We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Almond Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Check in took over an hour even though we arrived at 3pm. Lots of rum punch made us less grumpy.
2 adults and 2 kids (14 &10) in a superior suite sea view. Had a separate room for kids with bathroom etc. Very spacious, clean and functional. Had room 5120 on ground floor, comfy beds although sofa bed not comfy according to my daughter!, small bathroom, lukewarm water in an unpowerful shower, hair drier crap, room was very loud at night as close to Tommy's Bar.
Food fantastic on al a carte nights, not v good on buffet nights very samey but always something to eat. They should have one or the other available i.e.: If Reef Restaurant has a buffet, a la carte should be offered in Enids and vice versa. Some people are happy with a buffet we enjoyed our a la carte dinners far more!
Breakfast has good omelettes etc.
House white and rose wines v nice
Good quality drinks
Lunch buffet in Enids fantastic
This is the second time at ABV and the beach and sea are something that made us return. The beach was clean and gorgeous 6 years ago, on our return we found it needs cleaning desperately, there are plastic cups everywhere, leaves and fruit from the trees on the floor, stones etc. It is a shame as there should be someone keeping it clean. The sea is also suffering as when snorkelling from the shore you can see rubbish at the bottom of the sea :(
Saying that the reef off shore has definitely improved with age and is alive with a variety of fish and snakes. Fantastic for the kids!
Unfortunately while skimming and snorkelling you have to keep an eye out constantly for jet skis whizzing around and boats coming and going!! It is an accident waiting to happen and there should be a section of safe swimming area provided urgently. I am just not sure why it was removed as this was provided on our previous stay.
Despite having a constable and security on site people are still allowed to sell on the beach and nothing is done about it, there are hawkers selling jewellery, treatments, paintings etc and not to mention the jet ski salesmen bothering you every day is not good and should be stopped. Saying that when you say you are not interested they go away but are back the following day! If you lay by the pool you are safe.
Beach towels only available to swap 4-5pm, this needs to be looked at, there needs to be availability in the morning too.
When you arrive make sure you attend the hotel's welcome meeting/orientation meeting, here they will give you details of all the free trips and activities available.
There are fishing trips, glass bottom boat/turtle spotting trip, 4WD trip and many others...
Staff were fantastic and so friendly I have to give special mentions to George, Sheba, Paul (management), lucile, cecile, karene & Nicola in guest services who all went out of their way to make sure we had a fab holiday.
Only 1 pool table :( Need another one or more as it was always busy!!!
We had a lovely holiday and I think it is such a shame that the hotel is closing next year...

Room Tip: 5120 on the ground floor, gorgeous view of the beach/sea, although can be loud at night. Very centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alipali77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    590
    178
    53
    42
See reviews for
401
703
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
696 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed 6 nights - 2 adults & 1 12yr old and we had a great time. Amazing friendly welcome set the tone for the rest of our stay. Superior sea view room had the anticipated great view of the beach and exceptionally comfortable beds. Agree with other reviews rooms are of a bygone day but we were on the beach all day and rarely in the room so it was no problem for us. Food was ok - plenty of options you won't starve. Great cocktails. Enid's restaurant was our favourite. The staff are so friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. Free boat trip & jeep safari are included in the stay which is amazing but sadly the boat was out of service so it was cancelled during our stay. We met lots of great people that really made the holiday and completed a great stay. Plenty of loungers around the pools and on the beach no matter what time you go, which is so rare! It was all so relaxed. You can do as much or little as you please. They had some excellent singers as the evening entertainment -.really impressive. Free water sports included kayaks and paddle boards. "Early" runs the pink & black jet ski's as well as the catamaran - he is a lovely guy & ex-staff member and is totally safety conscious, safe & his prices were fair. Seriously beware of the other guys. The beach is a lovely long strip but there is only one small area to enter the sea without rocks & prickly anemones and this is where everyone swims - the jet ski's are driven at high speed through the swimmers and snorkelers which is so so dangerous. My child was knocked as the jet ski guy didn't see him snorkeling - he swerved and almost hit another swimmer. His reaction was aggressive and said if swimmers get hit it's their own fault. Unfortunately there are no roped zones to protect you so I agree with other reviewers just be careful of the red Jet Skis. Hotel management were immediately on the case and the Police and security are now monitoring safety so hopefully this will improve. Everything else is just great and if the hotel wasn't closing in April we would have returned and stayed longer. We even saw turtles laying their eggs on the beach - amazing. This hotel is great for the price - a real gem.

Room Tip: Superior sea views - especially 3rd & 4th floors are good. We were in 7429 which was bliss as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived at the hotel and check-in was effortless, we just laid back while sipping our cocktail, everything was waiting for us.
The room was great, big and with a spectacular view.
we were 4 in a room and did not feel crowded :-) which normally happens.
The rooms not brand new, but nothing to complain - at all, they were very, very clean and the beds comfortable!
my kids will so well treated to there every needs always asking for their apple juice no ice :-)
and the food..wow..so so good, never stayed at the hotel with such great cusine, a big thank you to the chefe
The staff is very kind, sorry cannot name you all. Do remeber Wanda from Enids always looking after us during dinner :-)
The beach is great, kids loved the pools.
only 1 thing missing - EXPRESSO Coffee - hope next time you are able to arrange an expresso machine.
hope to come back very soon.
higly recommend you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarilynTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Brilliant holiday. The staff were amazing so friendly. The food was very good and the complimentary trips were excellent. We had an amazing time and want to return before April 2015. I don't like to name the staff but they were all so good I don't like to leave any names out but Tiffany in reception, Tameka excursion lady, Beverley and Michael in the restaurant and Craig the manager were brilliant. Thanks for making the girls 21st birthday special with the surprise champagne. Thanks all so much. There were always plenty of sun beds any time of day, the entertainment in the evening was excellent. Take a tip Sandals keep the staff !!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 7102 7103 opened up by bar, restaurant, pool and beach. Excellent location with grass area o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lyn403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel. Part of the hotel has been closed down, we have been coming for the past 12 years every year so we were very happy it had re opened. So sad they will be closing again as we love staying here, staff brilliant, rooms good size, beach amazing and great walk to port st Charles, hopefully will fit in another trip before it closes again, free trips are great and enjoyed them all, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Lena00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently stayed at this beautiful resort, it's a great location for both tourist and locals who can enjoy an excellent stay-cation. The service is great and the staff offer superb hospitality. We were celebrating our anniversary and were happy that we chose this resort because it did not disappoint.
The rooms are spacious and has a big patio where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful sunset and the calm sea and beach. A big thank you to the staff who made our experience enjoyable, special mention to The GM Craig Smith, front office manager Paul Bridgeman, Tiffany, and the activities team Robin and Sharon. Your great hospitality has made our 32nd anniversary an enjoyable and memorable one.
We strongly recommend this resort, it is also a great location for the family.
Salene

Room Tip: Great beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salene2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We are just about to leave the Almond Beach Hotel having had a fantastic family holiday: The staff are exceptionally friendly and do everything they can to create a relaxing,chilled and fun environment.The beach is superb; it offers crystal clear water in which to swim and areas of coral where there is an abundance of sea live to view whilst snorkelling.There is every type of water sport on offer:Non motorised which is complimentary to the hotel and motorised which is available from locals who offer jet skis,water skiing and banana boats at a moderate price. The vendors of these services reside on the beach but do not hassle guests and they add to the ambience of the resort.|A slightly negative note is that the use of motorised water vehicles does pose a constant hazard to swimmers, in general most people are sensible but there is the obvious risk of a serious accident and marker buoys are required to separate swimming/jet skiing areas.
The hotel is perfectly situated adjacent to a luxury marina and it is about half a mile from Speightstown which is 'traditional Barbados'.
The food is exceptional given the rating of the hotel and although the site is only half the size of the former prestigious Almond Beach Complex it is very picturesque ,slightly tired in places but the grounds are well kept.The room we stayed in was a bit tired but this has to be accepted as the future of the site is in uncertain.
Overall on the basis of cost an exceptional deal! Would go there again and again...don't miss out .

Room Tip: Seek a room with a sea view above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Manager at Almond Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Chris,

Thank you for choosing Almond Beach Resort and Barbados for your family holiday. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Safety is key and plans are already in place for the installation of the buoys.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you before the closure.

Sincerely,
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
12.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,647 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
4.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,753 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,513 reviews
14.3 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Beach Resort

Property: Almond Beach Resort
Address: Heywoods, BB26013, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Almond Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almond Beach Resort is a family-friendly all -inclusive hotel located in the parish of St. Peter, on the prestigious west coast of Barbados. This beautiful property is only 30 minutes away from the capital, Bridgetown, and 45 minutes away from Grantley Adams International Airport. This exceptional four-star resort sits on a beautiful 1 km (half-mile) stretch of beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Almond Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Resort Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing