We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Peter Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Beach Village
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in paradise”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a 2 week stay at Kings Beach Village (Sept/Oct 2013). The pictures although beautiful and enticed us to stay at Kings beach, along with reviews, just cannot do justice to the experience.
Martin (owner and Managing Director) and his delightful partner Julie are so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and we felt we made new friends as we just completely clicked and spent some great evenings around the bar talking into the evenings. From the moment you step into the village it is apparent that the standards are extremely high that everything is meticulously kept. Their team of staff have such pride in what they do and are so friendly and welcoming too. The village is based on a Chattel design and so pretty , we travelled around the island sightseeing for a week and didn't see anything quite like it . The peace and tranquillity was just what we had hoped for , we felt most of the time that the pool was our own or shared with another couple as many of the villas are on long term lease so people are getting on with their normal lives unlike us tourists on rest and relaxation. The pool is approx 25 metres long so great if you want to do lengths, the pool temperature is just perfect for taking a dip to cool off from the glorious heat of the sun and must be one of if not the cleanest pool I have seen on holiday. The villas are set in gardens that are beautifully maintained (daily and throughout the day but so unobtrusively that you wouldn't know) and are planned in a way that each villa has its own privacy. Julie told me the village was Martins own design, he appears to have meticulous attention to detail in all that he does. Martin and Julie are extremely personable and run a hidden gem in paradise. We would definitely recommend a stay at Kings Beach Village. There are some restaurants within walking distance , there are regular buses that are very cheap, car hire is reasonable, the local supermarket is 15 mins walk and has a complimentary shuttle service back with your shopping. Mullins beach is close by but even closer we found a very private spot( turn right at the main road and on the left follow the temporary beach access sign) , we were by ourselves and took a picnic to the beach , it was also a lovely sea for a swim with palm trees for shade. The village bar is open from 11 am until we retired from it and Martin prices his drinks very reasonably ( he mixes a great Rum Punch by the way). We would definitely recommend a stay here if you want to relax in paradise. Great villa facilities and WiFi is available if you still feel you need to connect with the outside world. A huge thank you to Martin, Julie and the team for making our holiday better than we could have imagined and we had already imagined a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeesdaleMudpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tatworth Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having just returned from a 3 week stay at Kings Beach Village, we can both say that this is a lovely place to spend you holiday. The individual villas are very pretty and the pool and gardens are beautifully kept. Martin (the owner) and his team are meticulous in keeping a very high standard throughout. The pool bar is a good place to meet up with fellow guests for a chat and exchange ideas on places to visit, can highly recommend the rum punch! The local beach is just a short walk away and good for swimming. There is a good supermarket a short distance away in Speightstown with a mini bus service to take you back if you need it. Also many local places to eat whether it's a snack or a 3 course meal. Car hire is a good idea for the convenience of getting around the island although the buses are frequent and just $2. a ride. Great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyS565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just back from nearly three weeks at Kings Beach Village - our third visit!! The location is great and the whole site run and kept absolutely pristine - something the owner Martin Richards should be justly proud. All the staff are so friendly and helpful and the pool can only be described as the best kept in Barbados. The location is so peaceful but other locations including Holetown are within easy reach. Many thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hjsdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

If you are a family with boisterous teenagers, you'll hate it. The nearby beach is too quiet, with no activities. The pool here is long and thin -- good for lengths but no water slides and suchlike. It's a long way to anywhere with any nightlife. The other residents of the village are likely to be middle aged people, who will get upset when you hog all the sunloungers and spend the afternoon bragging loudly about your love life into your cellphones.

For the rest of us, it is perfect. Martin and his staff keep the village spotlessly clean. Everybody is friendly -- Martin, the staff, the long-term residents. Gardens are immaculate. The swimming pool is one of the best in Barbados, whether you want to put in serious lengths, or just swim for exercise. Many of the residents are long term, and tend not to use the pool, so you are likely to have it to yourself. The nearby beach is small, but good for swimming. Cobblers Cove and Mullins are easily walkable from here, for the best cocktails around. Very frequent buses serve Speightstown to the North (unspoilt Bajan town with good supermarkets) and Holetown to the South (tourist centre, good for watersports and expensive shops). There is a bar in the village, which is very reasonably priced. Key sports fixtures are likely to be playing on the TV in the bar, though rugby takes precedence.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa next to the pool. It's much better to be facing the pool and the bar, than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRichards, Owner at Kings Beach Village, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you very much for your subtle comments of which I of course endorse. Unfortunately we are unable to 'vet' all the guests that book to stay at the village and very occasionally we have to endure those that just do not know how to behave. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us - save for the group of noisy youngsters, which as I have said, is extremely unusual.

Martin Richards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My wife and I had a great week at the Kings Beach Village at the beginning of Feb 2013. The Village comprises some 30 or so properties built round possibly the best pool we have ever used (interesting shape, perfect temperature and wonderfully clean). Even though there are this many properties they are well shielded from one another by trees and bushes and one would not know there were this many.

The location is excellent (just outside Speighstown--pronounced "Spitestown). and only a ten minute drive to Holetown (which we thought was the best town on the Island - Bridgetown being pretty horrible).

If you go (and I recommend you do) try not to ask the owner (Martin) for any favours as you will not get any and you will be charged top dollar for any extras you do require. When I say "top dollar" I mean $US not Barbados dollar (which is exactly half the value of US dollars). We were told that if we wanted to stay in our villa late on our departure day (flight at 8 pm) it would cost us 50 dollars . This then became $50 US. because "the room was booked out for that evening" (when, having seen the booking sheet, we knew it wasn't and if it had been how could he have let us stay late anyway?).

Apart from this niggle (which spoiled our last day somewhat) the place really is superb and, in particular, we would single out Rashida (who looks after the pool and the pool bar) for particular praise. She was helpful and polite as well as being something of a sportswoman and a brilliant chess player.

We hope to go back to Barbados someday. The people are so friendly and 80-90 degrees everyday throughout the whole year is very acceptable, particularly in February !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRichards, Owner at Kings Beach Village, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Our standard check out time is noon, just as it is in most resort/hotels all over the world. If asked, we do try and offer a complimentary late stay (if it is just an hour or so) however, there is a charge if the villa is required by guests into the late afternoon or evening. We do this as we are unable to rent the villa out to anyone else and it compensates us a little bit for the loss of potential income for that night. Its the same all over the world and really does not justify a complaint.

We state quite clearly that there is a charge of US $50.00 for the longer extension (which is just 30 pounds) so there really is nothing for Keith to moan about. It's really about his expecting to receive something for nothing.

Martin Richards - Owner Kings Beach Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A perfect location on the West coast, right by Mullins and with a great rum shack opposite on the beach. Amazing swimming pool (25 or 30 metres, perfect for morning lengths and very clean and tidy). Very quiet, close to Speightstown (15 minute walk or two bus stops). All in all very recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Kings Beach Village is the ideal place to spend a Barbados getaway. Martin is the perfect host and can help you arrange anything from a massage, to dinner, or a spectacular tour.The complex is spotless for those times when you just want to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The bar by the pool is a great way to end the day or have a cocktail before dinner. Rashida(bartender) is a lovely girl who will make you feel at home. My wife and I love to travel and Kings Beach Village is one of our most memorable experiences. Many thanks to Martin, Julie, Fuzzy & Rashida.
Cheers Dave & Kathy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacaciones42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
3.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.1 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cobblers Cove
Cobblers Cove
#1 of 3 in Speightstown
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Little Good Harbour
Little Good Harbour
#1 of 4 in Saint Peter Parish
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gibbs Glade Cottage & Garden Studios
Gibbs Glade Cottage & Garden Stu...
#2 of 8 in Saint Peter Parish
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Beach Village

Property: Kings Beach Village
Address: Road View, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saint Peter Parish
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Beach Village 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Beach village is a collection of one, two and three bedroom self-contained villas overlooking a beautiful swimming pool. Set in well kept and lush tropical gardens, the resort is the ideal getaway for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Each villa is equipped with a full kitchen and all bedrooms have air-conditioning. The villas have an outside patio area that can be used for dining or simply relaxing. The resort is kept to a very high standard and is owner/managed. There is a small poolside bar with TV. Housekeeping and maid service are available every day. The reception office assists with tours, excursions and car hire. It also offers wireless internet facilities. In all, the Kings Beach Village offers a full resort facility. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King`s Beach Village Hotel Saint Peter
Kings Beach Village Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing