We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I had been to Turtle Beach about 12 years ago when my sister and I were young, and from what I remember we'd had a lovely time.

Before going back after so many years, we were slightly worried things might have changed and we would be disappointed, but this definitely wasn't the case as it was even better than we imagined!

The atmosphere is relaxing, the staff are all friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is fantastic with new, very clean facilities, two lovely pools and a gorgeous beach just footsteps away. We also loved sampling some of the local food at their different themed buffets at Chelonia and at the Waterfront restaurant.

In terms of location, it's very close to the airport so the transfer is very quick, but you don't get the noise from the airport that you might expect. It's also close to some shops and bars if you'd like to have a wander out and explore.

Dover Beach is just a two minute walk away and is great for surfing - my dad, brother-in-law and I all surf and had a fantastic time with Barry's Surf School on Dover Beach, and they also took us out on some trips to Freights where we found incredible, clean waves. If you're a surfer, I highly recommend them!!!

Overall, my stay at Turtle Beach was one of my absolute favourites - I'm already planning when I can go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,696)
There are newer reviews for Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Beautiful friendly people who couldn't do enough for you. Great for couples. We were on our anniversary and so it was lovely and relaxing except they were building sandals resort next door which was noisy. We were moved to an upgrade junior deluxe ocean view suite which I recommend. Very humid but there thankfully was a breeze.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for a 5 night stay before me and my boyfriend flew to Saint Vincent. The resort was lovely, and food was a good standard for an all inclusive! I loved the restaurant near the beach, that was defiantly my favourite! The Italian was nice but very very very hot! Maybe this is be because it's up high and no air con? The entertainment each night was good, loved the four ladies who sung they were excellent! The sea is rough but this doesn't bother me or my partner as I'm not too keen on being in the sea! It is very blue and beautiful! We had nice walks everyday down the beach! Pool areas are quite small and I would of loved a swim up pool bar but that's just me being fussy and lazy in the sun :) overall it is a lovely hotel with some lovely staff! Would I return, yes!!!! :) thank you turtle beach!!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Chloeee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Turtle Beach and miss it very much. We had an amazing stay.

Room: The room was spacious although the bed was a little too soft for our liking and the shower leaked but after a complaint they patched the leak and fixed the problem asap

Food: The food is as you would expect for an all-inclusive. The chef Carl was amazing and accommodated to our special needs though. The Barbados night was wonderful, especially the selection of drinks. Asiagos service was very slow and one night took us 2 hours to finish

Entertainment: The entertainment was rather bland overall although the singers were rather good

Service: We have been to 3 other resorts but this one has the best service by far and made our vacation! They always were checking up to see if we were okay or needed anything

Beach/Pool: The breeze always keeps you cool so you never get hot. The beach was rough but we made the best of it. We strongly recommend the sister resort Crystal Cove for a day for the water sports because the beach is so calm. The pool was spacious and not too crowded

Activities: Saint Lawrence Gap was a disappointment only 5 minutes walk away. It seemed rather run down. We went to the other side of the island for a tour and saw the more developed side which was better. Bridgetown was nice as well and we tried zip lining which was a blast. Also try the local white van to get a taste of the island with the blasting reggae musing and the quick transportation, it is much cheaper too

We strongly recommend turtle beach for a nice family vacation and the wonderful service

Room Tip: We had Room 428 on the 4th floor with a good view of the ocean and everything. If you want a good vi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riyadh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear 'Riyadh A',

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review about your recent stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We truly appreciate the wonderful comments about the room, food, drinks, pools and the service. We are thrilled that you loved our beautiful island and had the opportunity to experience most things that it had to offer

We sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced, and for the other areas where we did not meet your expectations. We assure you that we will continue to use guest feedback to improve our service quality as we aim to ensure all guests leave satisfied.

We look forward to welcoming you once more to Turtle Beach Resort where our warm Barbadian hospitality awaits you.

Yours Sincerely,

Tracess Yarde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Myself and my partner visited this hotel in June, It was not what we had expected but still a beautiful, airy hotel. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay and everything was clean and tidy.

The entertainment was good, however we felt there wasn't much of a variety, mainly singers or bands. Where as we are use to a variety from other hotels we have visited. We did find ourselves having little to do once the entertainment had finished usually around 11 pm.

We were celebrating our anniversary and were informed by Elegant Hotel we would have a surprise in the hotel room, which we never received, this was a little disappointing.

Food was amazing, lots of choice and yes there is the average British food there but lots of Caribbean influenced foods, Oriental foods available (depending on the day there are different themed foods.)

Overall though this hotel is lovely, beautiful beach (although the sea is rough, being North Atlantic side), Stunning food and the staff were very welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 88susieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fab place, total chill out. Room was fab, we had an upgrade as it was our wedding anniversary so thank you to turtle beach for that. Fab ocean view. Rooms are spacious - only minor downside there are few plug points & none near mirror for ladies to do hair. With sandals opening next door maybe think of a slight refurb to update rooms? Staff are all so pleasant & helpful. Buffets are brilliant, breakfast & evening. Downside was a la carte booking system wasn't explained so missed out on Asiagos on our anniversary night so maybe put booking system into room directory? Tipping staff was also difficult, maybe a cruise like system as we felt awkward just tipping our favourites - Ryan, Donna & concierge. Overall highly recommended, you will so enjoy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mimsymop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just returned from a 16 night all inclusive holiday to the Turtle Beach.As soon as we arrived we were treated like royalty by the staff.They seemed to want to do anything and everything for us.They were polite,cheerful,and good at their jobs.This continued throughout the holiday.
The room was clean,quite large and comfortable.
The bar staff were plentiful,cheerful and helpful.Also the "shorts" were named brands which is unusual for all inclusive holidays.
The swimming pools were clean and tidy and more often than not we were able to get a sunbed.
The hotel had a private beach area which was lovely and had staff which looked after our every need.They even brought round trays of drinks for us every so often.The only problem was that the water was rough and you couldn't swim in it.The safety flag was either red or yellow the whole holiday.This was the only disappointment.
We went on a couple of excursions organised by Virgin One was the bus trip around the island and the other was a trip around the coast on a catamaran which included swimming with turtles.On both they were good value for money,great fun and the couriers great,helpful,knew their jobs and very happy and cheerful.We would recommend both trips to anybody going.
On the whole we had a great time,and would recommend Barbados and Turtle Beach for anybody wanting to go to the Caribbean

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view as they are great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bobandbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,082 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,553 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#10 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £289 - £935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing