We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we booked with Virgin Holidays!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not what we booked with Virgin Holidays!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We booked to stay at the Sea Breeze Hotel eight months prior to departure and then eight days before Virgin called to say they had double booked so tried to move us to another hotel, which we refused; three days before departure they confirmed we could after all stay at the Sea Breeze; but they lied and when we arrived at Barbados Airport told us we were booked into this other hotel, we again refused and said the only other hotel we would consider was the Turtle Beach, which they transferred us to eventually.

Lovely hotel, nice food, couldn't quite see why Virgin tried to charge the three of us £850 for the move to this hotel as we were only there three nights before we went on a cruise; needless to say we refused to pay; the customer service provided from Virgin has been terrible, never recommend them to anyone, unless you want them to have a holiday they never booked; they really couldn't give a flying fig about you once you have paid your money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cazeejackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    839
    263
    113
    65
See reviews for
984
1,052
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shediac, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just got back from a great stay at this resort. How could someone ask for anything more? Great food, drinks, entertainment, location, beach..... Here's a brief rundown.

Flight: Air Canada.... I must say, faith has been restored. The in-flight entertainment (movies, tv shows, etc) made the 5 hours journey go by quick.

Transfer to and from airport: A breeze.

Resort in general: small and cozy... nothing is too far.

Rooms: Wow!! We were in a 4th floor, ocean front suite. King size bed was very comfy and the fridge was cold. Lots of hot water. The free in room safe is a key less one, so no worries about loosing the key. TIP: DO NOT program the code when you are drunk.... it makes it very difficult to remember your 4 digit code to unlock!! :-)

Food and Restaurants: One of the best... fish, chicken, thick juicy burgers cooked to perfection, made to order wraps, and all the sides. ALL kept hot or cold... no worries about getting sick here.

Entertainment: Really,... not that bad. Yes it ended at 10 pm, but the resort is a hop, skip and a jump form the nightlife on the Gap if you wanted to keep the party going.

Beach: Not overly long, but white sand and very clean. Great wave action for boogie boarding. But could be a bit much for a small child.... but we saw many kids playing in the wave under the watchful eye of a parent.

Beach Staff: Captain Sam made that we were well taken care of. Ricky (I called him Lefty cause he stubbed his toe on a chair and wore only one aqua sock to protect his toe), Dario and Amara were the real stars of the beach staff. Need a chair? No problem! Fresh towel? No problem! How many boogie boards do you want? I'll bring them to you. These guys worked their butts off. They are true friends. One evening we were walking back from the Gap and met up with them after their shift. Dario offered us his bicycle if we wanted to use it. Where else but Barbados would you experience this?

The whole bird issue: This resort spent a lot of time and energy training these birds to fly in and out of the open air restaurants. They were trained to fly up close to guests in an apparent attempt at pecking away at your head. Ok, enough fooling, we actually found the birds quite entertaining. It was always a game for us to pick a bird and plot it's next move... the winner not having to get the next round....

All in all, great resort. We make our trips our own and have fun. PM me if you have any specific questions.

Cheers,

allout

Barbados is truly a unique place... Everyone is friendly and polite and make you feel at home. Even the beach vendors! We'd just tell them "no thanks" and they were like "Hey no problem! Enjoy the rest of our vacation and welcome to Barbados!!"

Room Tip: ask for 208, 308, 408....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shediacguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Myself and 3 friends have recently returned from our 10 day stay in Barbados and I cannot fault the hotel at all. The staff are very friendly and polite (especially Kevin behind the bar and Ricky and Sam on the beach) and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The food was of a very high quality and there is such a selection to chose from, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The beach is literally in the back garden of the hotel, and having a free sunbed and beach towel was a nice little perk!! A few of the reviews here have complained about the birds, but these people really need to get a life!! There are only a few birds that come into the restaurant and yes they are cheeky but for me it really wasnt a big deal!

Great hotel and would go back there in a heartbeat! Would recommend it to everyone.

Jessica, Essex.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

You have to go. The hotel is lovely. The food is great with lots of choice. The staff are brilliant especially Ricky and the guys on the beach. Beach is truely amazing. The cocktails are also fab!

Room Tip: We had a Ocean front room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbyrne309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We (2 Adults & 2 kids age 6 & 3) stayed at Turtle Beach for 8 nights in April and had an amazing family holiday. The staff are what makes this resort, they are fantastic throughout the resort, reception, restaurant, bar, housekeeping, Captain Sam and his team and the lovely girls in the kids club. We had a 1 bedroom garden/pool view room and couldn't fault it. It was perfect for our family, spacious, clean, lovely bathrooms and a tiny stroll to the pool/sea. The food was really good, lots of lovely fresh salads for both lunch and dinner. We mostly dinned at the Waterfront for Lunch and had the buffet dinners in the evening in the main restaurant. This was our first all-inclusive( we've always run a mile from them) and we were really impressed. The house wine/beer were also really good.

Ideally we would have preferred to stay on the West Coast but we couldn't find a hotel with a kids club for under 4's. The West Coast is stunning but this didn't impact our holiday at all, actually wave hopping & boogie boarding was a lot of fun and the calm waters of the west coast is only 20mins taxi away.

The kids loved this hotel, and the staff were really helpful with the kids 'fussy eating' and special diets. A lovely plus was having the kids club open until 9pm which allowed us to feed the kids first and then let them watch a movie in the kids club while we enjoyed a lovely quiet dinner and a few drinks.

Highly recommend the Tiami 5 hour cruise up the West Coast, I was a bit worried considering how young the kids are but we had a lovely time. Also a must is dinner at The Cliff… a fantastic night out.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and you could hear the cart wheels very early in the morning which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliza1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Last week I returned home from turtle beach after spending 7 nights there with my family, this was our third stay! When you arrive you are greeted with such a warm “welcome home” and a cold rum punch, which is the best start to a holiday I can think of! You really do feel at home there, and you do not want to leave!!! We go back because we know that we will have a fantastic time in this beautiful part of the island and are always so well looked after. All the staff are so friendly and helpful and really want you to have a great holiday. The main reason we love this place is the laid back Bajan style and the relaxing atmosphere. You can spend the day chilled out on the stunning beach where the amazing captain Sam and his water sports/beach team will sort you out with sunbeds and help you have fun in the water. The sea may not be calm every day but Captain Sam keeps you safe and you can always ask his advice on activities available. The beach team will bring you rum punch until sunset if you wish and then it’s time for a relaxing evening meal. There is great entertainment at the hotel but if you want to go out partying afterwards then St Lawrence gap is only a short walk away which is a brilliant night out. The hotel is nice and quiet at night so you get an excellent night’s sleep with only the waves and birds to waken you in the morning. The overall experience and feel of this resort attracts me so much more than many larger, 5 star resorts I have stayed in. I love the people here, the culture and the natural surroundings. I hope I am lucky enough to return again soon, I’m starting to feel “homesick” already!!! Thanks to all the staff at turtle beach, especially captain Sam and his team, for a fantastic holiday yet again. Darci, Belfast, Northern Ireland =)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very good holiday hotel. Well organisied and very friendly.Good service throughout our stay. Care must be taken when swiming in the sea as it can be quite rough although an excellent beach.

Room Tip: Request sea view rooms the best views are from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCCUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,516 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,805 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing