We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, so so beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel, so so beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed this hotel. The food and service were excellent. My only complaint is the beach. The beach is very small and the access to the water is narrow and extremely, extremely rocky and choppy. It is NOT possible to swim at this beach. If you walk off the property and to the left, you will find very tranquil water with lots of fish and turtles. Overall, the hotel is really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank creekgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear creekgirl01,

Thank you for your very favourable comments on the hotel, its food and service. We also appreciate your feedback on the beach and regret that the rocks were an area of concern for you. Due to the threat of erosion from the tide, the rocks had to be put in place to protect the beach. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beach at the hotel's front and enjoyed the hotel overall. See you again soon.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,588
    1,224
    412
    135
    93
See reviews for
888
1,419
149
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The beach views from the hotel rooms are breathtaking. It was great to have access to the beach at the hotel. However, the brunch is average and the lines for brunch on a Saturday and Sunday feel somewhat like a crowded zoo. The omlette chiefs also lack traning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Siobhan C,

It is true that our breakfast is very popular on weekends and we do apologise for any negative impact this may have had on your dining. Your comments are appreciated and will be useful in reviewing our standards and procedures. We are very pleased to read that you were tantalized by the views at the hotel and look forward to sharing them with you again.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We traveled to Barbados on June 21-28 2014. Overall we had a wonderful stay here.

Rooms:The rooms were very nice and clean. Our maid Nicole did a wonderful job everyday making sure our room was stocked and perfectly cleaned. I wish they had more room to put suit cases and more room in the closets. The bed was extremely hard. Even my boyfriend thought it was hard and he likes hard beds. The room was on the hotter side so they brought up a fan for us. I def recommend doing this right away. Also our shower would leak and water would cover the entire bathroom floor. You can't beat the beach view. It was lovely waking up each morning with the gorgeous view. Overall the room is very quiet and we never heard any of our neighbors. But we didn't come to Barbados to sit in the room :)

Restaurants: We only ate dinner once at the hotel. It was at the Grille and it was good. Nothing absolutely amazing but it was good. A few mornings in the beginning of our stay we ate at the buffet at the Lighthouse restaurant and boy do they have horrible service! The women that work there are rude and just plain flat out don't care. I would order a diet coke and my boyfriend would order a water. He wouldn't get the water for about 45 min. We figured out that if we asked for bottle water they would bring it faster because we are paying for it. The women of this restaurant is the reason why I gave the hotel 4 out of 5. After a few days we ventured off each morning to get breakfast which will save you a lot of money!! The pool bar probably has the best food at the resort. The staff here are a little faster. It just depends on what server you get. Bartenders are great at the pool bar. Also in the lobby bar the bartenders are very good. Peter took great care of us.

Beach/Pool: We had a blast on the beach. Although the waves are very rough (we like it like that) but you can go to the other side in Carlisle Bay and it's much calmer. The pool was fun and they have a nice hot tub that is a decent size. You can get boogie boards for free but you can only use it on the calm side. You can also get free snorkel equipment.

Executive Lounge- For us it was not worth it at all. The women that work it were so rude. We would only go in there to get some water or diet coke. We never ate in there because we did not feel comfortable. They have free wifi in here along with our room, the lobby and by the pool.

Offsite- For breakfast you can walk down to Lefties on Carlisle Bay. The owner is awesome. Such a nice guy and the sandwich was to die for! Apparently it's cheaper to book trips outside of the resort. We had already booked all of our trips through the resort when we first got there. You can also find other local breakfast areas that you can drive to. We rented paddle boarding equipment which was a lot of fun. Waves were big that day but it just made it more interesting. Also every morning around 6am they take race horses swimming right near the hotel on Carlisle Bay. It was awesome to see. We ate at brown sugar (you can walk here) and it was very good. Our favorite restaurant is Cin Cin. It is more expensive but it is completely worth it. Also you have to try roundhouse inn. It's a great restaurant on top of a cliff. Tapas is also a wonderful restaurant on the boardwalk with gorgeous beach views. We did the Harbour Lights dinner show which was a blast. One day we did a day trip on the Ragin Cajin turtle snorkel tour. That was so much fun!! Its a must do while you are there. You must swim with the turtles. On the resort they have a Padi store and we decided to go scuba diving. They have many ship wrecks in Carlisle Bay that they take you to. Well worth it!! Also there is a drug store right down the street that is much cheaper than the convenient store at the hotel. Don't buy the underwater cameras they sell at the convenient store at the hotel. We bought 2 and another couple in our group bought 2. All of our cameras came out black. Big disappointment especially since it was some of their first times scuba diving. The people who live in Barbados are one of the nicest locals we have encountered on an island. We never felt that we were endangered.

Overall: I would stay here again. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk, take a taxi or drive a car pretty much anywhere and it's all fairly close. I do wish the service from the women were a lot better at the front desk, the Lighthouse restaurant, and the executive lounge. Can't wait to return to Barbados one day!

Room Tip: We had room 721 which our shower leaked but the view is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear SherriMatt28,

Thank you for your very detailed review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Barbados.
Thank you for sharing your varied exciting activities and information about some of our fabulous restaurants on the island. Our team members Nicole and Peter will be especially proud of their special mention and we thank you for the compliments for the areas that met your expectations .
We do apologise for the service that was not up to our usual high standard and the problems with your room. We thank you for bringing this to our attention as it should have been resolved immediately.
I am happy to read that you had some great fun with your activities, the beach and pools and
thank you for your kind comments about barbadians. We do look forward to seeing you again one day too.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the Barbados Hilton , and our experience was wonderful . Our room overlooked the ocean , buffet breakfast was wonderful , three different pools to choose from , live entertainment and pool bar, kids play room , gym , warm and friendly staff. Location ideal for easy access Bridge town the Capital , great for duty free shopping .

Hilton is my recommendation to anyone visiting Barbados , they make your experience very relaxing .

Room Tip: If you a Caricom citizen you can enjoy and preferred rate .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renneyb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Renneyb_13,

It is wonderful to read that the entire family had an overall great time and there was something for each member to enjoy. It is really rewarding to read how our facilities, amenities and warm and friendly team members made it a relaxing experience for you. We are also glad that you enjoyed the benefit of our special caricom rate and thank you for recommending the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good but not cheap hotel with a nice pool-beach area and not too far away (15 min walk or minibus) from city center or Oistins area. Splendid and complimentary gym. Free WiFi only in lobby and no breakfast included deducts from the total points

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Bengt H,

Thank you for your compliments for the hotel and your great scores for service, value and sleep quality. We regret that the internet options did not meet your favour and a breakfast rate was not an option you had taken, as the rate includes our delicious buffet breakfast.
We thank you for choosing the Hilton Barbados and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I visited the Hilton over the July 4th weekend. Here's my thoughts:

Hotel - Rooms were clean. We upgraded to an executive ocean view and the view was worth it! The pool area was also very nice. Right next to the hotel is a military barracks and some strange industrial structures which were an eyesore. We had breakfast each morning in the executive lounge. It was an okay spread - eggs, yogurt, cheese, ham, cereals, pastries and coffee. Just enough to tide you over until lunch.

Restaurants - We found the pool bar to have the best food. The lighthouse terrace and the Careenage bar were both just okay, with the Lighthouse being a bit more expensive. As other reviewers have said, the service is very slow. Also, we only met a few employees that had a good attitude. It would benefit the Hilton greatly to train the staff to be a bit more friendly.
Surrounding areas - We did walk to the boardwalk in Hastings one evening to have dinner at Tapas. The walk was about 20 minutes on the beach in soft sand, so quite the workout! We did take a cab back (Tapas was a great restaurant!). We also walked down the street to Brown Sugar. The food was just okay, but it was nice to get out of the hotel for a bit. We went to downtown Bridgetown one morning but were quite disappointed. It was missing some of the downtown charm we've seen in other islands. I'd recommend staying at the resort and finding a good chair on the beach. Nothing will beat it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear ErinandTony,

Glad to read of your upgrade to an Executive Floor ocean view room and your enjoyment of the view and Lounge benefits. Thank you for the compliments for the food at the Water's Edge's Restaurant and for sharing your boardwalk experience. We regret that you did have areas of concern with the service and will certainly bring your comments to attention.
It is also good to read that you really enjoyed the beach and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Best holiday we have ever had, the service was excellent and the location was perfect, with baby turles hatching on the beach one night! The rooms were also very clean and the Swimming pools and hot tub were very well maintained. We would definitely like to come back another year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Amber4361,

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you had such a memorable stay and enjoyed the hotel's facilities and had that special experience with the turtles. Knowing that we are maintaining our high standards is important to us and we thank you for your commendation on our service and your high ratings.
Hope you do get the opportunity to return for another amazing stay.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
11.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing