We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here with our two children in a one bedroom sea view suite. You are given a warm welcome with drinks. The rooms are very modern with an amazing view of the sea. There are three pools including a splash pool which is perfect for young children. The food is amazing with buffet food at breakfast, lunch and dinner. With the choice to book other restaurants. The grill food to order at lunch is very good. Evening entertainment was good as was the kids club which keeps the young ones amused and the staff are so friendly here and all round the hotel. The beach is amazing with white soft sand. The only slight negative thing which was resolved very quickly and we were moved to a larger room and refunded for one night was the air conditioning unit leaked. The hotel did everything it could and was just one of those things that can't be helped. This didn't effect our stay and overall we had an amazing holiday and will be back one day! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must the view is beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Reviewer: Matt H

Thank you for posting this review about your recent stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are extremely pleased that you were happy with so many aspects of your stay, including the rooms, pools, food, entertainment, Kids’ Club, staff and the beach.

We apologize for the issue you experienced with your air conditioning unit but we are very glad that you were satisfied with the way the matter was resolved.

We eagerly anticipate your return to Barbados and Turtle Beach Resort where our warm Barbadian hospitality and sea and sun awaits you!


Yours Sincerely,

Tracess Yarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

994 - 1,000 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I am sure when you scroll down through the reviews for this hotel you are only going to see excellent reviews, the reason for this is because this hotel is truly wonderful.
We stayed for one week and had a wonderful time. The staff are extremely friendly, we had an ocean view room and it was lovely, perfect size room, nice balcony, really good aircon.

The food and drinks are excellent, every night there is a different themed buffet, the quality of the food is very high. The evening entertainment was really good finishing at 10pm.

The beach is lovely, the sea is choppy due to natural currents and positioning but great for boggie boards which you can get from the Water Sports Hut.

It is well worth getting a day pass to ‘Crystal Cove’ a sister hotel about 20mins away, the sea there is completely calm and they offer water skiing, rings and banana boat free of charge.

Ok so the only minus point about the hotel is the A la Carte Italian Restaurant, you have to wear trousers in a non air conditioned restaurant, not a pleasant experience and the food wasn’t as good as the buffet food which is excellent.

Overall a lovely hotel *****

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Reviewer: Paulous

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort.

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments about our staff, rooms, food, beverages, entertainment, beach and the option of a complimentary day pass to the Crystal Cove hotel. We recognize that our guests have their own personal tastes and preferences regarding the Asiagos restaurant. While we receive many positive reviews about this restaurant we respect and appreciate that others may not enjoy it as much. We have noted your suggestion for a more relaxed dress code in Asiagos, but have found that most guests prefer the elegantly casual dress code for this particular restaurant as it lends to the ambience and romance which the restaurant emanates.

We hope to welcome you back to Turtle Beach Resort in the future where our warm Barbadian hospitality and sea and sun await you!


Yours Sincerely,

Tracess Yarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here in May for 8 nights. Check in was very straightforward and we were told we had been upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite. This was absolutely beautiful and spotlessly clean. It's an all Suite hotel so don't think there would be a bad room anywhere. Nothing to fault at all except for the dreaded sunbed scenario. Most of the beds by both of the pools were reserved by 7.30am as people were getting up at 5am to reserve theirs.Cant blame the Germans this time as it was mainly the Brits doing it. The trouble is if you can't beat them you tend to join them but getting up,at 5am to get a bed is ridiculous.Always beds on the beach but was very windy and got covered in sand... And I mean covered. It's a real shame about the sunbed situation and the hotel need to address this problem it's the only thing that would put me off returning as there were a few heated arguments between holidaymakers. I know I've made a big thing of this but was a real problem.
The hotel and situation is excellent and no complaints with this.
Also another point which could be helpful is that the evening entertainment was good and finished by 10pm and that's good if you've got kids but not if you want something more. St Lawrence Gap is not far away so if you want bars and Karaoke then a trip there is an option. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: All suites are great but higher up have better views of the ocean. We were 324 and faced the pool an...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lyn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to Turtle Beach. The first time was great, but the second time was even better. The resort is located right on the beach which makes it like heaven on earth. What makes this hotel stand out from others is the friendly staff who are happy to help, and will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your holiday.

I would like to give a special mention to Hermy and Jason who greeted us at the door when we arrived and welcomed us back to Turtle Beach. Thanks to Kay in the restaurant, Winston, Wendy and Ryan in the bar who were happy to serve a drink of your choice. They have a cocktail menu but are happy to make any you request providing they have the drinks required. I would recommend trying the Pink Turtle, Lava Flow and the Secret Sam when visiting.

Special thanks to Captain Sam, Marcellous and all the watersports staff who were happy to get us sunbeds located on the beach, and ensure we were kept safe when we were in the sea which got rough at times. They provide excellent watersports activities. While we were there we went on the catamaran which was a great experience. And finally Maradona who is always happy to offer and serve drinks on the beach to help cool down when its hot.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and can't wait to come back in the future. A big thanks to everyone at Turtle Beach for giving us a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alanh1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have not visited TB for the last 2 years, due to family commitments, and on arrival it was like we have not been away - we were remembered by all. As mentioned by other reviewers the staff are so great and a special mention to (in no particular order) Hermanus, Duran, Ryan, Marisha, Winston, Jeremy, Suzette, Sheena, Dwayne plus Captain Sam's boys. Plus, of course Maradonna who sadly we only saw for 1 day as he was off for a 4 week vacation !! In reality ALL staff are wonderful and professional, across all areas of TB : Maintenance, Security (we had an issue with our in room safe which was very promptly sorted) Bar, Restaurant, Housekeeping and Reception. We think that TB is a VERY comfortable and safe place to spend a holiday and we will be back next year. We had Room 425 which was superb, our only issues were a leaky shower screen and a lack of power points. But heh, you are on holiday and there are a million things with TB and generally Barbados to compensate. As an aside Teds Tours should be your 1st call for a days tour of the island. Going back to TB the food in all restaurants is VERY good and caters for all tastes (you would have to be ultra fussy and picky not to like the food - our favourite was the Waterfront). The Sandals building work next door (which goes thro to year end) caused no problems at all. All we can advise is to ignore any poor reviews of TB and just take on board the positives. We absolutely loved our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tisburygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just got back from a fantastic stay at Turtle Beach Resort and we already miss it to bits. Fantastic food from all the buffets, great jacuzzi, pools and activities; especially the beer pong! Great location on the island, although any location is pretty good as it's such a small place and so easy to get around. The staff were really friendly and gave me a great birthday celebration during the weekly floor show. The only gripe I have is that the Asiegos restaurant in the hotel wasn't up to par. The food there was mediocre and the 'smart attire' was uncomfortable without air conditioning. The ability to visit the sister hotels and use all the facilities was awesome. Overall I would definitely visit Turtle Beach again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side facing the beach are the best!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is our 5th visit to Turtle Beach. We returned this year to find the Waterfront Restaurant having had a complete facelift it's a great improvement.

This destination meets with our needs as a family of teenage boys. We just like to chill on the beach (well I do) the boys do partake in football, pool, table tennis, jet ski etc.

The food is excellent, rooms clean & tidy although agree could do with a electric socket near a mirror for us ladies.

If you want a holiday in resort just chilling you really can just stay and relax in this beautiful resort. There are excursions but if that's what you want maybe research before you go.

Wouldn't hesitate going back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,556 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £289 - £935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing