We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Break 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel has a great setting on the point. Very nice beach with access to both waves and calm. Rooms are nice, clean and modern. Common areas in great shape, and several pool choices. Food quality is ok. Prices are high. Staff is very courteous.

Room Tip: Look for the Hilton Honors upgrade offers. Suite with a bay view was excellent and really worked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Clayton H,

Thank you for the commendation on our location; particulary our picturesque bay view. We also thank you for your loyal membership and are especially pleased that we provided benefits, which you and your family could enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    1,223
    412
    135
    93
See reviews for
888
1,416
148
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have recently returned from a 2 week stay at the Hilton Barbados. We would definitely return, as everything was there that we needed. We had booked the Executive Level and the room was overlooking the pools and sea and was a joy to wake up to each morning. The bedroom and bathroom was very clean and comfortable. We made use of the executive lounge each morning for continental breakfast and occasionally for afternoon tea and evening canapés, when complimentary soft drinks were available, which was a great bonus. There is a charge for wine and spirits, however, this was very reasonable.

The pools and facilities were amazing for the children (age 17 and 12) and they loved this hotel very much, particularly as they made so many friends from all over the world. The sea was crystal clear. You could jump the waves out the front, which we all found great fun. And the north beach, via Barbados Blue, we hired free kayaks, boogie boards and snorkels - this was fun to kayak around Carlisle Bay and see the turtles and rays.

The staff throughout the hotel, particularly those in the Executive Lounge and the pool bar were extremely helpful and friendly. Even as far as ensuring my picky eater youngest had his chocolate muffin each morning - the ladies would either get one freshly baked for him or get one from the main restaurant - which was so kind.

The hotel does cater for a lot of business people and holds conferences, so it was a bit strange at first in your swimwear walking amongst people in their business suits, but we got used to it eventually!

All in all, when we left the lady at reception said how would you rate your stay, 9 or 10? I said a definite 10 and one of my sons said 11 and the other said how high do you go!!! Says it all really!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear StephW13,

I can read the happiness in your review. It is very fulfilling to read of a family holiday packed with fun, not to mention being a hit with the children, that is awesome. We are glad to know that we met your needs, provided great facilities and activities and cared for you like family. Seems like everyone had an all round wonderful time. It was our pleasure having you. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnham West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Hilton Barbados- great location , great facilities, great staff.This is an ideal hotel for both families and couples with direct beach access to both calm waters and surfing , good pools and varied dining available

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Richard W

Thank you for your compliments on our property and team members and your recommendation as an ideal hotel. We look forward to offering you many more great stays.

Maureen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was clean and well maintained, with breathtaking views from the oceanfront balcony. My main complaint, which is a big one, was that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. Sleeping on the mattress was akin to sleeping on the floor/wood plank, and our sleep was poorer as the week wore on, as we developed back pains from the rigidity of the mattress. The hotel is also located on Needham's Point, so swimming on the beach is not recommended (often red or yellow caution flags). To seek calmer waters, hotel goers often walk about 5-10 minutes to Carlisle Bay, or to the Boatyard, which is a lunch place like Margaritaville about a 10 minute taxi ride away. Hilton is largely removed from restaurants and nightlife within walking distance--each ride is at least a 10-15 USD taxi ride away, each way. Aside from their restaurants, and the Radisson, there is only one restaurant within walking distance from the hotel. Money was also complicated, as the Hilton and other businesses operate on a 2 Barbados dollars for 1 USD policy (making a 20 dollar salad 10 dollars). This often included a 17% tax, and 10% gratuity, but it was expected to tip additionally on top of the service charge, making things expensive. The Harrison Caves, Wildlife Sanctuary, Boatyard, and Calabaza yacht tour are not to be missed! A major sightseeing attraction is the Atlantis Submarine, but what they do not tell you when booking the submarine is that they will cancel the trip same-day if currents are strong--unfortunately, they canceled our trip ONE HOUR before departure, throwing our whole schedule off, and coming off as unprofessional. Brown Sugar (the restaurant within walking distance), and Tapas are not to be missed! Champers was also highly recommended, but call in advance for reservations! The Boatyard is also a good alternative for cheaper drinks and lunches. The Hilton has 3 main restaurants, but the food quality was that of an all-inclusive resort, however, a lunch for two would typically run in the 60-80 range (lunch with apps), and dinner over 100 range (without alcohol!), so I expected much higher quality food for that price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel rooms are comfortable and most have great views. Breakfast buffet was nice but about $80 us for 2 adults and 2 kids. Restaurant service is a bit slow so be patient. Wednesday beach BBQ is nice and they put on a nice show. Pool area was very nice. They have 3 pools: one for toddlers, a general pool and one that seemed more for adults (no floaters allowed). A hot tub is available as well. Children made friends and had hours of fun. The staff was nice and helpful. Everyone always said good morning. The rooms were clean and very presentable.
The beach area ( 2 separate areas) were very wavy and susceptible to rip tides. (Yellow flags on many days). There is a beach right outside the hotel past the driveway called Carlisle Bay which is fantastic and much better suited for children. It's a 3 minute walk and I highly recommend that beach. Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. We stayed on the 5th floor and the view was great. On Sund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baysidejerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This Hilton has a wonderful location, beach and nice property. The major downfall is the staff. Our experience was marred by the staff's disinterest in customer service. From making it hard to get beach towels to poor service in the restaurants, many on the staff seemed to wish they were somewhere else. Go for the location but don't expect good service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank MikeSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shireene T, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mike Saw,

Thank you for your review and thank you for the additional details you provided on separate note. I assure you that your feedback is most appreciated and will be put to good use. It will help make our resort an even better one.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again at Hilton Barbados Resort ,and to deliver as our brand promises.

With best regards,


Shireene Mathlin-Tulloch
Director-Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from 9 days at the Hilton - had a wonderful time!

BEACH: White sand, so soft! The beach is right in front of the hotel.....no problem getting loungers. The sea is clean and warm - bliss! Jet ski available for hire on some days (about £60 for 30 mins) and boogie boards available for free. Locals selling various goods on beach - the good thing is if you say "no", they leave you alone! One guy really helped my partner with sunburn - giving him aloe vera straight from the leaf!

FOOD: We paid for bed and breakfast only. Breakfast fabulous - huge choice of cereals, omelettes, sausages, muffins, french toast, waffles, pancakes, fruit......lunch food by beach bar very high quality (about £10 per dish) - wraps / toasted sandwiches etc. For Dinner - the Lighthouse is a gorgeous restaurant inside the hotel which sells meat and fish dishes / pasta / pizza (vegetarians catered for) - nice desserts too - not too pricey (£10-£15 per main). The Careenage bar is also within the hotel and is a lot more relaxed than the Lighthouse - more "bar food" than restaurant - again has veggie choices as well as meat / fish - nachos / burgers / toasted sandwiches etc - huge portions and reasonably priced. Staff really friendly. Just outside the hotel is "Brown Sugar" - would recommend - think it is quite well known locally. St Lawrence Gap is a short taxi / bus ride - has even more restaurants (Mexican / Indian). Try the island's specialities of banana bread and bread and butter pudding!

DRINK: tap water superb - no need to buy bottled water. HAPPY HOUR in bar by pool from 5-6pm (certain cocktails £3.50 instead of £10) - try the Mango Pina Colada! Happy hour in Careenage bar from 8-9pm.

POOLS: The infinity pool is much quieter than the main - it would be great if this was made "adult only" as children really dominate the main pool. Temperature good - really refreshing in the midday heat. There is a lovely hot tub (where the water really is warm) - again, a pity the kids took this over! Supposed to be supervised if under a certain age, but they weren't......some people were using the pool who were not staying at the hotel - not sure how the hotel can monitor this?! We noticed some people who used loungers on beach were also from other places - thankfully, this didn't effect us.

STAFF: A mixed view.....initially, I found them quite "cold" / reserved.......my partner didn't though. I definitely think that as a couple, the attention is aimed towards the man and as a female, I often felt ignored! A guide later told us this would be happening as female staff were after a good tip and assumed the man would be paying!!! Makes sense! I came to the conclusion what I thought was "frosty" at times could be cultural. Some staff were exceptionally friendly and some exceptionally off hand (watch the surly girl giving out beach towels!).

INFO: Take either US dollars or Barbados dollars (both accepted everywhere we went - $10 US equivalent to $20 Barbados dollars. Duty free shopping in Bridgetown - I got a £1100 watch for £850.......Tiffany jewellery cheaper (earrings £125 instead of £175). Trips: we did Jeep tour and Harrisons Cave - breaks up holiday - quite pricey for what they are!

Room Tip: Worth getting a beach facing room.........there are bigger rooms with windows as well as patio doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
11.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotelopia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing