We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Was there for 4 days rooms very clean, comfortable bed.Food was great a little of every thing Indian (curry.Roti)i,Italian Chinese Asian..Staff was very very nice excellent service.Will be going back there also with more friends and family.At the time of visit had to use taxi the island was packed no rental available.Went to Bridgetown for a few hours .Walking distance to St Lawerance gap for local food .A must have is the Bagian Lemonade (love it) Credit goes to the staff polite,helpful.We check out at noon our flight was not until 8 pm the was a courtesy room to our use for 45 mins.Our room# 112 was opposite one of the pools and easy access to everything.

Room Tip: Our room # 112 was opposite one of the pools and a few feet away from the beach on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 2,766 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Derby, United Kingdom
13
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great holiday ,hotel and service were excellent. The only possible concern would be that the sea was extremely rough and not really suitable for children and weak swimmers but that would be being very "picky" as this was an excellent holiday enjoyed thoroughly by myself,wife and two girls, aged 2 and a half and 10. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Where do I start with this amazing hotel! So to begin me and my partner arrived at around 6.30 in the evening to which we were greeted in a very efficient and professional manner by the concierge staff to be checked in, we had not been in the hotel five minutes before we were offered their famous rum punch which set the holiday off as how we intended to carry on! Caribbean Sun, Sand Sea and COCKTAILS to which there is no limits to what the Bar staff at Turtle Beach can offer, we were taken promptly to our room to freshen up for dinner, we Stayed in room 427 which looked over Chelonia restaurant, the Courtyard and on the balcony looking out you can see the most beautiful view any time of the day, the sunrise and sunset over the sea, the weather was great when it was clear skies and great with overcast too! the only downer is when it rained, but even the staff said it was unusual that time of the year, but the bonus was it didnt last long and it cleared the air after a long period of sun, the food quality was perfect to what we were looking for, morning right through to the evening, now dont get me started on the entertainment! if you dont want to see anything of a night and would like to relax in your room or elsewhere thats fine BUT DO NOT MISS VIRGO! they were absolutely amazing to watch, fun friendly and very talented! with regards to the room, it was cleaned everyday with fresh bed linen towels and mopped, and the general cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant, now the staff! if there is anyone id love to commend more is Tracess Yarde, Her efficiency, friendliness and Professionalism! anyway, this place is a Must stay, were even booking to go again in January! so All At Turtle Beach...Thankyou for making mine and my Partners first holiday to the Caribbean the best it could have been in Barbados! Dan And Adam 8/2/2014 SEE YOU AGAIN SOON!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanAdamP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Lovely hotel on the south coast and a short walk from the bars and restaurants of St Lawrence Gap. Food choice was good each day, buffet changes so not a lot of repetitiveness. We went all inclusive so can't complain about the price of drinks! Room quality was excellent. Comfy bed. All in all a very enjoyable week away . Beach is lovely. Compared to he tells on the west coast the sea is rougher, and outside the hotel the area is more built up than ,say, up towards Holetown where we stayed the previous year - but a lovely hotel with friendly staff

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank childofthefifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is the second year visiting Turtle Beach.
The staff, location, food and beach are excellent.
You are very well looked after. We had one minor hiccup on one night when only one restaurant was open - queues for the buffet which are not usual. A little more thought as to its layout and the problem would have been avoided. Still not enough to dent a lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: Sandals have bought the hotel next door which can get a little loud during the day if you're loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We hardly ever go back to the same hotel but this was our third visit to Turtle Beach and it was our best yet. They’ve made a number of changes and improvements over the past two years which make meal times run more smoothly.

If you’re not fussed by A La Carte dining in the evening then you no longer need to reserve a time to eat. Personally I think the quality and quantity of the buffet items on offer are more than adequate so having the flexibility to rock up when you want is great.

While we were there the hotel was fully booked, so meal times were busy. To alleviate potential ‘bottle-necks’ the staff helpfully opened up additional areas to eat which included tables on the sand! Food never runs out as the helpful staff are always replenishing supplies.

Rooms are still clean and well kitted out and if you’ve stayed at the hotel before make sure that you mention it as you then get complimentary use of the mini bar in your room! Personally I think that paying the extra for an Ocean Front room is money well spent but avoid 241 / 242 / 243 as the front doors to these rooms are very near to the entertainment stage of the hotel next door.

The one small downside is the Atlantic Ocean! 6 days out of 7 the sea wasn’t safe to swim in (but the swimming pools at the hotel are great for kids and adults alike.) I don’t ever recall seeing green flags fluttering on this beach, so if you want to swim in the sea you need to be on the West Coast. (The sister hotel Crystal Cove is v good.) You can visit Crystal Cove (and eat there) free of charge. Just book it a day in advance through the activities centre at Turtle Beach. (10 places are available each day.) A cab costs around B$60 each way.

This place has a huge amount to recommend it but the real clincher is the staff. Friendly, polite and efficient. A credit to the hotel. We are planning a fourth visit!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for an Ocean Front room but maybe avoid 241 / 242 / 243 as the front door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I've been going to Barbados now for five years now and what some great fun in the sun I have had at turtle beech hotel the hotel personal people ie staff really look after you they treat you like royalty from the time you. Arrive until the time you leave Charles Maynard the top man at the resort is a really nice man he makes you Holliday something special I had my honeymoon there 19 days we had and it was fantastic the beach is very clean lots of activities to be had boat trips swimming beach volleyball surfing just a few of the things going on at the beach everyday curious of big captain Sam he really looks after you when you are on the beach he has a wonderful team of lads the food is top class you have three choices where to eat at night the food and entertainment is out of this world you also have a great gymn and the massages are very good myself and my brother Steve really enjoy are selves that much that we don't want to come home I have been around the world and stayed in many places this one tops the lot for everything I would like to take this opportunity to say a big thank you to Charles Maynard captain Sam and all the staff at turtle beach for making my holiday special thank you I would recommend turtle beach to anyone and Christmas and new year is a special time at turtle beach hotel and I cannot wait to be back there once again anyone who needs any information about turtle beach I will only be to happy to help you you can get me on johngumbrell@hotmail.co.uk

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,868 reviews
8.4 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#3 of 9 in Hastings
776 reviews
7.3 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
305 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#5 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £293 - £977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing