We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel could be excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel could be excellent”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days over the half term we had a fab holiday hotel is in a great location the beach is beautiful yes the waves are choppy but this adds to the fun. Food throughout the stay was very nice and of varied choice, however I have to agree with another reviewer the queuing system is very annoying and not 5 star treatment. There is only one a la carte restaurant if you have children as the Italian doesn't allow them in under the age of twelve, for a family resort I don't understand this at all, especially as travelling through Italy you would never see that!! We really do not like buffet food but if that doesn't bother you then the food standard was very good, it's just not for us we like to sit together as a family and eat not keep getting up an down for starters main then desserts etc.... Staff throughout were very nice special mentions to Joy in restaurant lovely lady and Raymone who looked after us most evenings, Nigel on the door very helpful sorted our taxi to the cliff restaurant and he stayed with us for our return thank you! to the nice lady in activities thank you for sorting out our reservations for the whole holiday she booked us into the waterfront recognising we didn't like the buffet set up.... Big mention to Captain Sam who our little one adored he made the beach safe and his team looked after us daily. Tara on reception is simply fantastic efficient helpful and happy. Message to hotel manager sort the towel policy out a simple deposit system or one in one out but stop the sad people putting towels out at night!! Or 6am its ridiculous we are early risers but somedays at 7.30 no beds by the pool free but also no people there?? Very annoying we have stayed in hotels where they simply do not allow bed saving. Overall a very good hotel that with a refurb and some simple touches could be great, rooms are fit for purpose and ours was very clean. We will return to Barbados but not to turtle beach we had a great holiday loved the island. The hotel is just not what we like I.e buffet food and the all inclusive arrangement.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mythos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    833
    260
    112
    64
See reviews for
971
1,048
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grays
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for 10 night , 3 couples all celebrating anniversaries. Arrived to find a bottle of champagne and an anniversary card in our rooms. Staff couldn't be more helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Beach was lovely, clean, good sunbeds and shade. Sea was rough and red flag up most of trip, but then we could have been back in Blighty.
Already planning next trip

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DSM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here in 2013 and had a really good time. In 2014 it just got better. Service throughout the hotel is excellent. Never had to wait for drinks orders in the restaurants. Another real improvement is the more varied menus, particularly in Asiagos. Reception couldn't have been more helpful and we received a really warm welcome when we returned to the hotel after trips out. Room was thoroughly cleaned every day. The general manager (Charles) was keen to get feedback at the weekly reception and we were left with impression that he would take it on board. Captain Sam's guys on the beach were always there to find sun beds and make sure that we were happy.
The sea at Turtle Beach can be a bit choppy and is not the best if you want to bathe in the sea. Transport around the island is great but using public transport needs some patience. But taxis are not expensive.
Overall, it was the standard of service that stood out and would make it a first choice for a future holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Turtle Beach. We are so pleased that you had a fantastic experience with us in beautiful Barbados and that you returned home with so many happy memories! Our staff will really appreciate all your kind remarks and I will pass them along to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Frankie F., Social Media & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Having just returned from Barbados I really enjoyed my time at the hotel.
The beach location is amazing, although the sea was very rough and not ideal for children, so having the 2 main pools, children’s area and a Jacuzzi makes up for that.

The staff on the whole were excellent and our room was spotlessly cleaned everyday.

However I do have a few issues that need to be looked at by the management team. The food I have to say was a bit hit & miss, the vegetables were not cooked and the meat was rather overdone. We did go to the other A la Carte, but the seating system was dreadful as you had to queue even though you had booked a table previously and the tables in the restaurant were empty. When we asked why this was happening the lady in charge she was quite rude to my husband. (Everyone was complaining I have never queued up in any other hotel I have stayed at). This makes no sense what so ever why don’t you just show people to a table? We did forget to book one night and we turned up in the Buffett area to find that all the restaurants that evening were by reservation only and we had to book for 8.30 that evening even though ½ of the tables were empty, in the end we told the man in charge that we were sitting down to eat as we had had enough. I really could not see the point of an A la Carte Italian Restaurant at the hotel, when I go to the Caribbean I would like to eat freshly cooked fish as we did in St Lucia not pasta which wasn’t particualy very nice anyway, I’ll stick to Jamie Oliver’s thank you very much! It seems to be a wasted opportunity with all the sea food around.

I would also like to suggest a way of attracting the beach waiter to get you a drink as there wasn’t enough people bringing drinks around by the beach. In St Lucia they gave us a small pole with a red flag attached to it and you put that in the sand to indicate that you wanted a drink. It will save time and money and makes the waiter’s life a bit easier.

On the whole I would recommend this hotel but avoid half term as there were 148 children there!

MY TIP: anyone who is traveling to the Caribbean in winter time, take an empty suitcase with you to put all your winter clothes in. The amount of people I see carrying around their coats and jumpers on arrival is quite funny but not neccesary.

Room Tip: I would advice to anyone is to e-mail the hotel directly and ask questions re rooms. We had a groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Was there for 4 days rooms very clean, comfortable bed.Food was great a little of every thing Indian (curry.Roti)i,Italian Chinese Asian..Staff was very very nice excellent service.Will be going back there also with more friends and family.At the time of visit had to use taxi the island was packed no rental available.Went to Bridgetown for a few hours .Walking distance to St Lawerance gap for local food .A must have is the Bagian Lemonade (love it) Credit goes to the staff polite,helpful.We check out at noon our flight was not until 8 pm the was a courtesy room to our use for 45 mins.Our room# 112 was opposite one of the pools and easy access to everything.

Room Tip: Our room # 112 was opposite one of the pools and a few feet away from the beach on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great holiday ,hotel and service were excellent. The only possible concern would be that the sea was extremely rough and not really suitable for children and weak swimmers but that would be being very "picky" as this was an excellent holiday enjoyed thoroughly by myself,wife and two girls, aged 2 and a half and 10. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Where do I start with this amazing hotel! So to begin me and my partner arrived at around 6.30 in the evening to which we were greeted in a very efficient and professional manner by the concierge staff to be checked in, we had not been in the hotel five minutes before we were offered their famous rum punch which set the holiday off as how we intended to carry on! Caribbean Sun, Sand Sea and COCKTAILS to which there is no limits to what the Bar staff at Turtle Beach can offer, we were taken promptly to our room to freshen up for dinner, we Stayed in room 427 which looked over Chelonia restaurant, the Courtyard and on the balcony looking out you can see the most beautiful view any time of the day, the sunrise and sunset over the sea, the weather was great when it was clear skies and great with overcast too! the only downer is when it rained, but even the staff said it was unusual that time of the year, but the bonus was it didnt last long and it cleared the air after a long period of sun, the food quality was perfect to what we were looking for, morning right through to the evening, now dont get me started on the entertainment! if you dont want to see anything of a night and would like to relax in your room or elsewhere thats fine BUT DO NOT MISS VIRGO! they were absolutely amazing to watch, fun friendly and very talented! with regards to the room, it was cleaned everyday with fresh bed linen towels and mopped, and the general cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant, now the staff! if there is anyone id love to commend more is Tracess Yarde, Her efficiency, friendliness and Professionalism! anyway, this place is a Must stay, were even booking to go again in January! so All At Turtle Beach...Thankyou for making mine and my Partners first holiday to the Caribbean the best it could have been in Barbados! Dan And Adam 8/2/2014 SEE YOU AGAIN SOON!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanAdamP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,033 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,494 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing