We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home base in Barbados” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Barbados Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Barbados Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“home base in Barbados”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife, 2 daughters and I just returned from the Hilton Barbados from a 1 week stay. The Hilton is one of the few big name hotels on the island, and definitely one of the nicest.

Pros to this property are the cleanliness of the rooms and the property in general, nice pool area with a good amount of chairs and not too many people reserving them without actually using them. It's a great place to spend your first day or two, but you definitely want to get out and explore the rest of what this island has to offer. The proximity to Carlisle Bay to a huge advantage of this location, just know that depending on the tide you may not be able to walk past the Radisson without going out onto the main road.

Know that when it comes to dining options you will be fairly limited. On the resort there are three restaurants that are all quite expensive, even for breakfast and a quick lunch. There are plenty of other options for dining on the island but the location of the Hilton doesn't lend itself to walking to many of them. Don't miss Cuz fish shack which is a short walk off the access road, but outside of that and Brown Sugar you'll need to take a taxi or bus to get to most other stores or restaurants.

All in all, a great hotel and a good central spot to spend your vacation. Plenty of great beaches nearby and if you enjoy snorkeling or just a beautiful ride up the west coast, don't miss out on a Cool Runnings catamaran excursion. You can book through the Hilton concierge, they'll pick you up at the hotel and bring you back afterwards. A great crew that will make you feel at home , treat you like a local and bring you to some of the nicest beaches you'll ever see to swim with the turtles and enjoy a nice lunch.

The thing that stuck with me above all else in Barbados were the people. Everyone you meet throughout the island is very nice and helpful. As always, know your environment, but we had no issues exploring the local streets, parks, beaches and even Bridgetown. So go enjoy your time at the Hilton but don't forget to get out and explore this great island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novacation4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear novacation4u,

Thank you for sharing your varied and exciting experiences in your review. Seems like you and your family had a great time exploring and visiting our various beaches and restaurants.We do appreciate you choosing Barbados and the Hilton Hotel for your vacation and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,562
    1,193
    406
    132
    88
See reviews for
871
1,390
147
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently spent a week at this hotel and it was a great experience. Location, beach, and amenities are all great. I would recommend upgrading to include the lounge as it will safe you a lot of money. I also recommend renting a car to see the island and get the most out of your visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear obus2014,

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay at the hotel and had the opportunity to explore the island by private car. Knowing that the hotel facilities and amenities provided a great experience is very rewarding and we are especially glad that your upgrade to an Executive Floor room, gave you benefits and value you enjoyed.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

For a destination that relies on tourists, this place acts like a hotel rather than a resort, but it does have some good points:
Pros: 1. rooms and facilities are very clean 2. Pool area cannot be beat, phenomenal place to hang out 3. Proximity to Carlisle Bay 4. Tour director really knows her stuff
Cons: 1. Staff is not overly friendly or helpful. We had the same waitress all week and she never could remember who we were 2. Food is terrible and expensive 3. Menu doesn't change ever so if you re here awhile, you end up eating the same things over and over 4. No good shopping or dining within walking distance 5. Local 'hustlers' walk the beach right where you go from the pool to the beach and try to sell you stuff. It's hard to tell who is an employee and who is scamming. Beaches are public so no one does anything about them. 6. No activities director or anything to create fun reasons for guests to interact. 7. Beds are harder than the beach chairs

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms have a solid balcony restricting view of the ocean but adding privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvinlif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Luvinlif,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our pools and rooms.
We regret that there were areas of concern for you on the beach and that our food selection and proximity to areas of interest did not meet your favour.
We do have a Recreation Director and organised activites and are sorry to have missed the opportunity to engage you in your preferred activities.I am also dissapointed to read about the service from your waitress as this is not our true standard.
We look forward to providing you with the service you deserve and a fun filled vacation next time you visit us.

Best Regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife, two daughters and I visited Barbados for a one week family reunion. We stayed at the Hilton Barbados Resort and it was an outstanding experience. It is a "Resort." You don't even need to leave the place but I recommend that you do. Multiple restaurants, pools, hot tub and beautiful beaches. Don't miss the race horses on the area beach who go swimming with their trainers for exercise. Quite an experience. You can rent everything for your water sport adventure but we recommend the Catamaran snorkeling tours in and around the island. The Hilton Tour Staff can arrange that for you as well. Hilton has it all plus the friendliness staff you will ever meet. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear James D,

We are delighted to read that you allowed us to share in such an important occasion as your family reunion. It is clear that you and your family enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and our team will be happy to read about your satisfaction and the commendation for their service.
Thank you for sharing information about your varied activities and for confirming the hotel's resort status. It was our pleasure and we look forward to serving you again whether celebrating, vacationing or just relaxing. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in a 1BR corner suite with wife and daughter that was large, well cleaned and accommodating with two full bathrooms and sofabed. Each day we were there we appreciated the property, amenities and staff more and more. We found the staff very attentive and eager to please. Angela and Marie at the concierge desk were of great assistance for activities (snorkeling, rum tour & horseback riding) along with great dinners at Tapas and Champers. Felt very safe traveling around and shopping in Bridgetown. We are used to waves so beach was fine and more importantly the drinks and food at the beach bar were excellent. Watching World Cup in Barbados made for some great memories. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear mjc0896,

I am happy to read that you appreciated our property and enjoyed your suite, hotel amenities and food at the beach bar. Making memorable stays for our guest is important to us and I am proud to read of the excellent levels of service provided by our team. I am sure Angela and Marie at the Concierge Desk will be especially proud of their special mention. Your comfort in travelling around the island is anticipated, as Barbados is a safe place to live and visit.
We look forward to your return for another great stay.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed this hotel. The food and service were excellent. My only complaint is the beach. The beach is very small and the access to the water is narrow and extremely, extremely rocky and choppy. It is NOT possible to swim at this beach. If you walk off the property and to the left, you will find very tranquil water with lots of fish and turtles. Overall, the hotel is really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank creekgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear creekgirl01,

Thank you for your very favourable comments on the hotel, its food and service. We also appreciate your feedback on the beach and regret that the rocks were an area of concern for you. Due to the threat of erosion from the tide, the rocks had to be put in place to protect the beach. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beach at the hotel's front and enjoyed the hotel overall. See you again soon.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The beach views from the hotel rooms are breathtaking. It was great to have access to the beach at the hotel. However, the brunch is average and the lines for brunch on a Saturday and Sunday feel somewhat like a crowded zoo. The omlette chiefs also lack traning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Manager at Hilton Barbados Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Siobhan C,

It is true that our breakfast is very popular on weekends and we do apologise for any negative impact this may have had on your dining. Your comments are appreciated and will be useful in reviewing our standards and procedures. We are very pleased to read that you were tantalized by the views at the hotel and look forward to sharing them with you again.

Best regards

MaureenC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Michael Parish
3.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.6 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Barbados Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Barbados Resort

Property: Hilton Barbados Resort
Address: Needham's Point, BB 11000, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Michael Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Saint Michael Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Barbados Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The upscale Hilton Barbados Resort, winner of the 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, boasts a prime location on the lush tropical peninsula of Needham's Point in Barbados. Each of the 350 beautifully-appointed rooms & suites offers a private balcony and beautiful ocean views. Hilton Barbados Resort offers amenities tailored for couples, families, and all kinds of travelers, plus it's 100% non smoking and fully accessible, becoming versatile paradise for all. Conveniently located, the resort is just five minutes from the island's capital, Bridgetown, 20 minutes from Grantley Adams International Airport and walking distance to the newly listed UNESCO World Heritage site of The Garrison. Some of the facilities include a sparkling pool complex with whirlpool, on-site scuba diving center, three tennis courts, four restaurants and a Fitness & Health Centre with spa treatment rooms overlooking Carlisle Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Travelbag, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hilton Barbados Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Barbados Hotel Saint Michael
Hilton Hotel Bridgetown
Hilton Bridgetown
Barbados Hilton
Bridgetown Hilton
Hilton Barbados Resort Saint Michael Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing