We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We spent two weeks at the Turtle Beach hotel in July and we all had a really good time.
The food served was always really nice and had a wide variety to choose from. The Waterfront restaurant was the best out of the 3, however they are all good. The soft drinks and the alcoholic drinks are all very nice, but can be rather strong depending on the staff or what you order.
We went on the Virgin catamaran trip and snorkelled with the turtles along the west coast. We also went on the the jeep safari, they were both really good and I would recommend them.
All of Captain Sam’s water sports staff are really nice and very helpful, as well as all the other staff. I would also recommend you go on the hobie cat while you’re there.
The sea is warm which is good but the waves can be quite high and there is sometimes a strong current which may not be recommended for smaller children.
Miss it already!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a beach or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaaurenPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    839
    263
    113
    65
See reviews for
984
1,052
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

i got married at this hotel we booked every thing at our local travel agent there was a little confusion as what we wanted for our day but it was sorted very easy the wedding organiser and hotel staff were fantastic i got champange laid on in my room as i was getting ready a great present and card from all the staff the beach is beautiful , the locals on the beach love a free rum from the all inclusive bar (dont let hotel know) if you get up early enough you can see baby turtles on the beach (we was there in september) it is a very relaxed hotel , hard to stay awake after dinner entertaintment on for about an hour a night . if you want night life go to the gap . go quite late though as it does not come to life till late (oh and not on a friday as everyone is at ositins) we have traveled alot and this is one country i would move to (south coast is fantastic)

Room Tip: all rooms are of high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank margerie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Have just returned from 2 weeks at Turtle Beach with a 16 and 18 year old. Hotel variable (read review) but the island itself is lovely and the friendliest Caribbean island we have been to yet. You feel so safe all the time and we toured around a bit .Also saw two turtles laying eggs on the beach at midnight - fantastic experience!
TOP TIP to start with as some people only read the first few lines of reviews- get to know the individual staff and then you will get good service, otherwise accept slow forgetful service and very few smiles.
Service: we found the service very poor the first week: every single meal there were drinks forgotten by the staff and we could not choose where we wanted to sit. After a few days, we complained at reception but no improvement so we had a meeting with the hotel manageress, Olivia, and the restaurant manager as we had read on Trip Advisor that the hotel service was very good. They apologised, agreed with everything we said and the end of the holiday was much better. However, we noticed that the guests who made an effort to get to know the staff by name (the staff all wear badges) and made sure they sat in similar places each time so they were repeatedly served by the same staff definitely get much better service.
Hotel amenities: Rooms large and clean but needs upgrading and a good coat of paint.
Pool and beach: only one toilet by the pool and beach area- pools were not particularly clean (I never went in) but the beach was lovely. Sam and the watersports team were great: Again, make sure you get to know them and they will put out your sunbeds for you, get drinks for you and chat every time they see you..really friendly.This time of year we had rain most days and it is usually very windy but the large waves were great fun but not suitable for small children.Most of the sunbeds have individual rectangular parasols, so you are well protected from the sun.
Food and drink:
positive: there is 1 buffet for breakfast and lunch and 3 restaurants in the evening, one of them buffet which changed its theme nightly.The Waterfront and the Asiagos you can only book 1 day in advance. Asiagos has the same menu the whole two weeks but the Waterfront changes nightly, but you only see the menu on the same day and this is rotated but not weekly, so you never know which menu you shall get.However the food was good in these restaurants and the staff make a real effort to serve everything to a high standard. Plates are piping hot and well presented and there is also a kids menu.
negative: very little fruit except bananas and hard melon at breakfast. Lunch was always the same fruit salad containing the fruit from breakfast chopped up. Very few salads except lettuce, cumber and tomato...needs more imagination.
Sister hotel Crystal Cove: you can also use the facilities on the west coast of the pricier Crystal Cove. We hired a car for a week and visited this for the day.No wind and the sea was so calm but it felt so so hot we were pleased to be at a windy beach, but the pools are so much cleaner.Such a small hotel- very little choice for lunch, so we are happy we had booked Turtle Beach.
Trips: went to the orchid world (small and OK) and also the much better Andromeda Gardens. Only takes you an hour to walk round but beautiful and informative. We were the only visitors to both of these, so we felt spoilt. Went to the windy East coast of Bathsheba which we enjoyed.
Snorkling: went swimming with the turtles and snorkling the sea wrecks with Barbados Blue (the diving club) for 40US$ each for 1 1/2 hours.Thought this was overpriced. Our friends did the same went a speed boat trip for 3 1/2 hours including drinks and nibbles for 70 US$ each and I think their trip was better.
Diving: Our 18 year old daughter wanted to continue her diving experience and her qualifications so she had 3 dives at Barbados Blue.We dropped her off at 9.30 and picked her up at 4pm..she had a wonderful instructor and an amazing time. Definitely recommend them if you are interested.
Car rental: Used Coconut car rental and had a car for the week for 380 US$ with air con!

If you would like to know more just contact me through Trip Advisor. Overall, we enjoyed it but felt the service should have been much better.

Room Tip: we had rooms 203 and 202 which were the closest to the sea on our side of the hotel, well away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yas46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just returned this morning from 2 wks at Turtle Beach. We're a family of 6, and our boys age range are 17, 10, 8 and 2yrs. To keep this short all I can say is that we all loved it. Staff are really great, very friendly. Our 10 & 8 yr olds practically lived in the kids club, they loved it. I would say that this hotel would be suitable for all ages. Would love to return again without the children but I don't think that they would be happy with us. Michelle, Ryan in Resturant, Cherie-Ann, Captin Sam & rest of watersports team are just a few I could mention by name but there are so many I would like to mention but cannot remember everyone elses names. Big thank you to you all, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angella-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Have just returned from a fantastic two week stay at the Turtle Beach. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, perhaps in need of some upgrading but what makes this resort is the friendly, accomodating staff who really can't do enough to help. The cool breeze from the sea was lovely and Captain Sam's watersports team certainly deserve a special mention!

The food was great for an all inclusive resort with something to please everybody. We enjoyed eating in the restaurants while the kids preferred the buffet. Drinks were free flowing and on the whole restaurant staff attentive.

My only small critcism would be that the hotel could do more to cater for teenagers especially at night. Our teenage daughter was often thrown out of the internet cafe late in the evening as the rule was no under 16's unless they were supervised. We were sitting close by but not in the actual cafe, no adults wanted to use the computers at this time so I failed to see what the problem was. Even in the day time under 16's were meant to use the single computer in the kids club; a dedicated area for teenagers would certainly add to their enjoyment and if they were better catered for in the evenings also add to ours.

We would certainly recommend and will consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara_C_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalsnes, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Another brilliant stay at this resort. The place to go for both adults and children. Superfriendly staff and great fun and service from Captain Sam and his team on the beach. Our kids just love the Flying Fish kids club - variety of activities when they needed a break from the sun. Thanks also to Graham at Elegant Travel and Tours in London who arranged our trip for us.

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view is always a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic family holiday at the Turtle Beach. I cannot fault this hotel nor its staff. The Guest Relations Manager, Sherrie-Ann Waldon is aboslutey fantastic and a great ambassidor for the hotel. Every single memeber of staff we met was polite, professional and really friendly. The food was great with plenty of variety and the accomadation was well air conditioned, clean with fantastic views. Our tennage children had such a fantasitc time they were wanting to make sure we returned even before we had left! Thank you Turtle Beach for making our first trip to Barbados such a wonderful experience, we will certianly be returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,516 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,805 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Destinology, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing