything has increased - world wide.
In closing, Barbados is a small coral rock in the middle of the ocean - our standard of living here is very good - pot holes in the roads - garbage on the streets is a world wide problem - perhaps the writer needs to reflect on the surrounding around where they may live - is it really that much better. My guess is this guest was here during the period in November when we had enormous amounts of rain - thus the roads deteriorate and garbage does get washed around the island - like anywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Having had more negative life events in a relatively short space of time than is healthy I seriously needed a place to gather my thoughts and strength - and Little Good Harbour, and Barbados generally, was perfectly suited to my needs.
On my arrival I was warmly greeted, and was thankful of the recognition that after a day's travelling, all I would want was a quick introduction to the facilities, a drink, and some food! This friendly, caring attitude continued throughout my stay - but without being intrusive.
The accommodation was very comfortable and spacious - and had I wanted to cook my own meals I had a fully equipped kitchen. However, with The Fish Pot restaurant across the road serving excellent food (and with exceptionally kind and friendly staff), and numerous other really good places to eat on the island (including The Atlantis on the other side of the island), I must admit that I gave kitchen duties a miss. Sipping a Rum Punch on the terrace at sunset became something of a ritual! Now I know that others have commented about crossing the road between the accommodation and the restaurant - but, really, the road is not that busy - but a little sense and caution is required as Barbados, like the UK, has some bad drivers!
As others have noted LGB is to the North West of the island and so in my opinion it makes sense to hire a car in order to explore and do a bit of beach hopping and the other touristy things - although I noted other (braver) guests had got the hang of the local buses. I hired a little soft-top Jimny - which was great fun and coped well with one day of torrential rain and flooded roads - but was also a bit of a pain as you can't leave anything of value in the car.
In relation to touristy things I enjoyed St Nicholas Abbey, and also had a fabulous day on the Good Times catamaran - but what will stay with me is watching the sunsets from the terrace.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yblodyntatws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
7.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
7.6 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.4 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Good Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Good Harbour

Property: Little Good Harbour
Address: Shermans, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Good Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located on the West Coast of Barbados. These individual cottages give the impression of a villa holiday but with the conveniences and amenities of a 4* hotel. This family-run hotel offers personalised service and authentic Caribbean charm and decor. The Fish Pot Restaurant is a well-known restaurant on the island serving breakfast, lunch and dinner and is known for its seafood offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, West Indies, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Good Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Good Harbour Hotel Saint Peter
Little Good Harbour Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing