We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
44
18
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
18
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunder new ownershipfantastic locationfocal pointwalking distancestaff are so friendly and helpfulswimming poolbeautiful resortlovely poolfamily holidaygreat funchloefuzzyholetownbedroomunitsbarbadosisland
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just back from nearly three weeks at Kings Beach Village - our third visit!! The location is great and the whole site run and kept absolutely pristine - something the owner Martin Richards should be justly proud. All the staff are so friendly and helpful and the pool can only be described as the best kept in Barbados. The location is so peaceful but other locations including Holetown are within easy reach. Many thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hjsdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

If you are a family with boisterous teenagers, you'll hate it. The nearby beach is too quiet, with no activities. The pool here is long and thin -- good for lengths but no water slides and suchlike. It's a long way to anywhere with any nightlife. The other residents of the village are likely to be middle aged people, who will get upset when you hog all the sunloungers and spend the afternoon bragging loudly about your love life into your cellphones.

For the rest of us, it is perfect. Martin and his staff keep the village spotlessly clean. Everybody is friendly -- Martin, the staff, the long-term residents. Gardens are immaculate. The swimming pool is one of the best in Barbados, whether you want to put in serious lengths, or just swim for exercise. Many of the residents are long term, and tend not to use the pool, so you are likely to have it to yourself. The nearby beach is small, but good for swimming. Cobblers Cove and Mullins are easily walkable from here, for the best cocktails around. Very frequent buses serve Speightstown to the North (unspoilt Bajan town with good supermarkets) and Holetown to the South (tourist centre, good for watersports and expensive shops). There is a bar in the village, which is very reasonably priced. Key sports fixtures are likely to be playing on the TV in the bar, though rugby takes precedence.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa next to the pool. It's much better to be facing the pool and the bar, than to be next to one of the car parking areas.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRichards, Owner at Kings Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you very much for your subtle comments of which I of course endorse. Unfortunately we are unable to 'vet' all the guests that book to stay at the village and very occasionally we have to endure those that just do not know how to behave. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us - save for the group of noisy youngsters, which as I have said, is extremely unusual.

Martin Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My wife and I had a great week at the Kings Beach Village at the beginning of Feb 2013. The Village comprises some 30 or so properties built round possibly the best pool we have ever used (interesting shape, perfect temperature and wonderfully clean). Even though there are this many properties they are well shielded from one another by trees and bushes and one would not know there were this many.

The location is excellent (just outside Speighstown--pronounced "Spitestown). and only a ten minute drive to Holetown (which we thought was the best town on the Island - Bridgetown being pretty horrible).

If you go (and I recommend you do) try not to ask the owner (Martin) for any favours as you will not get any and you will be charged top dollar for any extras you do require. When I say "top dollar" I mean $US not Barbados dollar (which is exactly half the value of US dollars). We were told that if we wanted to stay in our villa late on our departure day (flight at 8 pm) it would cost us 50 dollars . This then became $50 US. because "the room was booked out for that evening" (when, having seen the booking sheet, we knew it wasn't and if it had been how could he have let us stay late anyway?).

Apart from this niggle (which spoiled our last day somewhat) the place really is superb and, in particular, we would single out Rashida (who looks after the pool and the pool bar) for particular praise. She was helpful and polite as well as being something of a sportswoman and a brilliant chess player.

We hope to go back to Barbados someday. The people are so friendly and 80-90 degrees everyday throughout the whole year is very acceptable, particularly in February !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRichards, Owner at Kings Beach Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Our standard check out time is noon, just as it is in most resort/hotels all over the world. If asked, we do try and offer a complimentary late stay (if it is just an hour or so) however, there is a charge if the villa is required by guests into the late afternoon or evening. We do this as we are unable to rent the villa out to anyone else and it compensates us a little bit for the loss of potential income for that night. Its the same all over the world and really does not justify a complaint.

We state quite clearly that there is a charge of US $50.00 for the longer extension (which is just 30 pounds) so there really is nothing for Keith to moan about. It's really about his expecting to receive something for nothing.

Martin Richards - Owner Kings Beach Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A perfect location on the West coast, right by Mullins and with a great rum shack opposite on the beach. Amazing swimming pool (25 or 30 metres, perfect for morning lengths and very clean and tidy). Very quiet, close to Speightstown (15 minute walk or two bus stops). All in all very recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Kings Beach Village is the ideal place to spend a Barbados getaway. Martin is the perfect host and can help you arrange anything from a massage, to dinner, or a spectacular tour.The complex is spotless for those times when you just want to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The bar by the pool is a great way to end the day or have a cocktail before dinner. Rashida(bartender) is a lovely girl who will make you feel at home. My wife and I love to travel and Kings Beach Village is one of our most memorable experiences. Many thanks to Martin, Julie, Fuzzy & Rashida.
Cheers Dave & Kathy

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacaciones42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews