We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Almond Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The whole experience when you arrive was the highlight of my trip. i use to rather stay in the hotel than go into the city. the atmosphere the people, the food!!! everything was EXCELLENT.i recommend when in barbados this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TrinidadLegacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

The staff at this hotel were without question some of the loveliest people I could hope to meet and overall made my and my friend's holiday very good. However I was disappointed with some aspects, namely the lack of menu choice as this appeared to be on a rota basis, half the resort was closed, the lack of entertainment offered or available to guests, the evening entertainment was at best average and at worst terrible.

This resort has serious potential, but this was not realised which was such a shame. For example, we were in Barbados for Crop Over, but there was no transport available to take us to Kadooment (this is a huge carnival in Barbados) so we made our own arrangement and yet when speaking to other guests we discovered that they too made similar arrangements to attend. Unfortunately the Hotel confirmed they attempted to, but who ever was making the arrangements fell ill (really).

My other observation was the lack of information available - currency exchange was available however on reading the hotel literature was this was not communicated.

The manager Craig Smith was elusive throughout our stay and was curious that we knew more about what was going on his hotel than he did.

On the upside, the rooms were spacious and clean. The beach and sea were beautiful. The rum was excellent.

We plan to go back to Barbados, but not to this hotel.


Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank Morveline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Almond Beach is a wonderful resort with a beautiful beach and a laid back ,friendly atmosphere.The staff are lovely and the food is good.I have been to Barbados many times and can not stress enough what a bargain you are getting with the free excursions .These trips are very pricey and we are getting them for free! We did jeep safari ( the guide was fabulous ) ,the Thriller speedboat ,glass bottom boat ,and my husband also did Reef Fishing .Every one was fantastic.The guys who work on the beach are super nice and helpful .Met lots of lovely people .Great place for kids , very safe .Go before it closes !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kcbell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Whenever you book a hotel on a holiday destination you are always a little apprehensive as to where your staying, so on arrival I was pleased to see this large complex. On closer inspection much of the hotel was closed down with the middle part re opened with a little lick of paint and some continual garden maintenance. The pools that were in action were well looked after and every one seemed happy. First impression I gave it a tick!
Check in was a little chaotic, we waited for a long time before anyone asked who we were, but finally got our keys and went to the room. It was a standard Caribbean style room, the cleaning team are always around and do a brilliant job, another tick!
Time for dinner, we arrived and were asked what time we booked for "How could we book if we have only just arrived?" This seemed to be a familiar trend with other guests.The food unfortunately for me was not to the standard I would expect Caribbean cuisine by the sea to be at (kind of school dinner vibe). So half way through the week we started using taxis to visit other places to eat out (even though we were all inclusive). Restaurant staff were lovely though. Food, sorry for me was not tick worthy!!
Almond Beach resort is right on the beach and is great. It has (with a bit of imagination) that just been discovered feel, with trees over hanging into the sea. Big tick!
The two bars are in continual operation making Rum punches and strawberry Daiquiris. Beers and branded spirits (in large amounts) also served. A place at night where drinks flow and everyone gets chatting perhaps the odd bit of evening entertainer. The bar staff are always flat out, so be patient and polite. Big Tick!
In summary the Almond Beach resort has it all it's just the jigsaw is not quite completed yet. They want to get there and with everyday staff meetings (that I saw took place) I believe it can continue to just get better...

Room Tip: I liked having a room on the ground floor so I could open to the sea and walk along the beach first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Travelflow-ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I had an Excellent time at the Almond Beach hotel the staff made me very welcome and I was well look after. The hotel is clean and tidy and food is 5* quality. The beach is beautiful and I am looking forward to returning next year with the family Rum bunch nice Fresh fish

Room Tip: All rooms are ok Beach view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Almond Beach is an old hotel, with half of it now out of use. However, the food is excellent. The staff are very friendly and take care of you brilliantly. The beach is excellent. The pools are nice. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a ground floor Deluxe Ocean View room which was well worth the extra cost...a few steps on to the beach. The included excursions are excellent.The vibe is very cheerful and relaxed.
It is a little 'tired' in places but the overall refurbishment to get this hotel back up and running is on the whole very good. The Sandals take-over is not a done deal...with the right investment Almond Beach could go from strength to strength. It has the advantage of a most stunning location. The night life and entertainment is fairly limited in the hotel so you will need to head out of the resort for that after dinner.
We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank TheSticksman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff at the hotel were all friendly and helpful - without exception.
The beach was lovely -just like the pictures, beautiful sand and lovely warm water.
The weather was wonderful. The food was really very good in both restaurants. There are two bars and we never had to wait for drinks, and they had branded spirits - no weak drinks here!
The room was spacious and spotlessly clean all week. We had a really fab holiday and would go back with no hesitation. Also great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
12.5 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,199 reviews
13.8 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
17 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,622 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Beach Resort

Address: Heywoods, BB26013, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range: £200 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Almond Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almond Beach Resort is a family-friendly all -inclusive hotel located in the parish of St. Peter, on the prestigious west coast of Barbados. This beautiful property is only 30 minutes away from the capital, Bridgetown, and 45 minutes away from Grantley Adams International Airport. This exceptional four-star resort sits on a beautiful 1 km (half-mile) stretch of beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almond Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Beach Resort Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing