We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul Payne's Taxi Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paul Payne's Taxi Service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Paul took us for a full tour around the island to Bridgetown , along the west coast over to St Nicholas Abbey plantation house then to see the East Coast and a fab lunch at The Roundhouse Bathsheba. A fantastic day giving us a good understanding of Barbados past and present. Paul is also a kind and gentle man. Would strongly recommend and price was fair. Thank you The Goodchild Family

Room Tip: Rooms away from waterfront restraunt have best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    837
    262
    113
    65
See reviews for
981
1,052
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Well...we did thoroughly enjoy our return to Turtle Beach and there are so many positive and constructive comments that we agree with...

The staff are very well trained in customer service and the majority really do go the extra mile to ensure you are happy.

The rooms are clean and we unexpectedly received welcome 'extras' as returning guests which was a very nice touch. Part of these 'extras' was a stocked mini fridge which was really handy, however, it stopped being refilled after 4 days and despite mentioning to the front desk on 4 separate days and receiving apologies, it was never resolved or refilled. Though this was only a little niggle as the room was very clean with a great view and housekeeping do a great job.

The food was varied and delicious. Though some reviewers are accurate in that the lunch variety has reduced, the quality remains. We were very happy with the food each time we ate (though with having young children we only ate in the chelonia and the waterfront) and found dinner varied and delicious. Again, our only small niggle was that there was not a specific kids menu if they didnt want anything on the buffet or the adult set menu. Whilst dining in chelonia we were told to walk to the waterfront and carry kids food from their selection back to chelonia which wasnt convenient whilst seated in a different restaurant, especially when wet. A kids selection in both restaurants or an actual kids set menu would be beneficial.

Drinks were great and varied though some very strong when mixed! A but disappointing that some cocktails still poured from a pre filled container however a lot of staff mixed them fresh which is an improvement on last year.

Entertainment varied but majority excellent. Virgo magnificent and floor show superb! Loved chillin in pool to the talented chap playing steel drums on sundays afternoons, great and varied song choice!

We must also say thanks to Sabrina from the Waterfront who was our table attendant on a fantastic intimate dinner. She made it great even though we had an initial downpour. Dakauri (apologies for the spelling) for keeping us topped up! Also Dario from Captain Sams, those gents do a great job.

Though the sea is a bit rough on the south coast, we all loved it as the waves make great entertainment. Our son would have lost interest with a calm beach! However it is not a sea you would allow small children to paddle in whilst unattended.

Overall we had a great time as a family. The kids club is well run and once our youngest spent an hour there, she wanted to return each day. The women do a great job of entertaining the kids in a happy, decent environment with all the mod cons!

The men on the door and the security are also very efficient and friendly.

I agree that additional power points are needed in the rooms and that this hotel may not specifically be a '4 star' as described, however, staff, food, location and kids club make this hotel a success.

All in all a great holiday and we will definitely return one day!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locals4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I agree with some of the reviews that say that this hotel probably shouldn't be classified as a 4 star hotel, unless there have been some renovations since I was there. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed my time here and it is overall a nice place to stay, just felt like for the price there are nicer '4 star' places. The staff were very friendly and helpful, unless you asked for water at the bar and they acted kind of put off by that for some reason. One of the main bummers of the beach right outside the hotel is at least 3-4 days of the week we were there the 'red flag' was out and you weren't allowed to swim. The waters here seemed much rougher than they did on other parts of the island. The food was good but not great. You weren't allowed to make reservations for any of the restaurants until the day of, so unless you woke up at the crack of dawn to make your reservation, there was barely anything left to choose from. I didn't find this particular detail very relaxing in terms of being on vacation. My friends and I did get a nice massage on the premises, and we booked a tour through their office that went quite smoothly. I feel like the photos portray the hotel as a little more sparkling than it actually is in real life. The quality is good though, and the rooms are clean. We did have to switch rooms the first night we were there because our air conditioning didn't work, the staff didn't seem like they wanted to switch us but did end up letting us have another room, and it was better. We did meet some very nice people at this hotel and they had entertainment on some nights, the nightlife was pretty decent. The drinks were good as well, especially the Pink Tortoise, if you stay here you should definitely try that one! I had a nice time here, but if i were to return to Barbados to stay I would probably try another place with some calmer water.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just home from seven days at Turtle Beach and already I can't wait to return. Food, service, location - everything was really excellent!

This time at Turtle Beach, travelling with my sister, was our first opportunity to experience both the Caribbean and an all-inclusive and we had a really excellent time. We happily spent the week laying on the beach and enjoying the ocean waves (even with red and yellow caution flags).

Great location for airport access, plus close enough to local shops for souvenirs.

One very small point: I know that the hotel is a bit older, but there was a real lack of plugs for electronics. There were two plugs that were on a pretty steady rotation for all of our electronics. And not one plug near a mirror for when you're getting ready. It's a small point, but if it's the only thing then there's not much to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Staff: There is minimal I can say in this section because every single staff member is enthusiastic, helpful and welcoming. My family and I have traveled and stayed in similar resorts but have never experienced such lovely staff who are brilliant at what they do.

Beach: For us the beach was where we spent all day on the lounges as it wasn't as busy as the pool and the breeze from the Atlantic really cooled us down. The waiter service was a great idea as we were offered drinks at our seats adding to the relaxing atmosphere. We do understand that the sea has lots of waves and this would not suit everyone... but for us, especially the two teenagers in the family, it was great fun to jump in the waves. The water sports cabin is also a great as it is well equipped with a highlight being the guided hobbie cat body rides!

Pool: With a choice of three pools and a hot tub you are spoilt for choice! All pools are maintained well and the palm trees, waterfalls and bridges surrounding the pools makes the area very attractive! One of the issues about the pool is that the adult pool does have a lot of children, despite staff members asking then to leave, which can be quite disturbing if you want to be in a more relaxed atmosphere.

Room: We stayed in room 220 which is a one bedroom suite with a view of the pool and sea; which was wonderful. The room was a good size for two teenagers and parents because we all had our own space so we recommend the one bedroom suite for those with a similar size family. Upon arrival we were shocked by the noise coming from the construction at sandals next door but our room was not near this and we didn't notice it at the beach, pool or restraunts...only by the reception area so don't let that put you off. T The room was also nice because it was cool with AC and a fan in both bedrooms! This may also be a weird thing to point out but all rooms had windows (we have stayed in two caribean resorts with no windows just curtains) which means it is safer and fewer Mosquitos being able to get in the room.

Activities: Most the hotels we have stayed at have a detailed itinerary of the activities at the hotel during the day but these don't always take place however at Turtle Beach there was always a lot of activities on offer which took place without fail. The sporting games on the beach, like football and rugby, were very popular with my older brother meanwhile my mum and myself enjoyed the cooking demonstrations and mixology lessons. The staff running these activities are also very enthusiastic which makes them more enjoyable.

Food & Drink:
We love all-inclusive hotels and Turtle Beach certainly doesn't fail too be one of the best with food and drink available all day and unlike some all inclusive hotels, great quality too! The breakfast is served in Chelonia and the waterfront- we used Chelonia because there was more available, all good quality and a good variety! A personal favourite was the make-your-own-waffle station! Lunch was also brilliant with burgers, wraps, sandwiches and other food served buffet style in the waterfront cafe which is the perfect location right next too the beach. For us lunch was defiantly the best we have experienced in any hotel! In the afternoon we were also offered afternoon tea with a lovely choice of sandwiches and cakes even though it was hard to fight off the birds sometimes. Dinner is also very enjoyable, for us we preferred the waterfront and the Italian over the buffet because the buffet in Chelonia could get rather busy and hectic plus the quaintly in the other two places topped the buffet. On the website of the hotel the availability and quality of food isn't quite let on because there is also pizzas, hot dogs and burgers available all day long upon request. And I really can't stress enough that the food in the resort is perfect for all people, some for the more adventurous and also a great choice for more picky eaters like myself.

Wedding: During our stay we organized a surprise renewal of vows ceremony, for our 25th wedding anniversary, with our brilliant wedding coordinator, Rosalind. The event was easy to organize allowing us to enjoy the rest of the holiday and it certainly was a highlight! For all future wedding couples we recommend the wedding by the beach and to have a candle-lite romantic dinner by the sea.

Conclusion: We had a really enjoyable holiday in Barbados and Turtle Beach as the hotel really caters for everyone with great facilities, activities, food and especially staff who really make the resort! We recommend it to all families as well as those who just want to relax. My family went on a few trips and after passing over hotels we could see that we definitely picked a winner with Turtle Beach!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family of four including two daughters age 7 & 9 visited this gorgeous resort in July 2014 and had one of the best holidays we've ever had. The accommodation was great, lovely spacious beds and lovely decor. We were in an ocean front room which had a view that you wouldn't believe. The three restaurants all had delicious food and drinks served. The pools were excellent although we really only frequented the waterfall pool. The beach was like something you see in movies. Evening entertainment was great. The outstanding thing for us a family was the kids club though. So many great activities indoor and out that my children could not keep away. They met lots of lovely friends and also thought a lot of the staff at the club too. Also brilliant air con in the rooms.

Room Tip: Currently there are ongoing works on the hotel next door which can be quite noisy so if you like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I would like to send a very, very large thank you to all at Turtle Beach, you made our holiday/wedding simply perfect. A special thanks to Rosalind our wedding co-ordinator, she took care of every last detail and all we had to do was sit back, relax and wait for the day to arrive. When that day did arrive we could not have wished for more, it was truly remarkable, a day we will never forget and totally stress free, the best way to get married in our opinion.

As for the hotel, spot on guys, words cannot describe the staff, they are so attentive and always have a beaming smile, you cannot help wandering around with a big grin on your face at Turtle Beach.

The rooms are nice and they keep them spotlessly clean, checking them twice a day. I also loved the fact that we could have our dinner served in our room, once or twice we were too shattered to go out and ate whilst relaxing with a movie.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food during our visit, I know some people say it can be repetitive, however of course it’s repetitive, they have everything you could possibly imagine at every sitting, not a bad thing in my book. As for breakfast, anything you can think of seems to be there, fabulous.

One thing I would like to mention are the birds, some people complain about them, why I do not know, clearly not animal lovers! However please bear in mind that the dining areas are all open, naturally due to the amazing weather! The only way to stop them from coming in would be to hang ugly nets and then you can guarantee some moaning myrtle would complain about that too. My hubby and I thought they were an absolute treat, so pretty and very, very funny, enjoy them but don’t leave your food unattended, the little black ones are like Ninjas!

All in all, this place is grand, yes we will return and yes we would certainly recommend it, keep doing what you’re doing Turtle Beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PussyGalore18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
10.3 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,513 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,804 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Destinology, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing